We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“lovely cafe for a breather!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Pantry

The Pantry
Ranked #131 of 217 Restaurants in Kilkenny
Cuisines: Irish, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
68 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“lovely cafe for a breather!”
Reviewed July 18, 2013

lovely little busy cafe.
i only stopped by for a sandwich & cuppa after shopping till i dropped in kilkenny city.
the staff are extremly friendly & lunch is really very reasonable.
i loved sitting in the outdoor area watching the world strool by!
lovely view of kieran street, i think that's the correct name. very picturesque street, with a lot of people passing through1

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank carolann r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    19
    5
    4
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
dublin, ireland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Busy place!”
Reviewed July 29, 2012

We popped in for a quick lunch with the kids. There was a huge selection of reasonably priced, home made food. Had sandwiches and they hit the spot. Nothing fancy or huge but well made and tasty.

Lots and lots of locals were coming and going, being greeted by the friendly staff.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank stargazerl1ly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
150 reviews
112 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Nice but expensive”
Reviewed July 15, 2012

Visited here for late lunch, the cheapest sandwich was around 9€, it's only a high street cafe, nice coffee, great cakes, but very expensive for a bakers cafe.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank stevecentlond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilkenny, Ireland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“good food”
Reviewed July 5, 2012

I always thought the food was very good here, The gentleman that served us was very polite and friendly and did his best to look after us.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank pauline19641970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericksburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
61 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Good food, fast, at reasonable prices”
Reviewed June 11, 2012

This is a restaurant frequented by the locals, and it's easy to see why. Good Irish food, served quickly, and reasonably priced. It can get crowded but we feel it's worth the wait. Try the rhubarb pie or rhubarb crumble.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Marian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Pantry also viewed

Kilkenny, County Kilkenny
Kilkenny, County Kilkenny
 
Kilkenny, County Kilkenny
Kilkenny, County Kilkenny
 

Been to The Pantry? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing