We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice Food” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lautrecs Bistro - CLOSED

Lautrecs Bistro
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $3 - $27
Cuisines: European, French, Irish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Waitstaff
Description: Welcome to Lautrecs Bistro in the heart of medieval Kilkenny City. We are a stones throw from the historic Kilkenny Castle on bustling St Kieran Street, a pedestrianized haven for both food lovers and shoppers alike. Showcasing modern Irish food on our menus, we cook everything fresh to order with produce from local artisan food producers Flagstone floors from the historic Burren in Co. Clare with relaxing soft tones set the enchanting atmosphere that is Lautrecs. On two floors Lautrecs was launched in 1987 and is one of Kilkenny's longest established restaurants. Please browse our menus where we hope you will find our food interesting... Bon Appétit!
Ireland
Level Contributor
28 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Nice Food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2013

My first visit to this restaurant despite being a local. I will certainly return. A good selection of French/traditional food nicely cooked. I found the restaurant itself comfortable.

My only complaint would be the poor selection of beers on offer.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Stranger10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

239 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    139
    59
    23
    9
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Kilkenny, Ireland
2 reviews
“Amazing Staff and Great Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2013

What a restaurant! Dropped in without a reservation on a Saturday night in December,and we were accommodated straight away (all six of us) even tho they were very busy. We were seated up stairs and we asked to be moved if a table became available down stairs and were told that was no trouble. The lovely girl looking after us couldn't have been more helpful. We had a few fussy eaters who where catered for with a smile.. Great night, great food, great atmosphere but the staff were the stars i cant wait to return!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Rachel_CTC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlow, Ireland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Nice food but pricey”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2012

Food was nice and a nice restaurant. Prices rather too high for typeof food served on most dishes. Service was fine but not very vigilant once food was served.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Dolores P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clonmel, Ireland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Large family gathering - Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2012

We had dinner for 25 ppl in March 2011. We were put upstairs and it was a little crammed but the food and service more than made up for it. I would heartily recommend this restaurant for anyone thinking of family outing. The value we got was mind blowing and no charge to bring your own wine.

Would definitely recommend this

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Fionn25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dublin ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fabulous Restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2012

My friend and myself were on a weekend away in Kilkenny recently and found this restaurant by chance while shopping on the saturday afternoon. We booked our meal for that evening and we were delighted we did!! The restaurant was full and had a great buzz about it. The meal we had was absolutely gorgeous and all the staff were so pleasant. No complaints whatsoever. Will definitely return to Lautrecs when back in Kilkenny again,

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank poppyDublinIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lautrecs Bistro also viewed

Kilkenny, County Kilkenny
Kilkenny, County Kilkenny
 
Kilkenny, County Kilkenny
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing