We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A tavern this old is radiating happiness from the walls”
Review of Kyteler's Inn

Kyteler's Inn
Ranked #12 of 227 Restaurants in Kilkenny
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $13 - $29
Cuisines: Irish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Bar scene, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Medieaval building in the heart of Kilkenny dating back to 1324. Once home to Dame Alice Kyteler tried for witchcraft. Kytelers Inn is NOT a restaurant but a Pub - which is our main business. Yes we also serve bar food.There are three floors with four bars - cheek them all out for the one that suits.On offer at peak season twice nightly from 6.30pm. is a programme of trad music,balladeer, irish dancers & seanachie. You can watch & eat & drink at your leisure.Weekends and Bank holidays we also have Late Bar extensions with bands & DJ for those that want to party a bit later into the night.As it was in Alice Kyteler's day - Kyteler's Inn is a place for "merrie making" - Come and visit us to find out more..Also check us out - Trip Advisor Bars/Nightlife
Budaors, Hungary
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A tavern this old is radiating happiness from the walls”
Reviewed December 15, 2013

I went here with one of my friends. The ambient is like the other typical irish pubs have but that's not a bad thing. We went only for a few drinks, really enjoyed being there. The service was not so special but it was okay too.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Szurke291
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,944 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    939
    708
    198
    66
    33
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Durham, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Truly an Irish Pub!”
Reviewed December 15, 2013 via mobile

This was our favorite pub that we visited throughout our travels in Ireland! Has very cool Medieval architecture with several different rooms. Food was fantastic! We sat by the fireplace and had Bangers and Mash, Irish stew, berry crumble and several pints of Guinness. All were so good and I'm sure whatever you order, it will be great!

Helpful?
1 Thank HeidiHoHo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Indiana
Level 6 Contributor
249 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Charming”
Reviewed December 7, 2013

The Inn was recommended by our hotel staff when we asked for a place serving traditional Irish fare and Irish music. What a great choice. The food was good. The music was great. The Inn itself had that old world charm and a history to match.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Vickie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Fab pub!”
Reviewed December 6, 2013

Great find in Kilkenny......an easy walk from the free car park behind Dunnes Store. Traditional, olde-worlde Irish pub with good pub-grub and huge choice of draft beers. Staff were excellent and looked after us from the off. Great atmosphere and we really enjoyed the evening there. Will definitely return

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PaulW42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farmington Hills, Michigan
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Get The Shepherd's Pie”
Reviewed December 5, 2013

The tavern has a gorgeous inside and the story that goes along with it is charming. The food is to die for. Order the Shepherd's pie or lasagna! The staff wasn't very friendly though, but that could be overlooked because of how good the food was.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lindlee13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kyteler's Inn also viewed

 
Kilkenny, County Kilkenny
Kilkenny, County Kilkenny
 
Kilkenny, County Kilkenny
 

Been to Kyteler's Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing