We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Kyteler's Inn”
Review of Kyteler's Inn

Kyteler's Inn
Ranked #11 of 219 Restaurants in Kilkenny
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $13 - $29
Cuisines: Irish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Bar scene, Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Medieaval building in the heart of Kilkenny dating back to 1324. Once home to Dame Alice Kyteler tried for witchcraft. Kytelers Inn is NOT a restaurant but a Pub - which is our main business. Yes we also serve bar food.There are three floors with four bars - cheek them all out for the one that suits.On offer at peak season twice nightly from 6.30pm. is a programme of trad music,balladeer, irish dancers & seanachie. You can watch & eat & drink at your leisure.Weekends and Bank holidays we also have Late Bar extensions with bands & DJ for those that want to party a bit later into the night.As it was in Alice Kyteler's day - Kyteler's Inn is a place for "merrie making" - Come and visit us to find out more..Also check us out - Trip Advisor Bars/Nightlife
Omaha, Nebraska
Level Contributor
51 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Kyteler's Inn”
Reviewed June 17, 2013

This was the perfect end to a perfect day in Kilkenny. Especially friendly and welcoming waitstaff. Traditional pub food, great daily specials, and small plates.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank chocolatehound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,830 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    891
    666
    184
    60
    29
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
71 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Good night out”
Reviewed June 17, 2013 via mobile

Kyteler's Inn

Stopped in here after a good long tour around the town and Castle. The in is really nicely decorated. this bar dating back from 1324 is quite charming. We were served by Maggie. She was Hilarious. The food is great the beer was good but could you go wrong with a pint of Kilkenny in Kilkenny!? The place is a bit pricey. But you could almost look past it.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Travelora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level Contributor
106 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Great Food & Great Service”
Reviewed June 16, 2013

I have visited Kyteler's twice for lunch based on recommendations from a friend. On each occasion, the food and the service has been excellent. My most recent visit was in June for a small bite to eat and yet again the food was delicious and the service was excellent. Served by a young blonde lady, same as last time if I recall correctly, she and others were all smiles and very friendly.

Kilkenny is a busy city that attracts a lot of tourists, so Kyteler's had plenty of groups of both locals and tourists trying out the establishment. Its known to be a popular place for food and drinks and I would describe it as a traditional Irish themed bar / restaurant with ample space and more than one floor.

Highly recommend it for city center lunch.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SullyIRL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portadown, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“lovely”
Reviewed June 13, 2013

stopped here for our lunch, really nice full of old world charm. Food lovely and wholesome and very reasonably priced My hubby had the irish stew it looked lovely.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank 70beckyboo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
26 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Excellent Meal!”
Reviewed June 13, 2013

This restaurant is obviously very popular with tourists for good reason. It's in a very central location in downtown Kilkenny, and we enjoyed great entertainment during our meal. Despite the touristy feel, our group of 4 agreed that this was probably the best meal we had during our 10-day tour of Ireland. We all had the Shepherd's Pie and it was amazing. Definitely worth the stop.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sarah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kyteler's Inn also viewed

 
Kilkenny, County Kilkenny
 
Kilkenny, County Kilkenny
Kilkenny, County Kilkenny
 

Been to Kyteler's Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing