We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice Pub, Nice Food”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Kyteler's Inn

Kyteler's Inn
Ranked #10 of 217 Restaurants in Kilkenny
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $13 - $29
Cuisines: Irish, Bar, European, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Bar scene, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Brunch, Lunch, Drinks, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff
Description: Medieaval building in the heart of Kilkenny dating back to 1324. Once home to Dame Alice Kyteler tried for witchcraft. Kytelers Inn is NOT a restaurant but a Pub - which is our main business. Yes we also serve bar food.There are three floors with four bars - cheek them all out for the one that suits.On offer at peak season twice nightly from 6.30pm. is a programme of trad music,balladeer, irish dancers & seanachie. You can watch & eat & drink at your leisure.Weekends and Bank holidays we also have Late Bar extensions with bands & DJ for those that want to party a bit later into the night.As it was in Alice Kyteler's day - Kyteler's Inn is a place for "merrie making" - Come and visit us to find out more..Also check us out - Trip Advisor Bars/Nightlife
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
32 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Nice Pub, Nice Food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2013

Lovely pub, very old fashioned style with a great story behind the name. Plenty to look at in the pub, fabulous fire place too.

Nice choice of food from the menu. I had chicken wings which were tasty and well cooked. and my boyfriend had the vol-u-vent with chips. nice big portion, and was very tasty.

The pub was busy, so obviously a place that locals go to as well as visitors.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JDSOH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,751 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    852
    641
    174
    58
    26
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
46 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Only ok. Geared towards tourists, building is architecturally interesting, but has been paddywhackeried....”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2013 via mobile

Stopped in for a quick lunch today, it's been over twenty years since I was here, and time hasn't been kind to this establishment. Anything of architectural or historical merit had been erased from this interesting building in a very unsympathetic conversion into a paddywhackeried theme pub, that is a little contrived, and to be frank dated and tired. Cleanliness is also in short supply here, the leather chairs in the bar have seen better days and are simply filthy, as are many areas here. The service is a little abrupt and unfriendly, or at least my table server was, the food was average. It did the job, filled a gap, but was a bit average. You'd find the same fare on any school dinner or factory canteen menu. Uninspiring and bland, but you couldn't necessarily say awful. Just ordinary, and forgettable.
It's such a pity, as this place used to be so much better, and could be so much better with a little effort, and is certainly one of the most historically interesting premises for a hostelry in this medieval city. Pull your socks up, could do so much better!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kerrups
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“GREAT GREAT GREAT!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2013

My boyfriend and I were on vacation in Ireland, and we stopped here for lunch when we were in Kilkenny for the day. This pub/restaurant is wonderful. The atmosphere was great, and the food was amazing. I had the roast beef special, and it was absolutely delicious. I think both of our favorite meals were here. The staff were all VERY warm, welcoming, and friendly, and the place was not overrun with tourists. This is a great pick for lunch or dinner!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mzmarie62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Lovely Pub with great music and entertainment”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2013

Went here for breakfast one morning and sadly the dont do which was a pity, we ending up getting a club sandwich and garlic bread which was nice but was really surprised for a Irish pub not to serve a full irish, At night this place comes alive with great traditional music and fantastic bands, please please please kytlers start doing a full irish for the next time i come visit because ur other food is lovely.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Keith B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Spooky atmosphere, ok food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2013

Entertaining yet creepy, Kyteler's Inn is definitely a place to visit - go for the Bailey's cheesecake, it's AMAZING :)

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank KatherineSoloviev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kyteler's Inn also viewed

 
Kilkenny, County Kilkenny
 
Kilkenny, County Kilkenny
Kilkenny, County Kilkenny
 

Been to Kyteler's Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing