We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a quirky pub - a room for every occasion!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Langton's

Langton's
Ranked #11 of 217 Restaurants in Kilkenny
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Steakhouse, Irish, Healthy, Bar, European, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Business meetings, Special occasions, Dining on a budget, Large groups, Bar scene, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Delivery, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Our extensive Bar and A la Carte menus are available both in our Restaurant and Bar. Food is served all day until 10:30pm. Langton's Bar is a buzzing environment where you can enjoy authentic traditional Irish food in relaxed, comfortable and stylish surroundings. Winner and current holder of the 'National Bar of the Year' (Best Bar in Ireland) award a record 5 times! Live Irish Music from 7 to 9pm. Sample some of our 7 local beers on tap, the most available anywhere in Kilkenny. The Langton Room Restaurant The award-winning Langton Room is a unique dining experience. This elegant restaurant exudes warmth, friendliness, sophistication, charm and character. Explore our exquisite yet simple menus, created using the finest locally-sourced ingredients, offering the perfect mix of traditional Irish and international cuisine.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
183 reviews
124 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 195 helpful votes
“What a quirky pub - a room for every occasion!”
Reviewed March 18, 2013

This pub takes up half a street and is split into different sections, each decorated in their own way and providing a totally different ambiance - you could visit here for a week and not get bored! The standard of decor was amazing - immaculate. Even contains its own private cinema

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank SelkieGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

675 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    327
    214
    66
    44
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
“Sure bet!!!”
Reviewed February 25, 2013 via mobile

On our recent group trip our tour conductor, Tony, recommended Langton's as a great place to eat. We had a group of ten who walked about 15 minutes from our hotel to the restaurant. Our first impression was the size. Huge! Several spacious dining areas. And the food and service were great! Everyone in the group loved their entree whether it was fish, lamb, chicken or beef. Our contentment made the walk well worth it.

Helpful?
Thank Jim D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilkenny
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Lovely staff- food just ok!”
Reviewed February 24, 2013 via mobile

Had dinner there today with my family. 2 adults 3 children. Have eaten here plenty of times. It's very pricey for a Sunday dinner and I never leave fully satisfied that my money was well spend. It's such a pity as I really like the place. The staff are always so friendly and always have a chat and look after the children well. Always have smiles and give a great welcome. The food on the other hand :-/. Steak was like an old boot! If they can't use a decent piece of steak on the set menus, take it off the menu!! Children's meals way overpriced. €6.50 for most of them not including a drink or a scoop of ice cream! Will definatly go back but not for overpriced food. A few drinks when I have no children with me!!

Helpful?
1 Thank KilkennyHappycamper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlow
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Well worth a visit to.”
Reviewed February 19, 2013

I have eaten here twice and on both occasions the selection and the quality of the food cannot be faulted. The first time i ate here was in January 2013 as part of a hen night. The food was fantastic but the service was lacking on this occasion. It took 1 and 1/2 hours to be served and eat two courses. This was a shame as we had it booked through a hen night package and we decided to leave having a desert as it had taken so long to have the first two courses and we had a time schedule through the hen party services so we had to leave as we were already late for the next venue. However the second time here it was a completely different experience. The waitress was very efficient and we got to enjoy all three courses in an hour!!! Unfortunately i cannot review the hotel accommodation as i have never had the privilege of staying here yet. But it is well worth a visit for a lovely meal.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Louise K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kildare, Ireland
Level Contributor
43 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Waited 10mins, no service.”
Reviewed February 19, 2013 via mobile

My boyfriend and I were in Kilkenny for the day and looking for somewhere to have a nice dinner. We seen the menu outside and decided it looked nice. We went in and sat down at a table in front of the bar. There was a barman there and a waitress walking around serving tables. Neither approached us despite us trying to get their attention. Menus werent on the tables so we couldnt even browse through it while we waited. 10minutes passed and we decided to leave. It is also worth mentioning that a lady went up to the bar to pay her bill and had difficulty getting the barmans attention despite it being a quiet Tuesday afternoon. Would of loved to have tried the food, disappointing that the dire service here prevented that. Who knows how many more customers have walked out after being ignored.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ShoosieSha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Langton's also viewed

 
Kilkenny, County Kilkenny
Kilkenny, County Kilkenny
 
Kilkenny, County Kilkenny
 

Been to Langton's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing