We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great to be Back” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Croan Cottages

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kilkenny
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Croan Cottages
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great to be Back”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2010

This was our second trip to Croan Cottages, but definitely not our last. We spent a long weekend here in June with our 2 small kids and our dog, all of whom had a great time again. This time, we chose a bigger cottage and were amazed by how spacious the interior is. The owners have upgraded the facilities to include free satellite TV and WiFi which would be useful if the weather was bad. Thankfully, we enjoyed glorious sunshine and didn't have need of either. They also provided travel cots, high chairs and stairgates which cut down a lot on the amount we had to pack. Our kids loved the farm animals when we stayed here last year and this time twin baby lambs had just been born - so cute! The resident peacock took a particular interest in our doorway at breakfast time and the kids love to throw him and the hens a couple of crusts.The stunning gardens were in full bloom and every day, Niamh and Francis dropped over some freshly picked lettuce, rhubarb and strawberries to our cottage. Apart from the tranquility and beauty of Croan, a big bonus for us is being able to bring our dog who is just as amused by the farm animals as the kids are. We're looking forward to returning again, particularly when the new motorway opens and cuts the journey time from Dublin significantly.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nl2220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    12
    4
    2
    0
See reviews for
48
12
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dundalk, Ireland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2010

Just come back from a week in Croan Cottages. My wife and I had a great time and will definitely be back someday - most likely with some friends and their families.
Facilities are great - farm animals roaming about the place, all you need for a relaxing break.
In my opinion, some of the comments on the site are accurate. Wireless broadband availability was hit and miss (if expecting to work while on hols, this is probably something you should bear in mind). But who works on holiday??
We found Niamh and Francis to be very friendly, but not intrusive - guess they are mindful of encroaching on privacy and comfort of their guests. No problems finding them if we needed anything. While some might find the booklet to be rules oriented, we found it invaluable to guide us to the many amenities in the area (of these, Woodstock Gardens I would highly recommend).
All in all, a very positive experience that has converted me to self-catering holidays - not something I would have even considered before!
thanks to Niamh and Francis for the wonderful experience!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fussy_visitor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2010

This is the second time we have stayed here for Easter - my wife and I with our two children, who are now 11 and 4. We cycled from Thomastown - keep off the busy main road if you do so! The quiet little roads are a joy to cycle on. And the landscape is a pleasure for someone like me who takes far too many photographs.

We greatly valued the friendly and helpful attitude of the owners, Niamh and Francis, who clearly love the place and enjoy their guests. The cottages are simple and comfortable, and easy to keep clean too. The children loved the animals - hens, peacocks, guinea fowl, pigs, goats, cattle, sheep and, of course, the two dogs.

We have every hope of coming back before too long.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DrRonan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2010

The 'cottages' were built within the last ten years and taken over by the current owners six years ago. We paid up front for two weeks. We had to change cottages on the second day because of very poor internet reception; as we were househunting and working remotely internet coverage was very important. We moved to the 2 bed cottage closest to the main house and coverage was better though intermittent. If you really do need constant internet access I would suggest you stay elsewhere. The 'cottages' are in a peaceful site. We had the place to ourselves and as they are built close together it may not be quite so peaceful with full occupancy. We stayed in two 'cottages' as explained above and both were in a tired condition; little things like a kettle that doesn't work all the time, uncomfortable lounge furniture, kitchen chairs that may collapse on you - though we did a swap with the ones next door which improved things. The bathrooms were okay though grubby grouting is a turn off and lack of a bathroom blind or curtain is fine if you are an exhibitionist - mind you apart from the owners going backwards and forward the only creature to look in might be the peacock though of course with full occupancy you would have a human audience whilst you deal with your ablutions! Really the place could do with a revamp, new furniture, better ovens, good quality kettles and kitchen equipment, it all verges on 'adequate' and no more than that. The positive things : friendly and helpful owners, friendly dogs, and pleasant walking country. Oh, at the end of our stay we had to pay an additional 60 Euros for utilities.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MarlenePerowne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Croan_Cottages, Owner at Croan Cottages, responded to this review, October 22, 2011
No good turn goes unpunished!

To address the problems you had with your laptop connectivity, you asked to move to a different cottage closer to the base station. Though we explained that this cottage was undergoing its annual refurbishment, that the painters had not yet finished and that the new window blinds and furniture had not yet been delivered, you insisted that you'd prefer to move and that the uncovered bathroom window would not be a problem.

We keep spare appliances and furniture items in case they are damaged during a guest's stay and can replace them immediately, if required. Of course, we can only do so if we are asked to.

We charge electricity according to consumption and we only charge guests the same amount as the utility company charges us. Usually, a week's stay incurs an electricity charge of between 5 and 15 Euro. If your charge was more, it's because you consumed more, for example, leaving the immersion heater on.

We were glad that we could help you store your stuff in the sheds at Croan (free of charge). It is a pity however that we had to incur the cost of dumping the trailer load of rubbish you left behind when you left.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2010

We arrived on a cold afternoon in late December 2009. Quickly greeted by the lovely Niamh, who had the cottage well aired and warm for us, plus the makings of a fire. Her husband Francis came to welcome us and made sure we were warm and comfortable due to the weather conditions. Sadly we left a day early again due to the weather conditions, but the walks the peace and the beauty of this place will have us coming back in the Summer.

Margaret & Liam

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Margaret099
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasnevin, Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2010

Location: good, will be exceptional once new M9 motorway opened.
Cottages: clean, well appointed
Facilities: Good, heating was necessary due to cold winter but performed well
Owners: Lived on site but not in your face. Very friendly and helpful.
Rules: Very specific but fair in the main
Good Points: we were able to bring our (2) dogs, satellite TV had most channels, heating, children loved the animals, WiFi (included in price), environmentally sensitive
Points in need of improvement: Internet connection very poor (we had the cottage furthest from source), rules aroud dogs were a little confining (had to be on leads when outside ALL the time)

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GlasnevinGang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, PA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2010

We chose Croan Cottages because of all of the pictures of animals on
their (very attractive) website. The kids in our party love animals,
so it seemed like the obvious choice. We were not dissapointed!

The description given was absolutely spot on. The cottages are first
class - very well laid out, clean, quiet and very comfortable (the
beds are great!)

The farm has a wide variety of animals including some very unusual
breeds and the kids were taken along at feeding time and actually fed
some of the animals out of their hands. I'm sure they will have
memories of this trip for the rest of their lives!

I would highly recommend Croan as a get away for families or couples
looking for a quiet rural break in Ireland.

It's also very close to Kilkenny and we managed some day trips to
Dublin and Cork.

We're already planning on going back!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gosulliv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kilkenny hotels
9.7 mi away
Hotel Kilkenny
Hotel Kilkenny
#3 of 18 in Kilkenny
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,800 reviews
10.2 mi away
Pembroke Kilkenny
Pembroke Kilkenny
#2 of 18 in Kilkenny
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,647 reviews
10.4 mi away
Lyrath Estate Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Mount Juliet Estate
Mount Juliet Estate
#1 of 2 in Thomastown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 966 reviews
10.4 mi away
Kilkenny River Court Hotel
10.5 mi away
Langton House Hotel
Langton House Hotel
#1 of 18 in Kilkenny
4.5 of 5 bubbles 726 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Croan Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Croan Cottages

Property: Croan Cottages
Address: Dunnamaggin | Dunnamaggan, Kilkenny, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Kilkenny > Kilkenny
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 19 Specialty Lodging in Kilkenny
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing