We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“A little Gem !” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ballyroe Heights Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ballyroe Heights Hotel
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in Tralee
Certificate of Excellence
kerry ireland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A little Gem !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

As a local I can vouch that this hotel is fantastic. The food is delicious and every event I have attended in the ballroom has been fantastic and enjoyable. The location is brilliant and its even nice to call up and to sit outside with a coffee and take in the amazing view. Keep up the great work.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ilovethesun12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarkSullivan, General Manager at Ballyroe Heights Hotel, responded to this review, August 15, 2014
Dear ilovethesun12,

Thank you for your lovely review. It is great to read reviews from our local customers and I look forward to seeing you at your next event with us.

Best Regards,
Mark Sullivan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

684 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    473
    157
    44
    6
    4
See reviews for
205
225
13
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ireland
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights recently and really enjoyed it. On arrival the reception staff were very helpful to us and went out of their way to get us some information that we required for the following day. Although our rooms were quite a bit away from reception they appeared to be in the newer part of the hotel (in hindsight this was probably a good thing as there were 2 weddings in the hotel during our stay). They were very nice comfortable rooms with free wi-fi (and throughout the hotel) with tea/coffee making facilities in both. I just have one little gripe and that was the absence of a "shower cap" in the bathroom. We could have gotten one from housekeeping but surely putting a shower cap into the rooms is not that expensive? We had a lovely meal in the bistro on our first night and the guy who served us (I think he was called Mossie?) couldn't have been nicer. Breakfast was in a fabulous room with a gorgeous view...it was nice, quiet and relaxed exactly what you need in the morning. The service was excellent and the food was very good. Throughout this hotel the staff were extremely nice and helpful. The hotel is on the outskirts of Tralee and only a 10 minute drive to get there or a short taxi ride. I would recommend this hotel to others and would hope to return. There are no leisure facilities in the hotel - I am not sure if this is something that might come in time but it is a fabulous location for a hot tub with a view.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GreeceQBee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarkSullivan, General Manager at Ballyroe Heights Hotel, responded to this review, August 15, 2014
Dear GreeceQBee,

Just a quick note to thank you for taking the time to write such an extensive review. I am delighted you found all aspects of your stay enjoyable and I have passed on all your kind comments to our team.
I do hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to us soon again and thank you once again for such a lovely report.

Best Regards,
Mark Sullivan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

The view from reception is amazing. Breakfast was good. Rooms are of 4 star standard. We had room 306 and we had no complaints. There was a wedding on the same night and we couldn't hear any noise. The hotel is a nice drive from Tralee though.

Room Tip: Room 306 was quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank J W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarkSullivan, General Manager at Ballyroe Heights Hotel, responded to this review, August 15, 2014
Dear J W,

Thank you for taking the time to review us and it was great to hear that you enjoyed our peaceful location and you were happy with all our facilities.

Best Regards,
Mark Sullivan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

We availed of the summer sale as we had stayed there last year and we were delighted with the friendly welcome and very friendly staff at the hotel. Our room was very comfortable, spacious with wifi and the food in the bar was excellent. Breakfast the following morning had plenty off variety and ticked all the boxes! We would highly recommend Ballyroe Heights Hotel and will be back!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank suitseir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarkSullivan, General Manager at Ballyroe Heights Hotel, responded to this review, August 15, 2014
Dear suitseir,

Thank you for returning to us again and I am glad you got to avail of our ever popular summer sale.

We will be delighted to see you again next year.

Best Regards,
Mark Sullivan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dublin ireland
Level Contributor
171 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 203 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

lovely stay in ballyroe.....................room very nice....seems all new.....breaky was excellent and served in pleasant and friendly manner..................view from dining room super......car park excellent plenty of spaces................................tv good in room......

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tomhannon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarkSullivan, General Manager at Ballyroe Heights Hotel, responded to this review, August 15, 2014
Dear Tomhannon,

It was lovely to read your great comments and I was delighted you enjoyed all aspects of your stay.

Best Regards,
Mark Sullivan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Western Ireland, Ireland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

Stayed here recently what a fantastic location only minutes from Tralee town centre, Staff were extremely friendly, food was excellent and plentiful, room had a fantastic view of nearby mountains, was sufficiently equipped for our needs, fantastic bar, would highly recommend for the tranquil location definitely will return here. prices also very reasonable.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GTCHG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarkSullivan, General Manager at Ballyroe Heights Hotel, responded to this review, August 15, 2014
Dear Tommygree,

I was thrilled to read you had a great stay with us and enjoyed our fabulous views of the Sliabh Mish Mountains. Thank you for all your kind comments and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Best Regards,
Mark Sullivan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
54 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014 via mobile

Came here one evening for dinner with our 2 boys, 2 and 5 years old. Can't mention enough how accommodating and friendly ALL the staff were, nothing was too much trouble. Meal was delicious and loads of it! Kids shared a kids meal as there was plenty in one portion. We ate in the bar, and sat outside afterwards. Amazing views of the surrounding mountains. Really lovely hotel, would definitely visit again.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank cupcakeprincess1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarkSullivan, General Manager at Ballyroe Heights Hotel, responded to this review, August 15, 2014
Dear cupcakeprincess1,

Thank you for your lovely review. I was delighted to hear you and your family enjoyed your dining experience and we hope to see you all again.

Best Regards,
Mark Sullivan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tralee hotels
4.6 mi away
Ballygarry House Hotel & Spa
2.7 mi away
The Ashe Hotel
The Ashe Hotel
#2 of 14 in Tralee
4.5 of 5 stars 275 reviews
3.0 mi away
Meadowlands Hotel
Meadowlands Hotel
#6 of 14 in Tralee
4.5 of 5 stars 393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
The Rose Hotel
The Rose Hotel
#8 of 14 in Tralee
4.0 of 5 stars 818 reviews
5.3 mi away
Ballyseede Castle
Ballyseede Castle
#4 of 14 in Tralee
4.5 of 5 stars 972 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Grand Hotel Tralee
The Grand Hotel Tralee
#7 of 14 in Tralee
4.5 of 5 stars 727 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ballyroe Heights Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ballyroe Heights Hotel

Property: Ballyroe Heights Hotel
Address: Ballyroe, Tralee, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Tralee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Tralee
#2 Romantic Hotel in Tralee
#2 Family Hotel in Tralee
#5 Business Hotel in Tralee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ballyroe Heights Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ballyroe Heights Hotel exceeds customer expectations in the delivery of service and standards while offering the warm traditional welcome of a family owned property. This award winning Kerry Hotel is a modern, luxurious Hotel is set in six and a half acres of sloping gardens with spectacular views of the Sliabh Mish Mountains and Tralee Bay. The coastal route for the Wild Atlantic Way is at the door of this Tralee hotel located a mere four kilometres from Tralee town centre. This hotel, at the Gateway to the Dingle Peninsula is your best choice if you are looking for your base in Kerry. From its elevated location the hotel reception with its floor to ceiling windows captures uninterrupted panoramic views. This Kerry Hotel provides a great selection of hotel deals in Tralee including Activity Breaks, Seasonal Special Offers and Family Breaks. With great value accommodation, great views and a warm welcome from our team we are at your service to ensure you have a relaxing stay and a memorable Ballyroe Heights Hotel experience. The hotel also offers the following: Complimentary internet in reception High Speed Wi-Fi Complimentary newspapers for guests Free secure on-site parking Wheelchair Accessible Rooms Family rooms and cots available Laundry service ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda, Orbitz and Odigeo so you can book your Ballyroe Heights Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ballyroe Heights Tralee

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing