We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“family break” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ballyroe Heights Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ballyroe Heights Hotel
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in Tralee
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
5 reviews
“family break”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

We stayed here for just 1 night to meet with some family. The hotels location is lovely, very scenic and not too far from the town about €10 in a taxi. The rooms are nice but the shower water never seems to be hot, just luke warm. We only stayed one night but the other members of family stayed for 2 and mentioned it was the same for them. Hotel has free WiFi which is always a bonus! Staff are lovely and really helpful, we had dinner and breakfast at the hotel and the food was lovely. the breakfast room really makes the most of the views the hotel has! Overall a lovely hotel and would stay again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank edellepen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BallyroeHeightsHotel, General Manager at Ballyroe Heights Hotel, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Dear edellepen,

I am delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for your comments, I will certainely take them on board. The views of the Sliabh Mish Mountains and Tralee Bay are magnificent from our Summit room. Thank you for your kind comments, I will pass them on to our team.

Best Regards,
Mark Sullivan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

706 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    486
    165
    45
    6
    4
See reviews for
215
230
14
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Omagh
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

Stayed at Ballyroe last week for a 2 night stay- It is a beautiful hotel with wonderful staff who go out of their to please you!! It is very well kept and the views from the hotel are great- I would recommend it to anyone who wants a good value break

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank vgiven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BallyroeHeightsHotel, General Manager at Ballyroe Heights Hotel, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Dear vgiven,

Thank you for your kind review and kind comments. I am pleased you took in our spectacular views during your stay. They really are breathtaking.

Hope to you again in the future.

Best Regards,
Mark Sullivan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Enjoyed my stay here with my wife and three children, nothing negative to say about it. The staff were very friendly and sorted us out with a bottle of milk for our 2 yr old at midnight so even he was happy!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Seanh318
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BallyroeHeightsHotel, General Manager at Ballyroe Heights Hotel, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Dear Seanh318,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a fabulous review. I am delighted you and your family thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us.

I look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Best Regards,
Mark Sullivan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for my nephew wedding for two nights excellent hotel very clean good food freshly cooked breakfast only negative is they should use fresh fruit instead of tinned great staff would recommend this hotel set in beautiful country side

Stayed October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Maryrose2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BallyroeHeightsHotel, General Manager at Ballyroe Heights Hotel, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Dear Maryrose2012,

Many thanks for taking the time to post your lovely review.

I am delighted you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again in the future.

Best Regards,
Mark Sullivan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

Stayed here for a friends wedding. Staff were all very friendly. The food was excellent for the dinner and the breakfast. Room was very clean and modern. No problems with noise so I had good quality sleep. The views from the hotel are amazing and I couldn't recomend enough doing the ring of kerry for a day trip. I would definetely return to this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 1980stevie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BallyroeHeightsHotel, General Manager at Ballyroe Heights Hotel, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Dear 1980stevie,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. I am delighted you enjoyed your stay and will pass on all your kind comments to our team. I am particularly pleased that you enjoyed our peaceful surroundings and the delights of the Ring of Kerry.

Best regards,
Mark Sullivan,
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

We stayed at this hotel on a tour with Travel Solutions. Nice hotel but unfortunately we did not get to eat in the restaurant but they had set tables up in the ballroom which made it feel a bit recreational and the food on the first night was like school dinners but after having a word with our tour manager the food improved and each night seemed to get better. The reception and bar staff were very helpful and friendly and all in all a nice hotel to stay in I think it would be better if maybe you were not with a tour as then I'm sure you would dine in the restaurant. Not within walking distance to Tralee but easy enough to get a taxi which was 10 euros. A good three star hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank IrisK123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BallyroeHeightsHotel, General Manager at Ballyroe Heights Hotel, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Dear IrisK123,

Thank you for posting your recent review. I am delighted that your feedback was acted on immediately and you enjoyed your stay. It was a pleasure to accommodate such a lovely group of people and hopefully we will see you and your guide Alistair again in the future.

Best regards,
Mark Sullivan,
General Manager/
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falkirk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

My Husband and I recently travelled from Scotland on a Glenton Tours six day break and stayed at this three star hotel . We have been in four star hotels which have been no better !! The food was good and the fact that we had had just a two choices menu, was perhaps more to do with Glenton keeping their tours affordable than the hotel's fault.The rooms were lovely and the beds comfortable. The staff were attentive and and did their jobs with a smile.This was highly commendable and much appreciated by us, as, tragically, the owner's 25 year old son, who had a wife and two young ,children and who was a colleague and friend of the staff,,was in a fatal car crash on the evening we arrived at the hotel. This is a lovely hotel with stunning views over very green countryrside.Would visit again.

Room Tip: I was told high floor rooms have balcony. Ask for clear view of countryside,as some rooms had tre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Eunice1841
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BallyroeHeightsHotel, General Manager at Ballyroe Heights Hotel, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Dear Eunice1841,

We are delighted you enjoyed your holiday in Tralee. Thanks for your extremely kind comments which are much appreciated.

Bed regards,
Mark Sullivan,
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tralee hotels
4.6 mi away
Ballygarry House Hotel & Spa
2.7 mi away
The Ashe Hotel
The Ashe Hotel
#2 of 14 in Tralee
4.5 of 5 stars 300 reviews
3.0 mi away
Meadowlands Hotel
Meadowlands Hotel
#6 of 14 in Tralee
4.5 of 5 stars 401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
The Rose Hotel
The Rose Hotel
#8 of 14 in Tralee
4.0 of 5 stars 844 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Grand Hotel Tralee
The Grand Hotel Tralee
#7 of 14 in Tralee
4.5 of 5 stars 738 reviews
5.3 mi away
Ballyseede Castle
Ballyseede Castle
#4 of 14 in Tralee
4.5 of 5 stars 996 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ballyroe Heights Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ballyroe Heights Hotel

Property: Ballyroe Heights Hotel
Address: Ballyroe, Tralee, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Tralee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Tralee
#2 Family Hotel in Tralee
#5 Business Hotel in Tralee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ballyroe Heights Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ballyroe Heights Hotel exceeds customer expectations in the delivery of service and standards while offering the warm traditional welcome of a family owned property. This award winning Kerry Hotel is a modern, luxurious Hotel is set in six and a half acres of sloping gardens with spectacular views of the Sliabh Mish Mountains and Tralee Bay. The coastal route for the Wild Atlantic Way is at the door of this Tralee hotel located a mere four kilometres from Tralee town centre. This hotel, at the Gateway to the Dingle Peninsula is your best choice if you are looking for your base in Kerry. From its elevated location the hotel reception with its floor to ceiling windows captures uninterrupted panoramic views. This Kerry Hotel provides a great selection of hotel deals in Tralee including Activity Breaks, Seasonal Special Offers and Family Breaks. With great value accommodation, great views and a warm welcome from our team we are at your service to ensure you have a relaxing stay and a memorable Ballyroe Heights Hotel experience. The hotel also offers the following: Complimentary internet in reception High Speed Wi-Fi Complimentary newspapers for guests Free secure on-site parking Wheelchair Accessible Rooms Family rooms and cots available Laundry service ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Ballyroe Heights Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ballyroe Heights Tralee

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing