We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Views”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ballyroe Heights Hotel
Ranked #6 of 14 Hotels in Tralee
Certificate of Excellence
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
64 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great Views”
Reviewed June 29, 2013

There was no availability at the better hotels in Dingle so ended up staying here based on all the positive reviews we read on Trip Advisor. This is a popular wedding hotel. Given the wondeful views, I can understand why it is so popular. The hotel was adequate but I would only rate it as a 2.5 star hotel. The rooms are ok but on the sparse and dated side. We had a very nice breakfast in the upstairs restaurant. The view is truly amazing. The staff was very friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Might be quite noisy on weekends due to weddings.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Montreal246
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BallyroeHeightsHotel, General Manager at Ballyroe Heights Hotel, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Dear Montreal246,

Many thanks for taking the time to post your review for your recent stay. I hope you continue to enjoy the rest of your holiday. Quiet rooms can be requested on weekends when we have weddings.

Best Regards,
Mark Sullivan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

811 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    562
    184
    51
    9
    5
See reviews for
265
258
16
41
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviewed June 27, 2013

Enjoyed a few days in the Ballyroe Heights Hotel. Very nice and comfortable hotel lots of space
to relax and enjoy yourself. Lovely area in the front of the hotel to sit and enjoy the view.
Staff very helpful and chatty which we like. Beautiful room and extremely clean.
Food very good and great selection on the bar menu. Would just like a little extra choice for
breakfast and that's just something personal and I don't like plates too hot. This is not a complaint
just an observation. The breakfast was served which was very nice also.
Hoping to get back down before Christmas if at all possible .We really liked our stay in The Ballyroe Heights and looking forward to the next break we can have down there.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dublinlady5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BallyroeHeightsHotel, General Manager at Ballyroe Heights Hotel, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Dear dublinlady5,

I am delighted you enjoyed your recent stay and took in our beautiful views. I will pass on all your kind comments to our staff and I look forward to welcoming you back before Christmas.

Best Regards,
Mark Sullivan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
buckinghamshire
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013

My sister & myself spent 3 fantastic nights at the hotel, we were there for my friends wedding,
from start to finish the staff could not do enough to help you, from the lovely girls on reception to the waiters & waitresses & cleaners! they all had smiles on there faces, especially Patrick the waiter! Food at the hotel was gorgeous, from the hearty full Irish breakfast to Dinner. (wedding dinner food was fantastic)
The rooms are spotless, (bridal suite is stunning), we are coming back in January to Kerry so will book and stay here again,
thank you for a wonderful stay!!!
Hannah Hunt
& Sheree Cross

Room Tip: ask for a room looking out at the stunning mountains!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hannah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BallyroeHeightsHotel, General Manager at Ballyroe Heights Hotel, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Dear Hannah and Sheree,

I am delighted you enjoyed your recent three night stay with us. Patrick is delighted with your kind comments. Look forward to seeing you in January.

Best Regards,
Mark Sullivan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviewed June 24, 2013

We stayed here to visit family in Tralee, it was our anniversary and we were given the bridal suite.
From the start the staff were just so friendly and helpful. The bar food was really good and breakfast was great. Will definitely stay again.

Room Tip: This is a quiet hotel so room choice is not a problem, we had the bridal suite which was at the fron...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank clairenolan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BallyroeHeightsHotel, General Manager at Ballyroe Heights Hotel, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Dear Claire,

I was delighted to welcome you to Ballyroe Heights Hotel and that you enjoyed your stay in our Bridal Suite.

I look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Best Regards,
Mark Sullivan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longford, Ireland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2013

Where do you start with this hotel, it's just great, From the minute you enter the grounds, the reception, housekeeping, bar, waiters, waitresses and the managers are brilliant.
The bedroom 412 very nice with balcony, TV, tea & coffee, hairdryer, iron & board can be got from reception. We decided to have lunch in the hotel which was really tasty and a good price, dinner great and breakfast was also very good. Saturday had a wedding which we heard not a thing and the hotel was fully booked. NO Noise. The only let down was the shower the head wasn't easily moved. I will definately be back, already told family and friends about this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SDH1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BallyroeHeightsHotel, General Manager at Ballyroe Heights Hotel, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Dear SDH1984,

Many thanks for taking the time to post your lovely review. I have passed on your kind comments to all our team. I am very happy you got a good nights rest and look forward to seeing you soon.

Best Regards,
Mark Sullivan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2013

My boyfriend and I got a great deal for this hotel so we weren't expecting much. However, we were very pleasantly surprised when we drove into the hotel's grounds. The scenery is very nice and we were very impressed with Michelle on the front desk who checked us in. She was very friendly and made us feel welcome. There was a nice English lady serving food in the bar but unfortunately I did not get her name. The food in the hotel bar was tasty. We had breakfast delivered to the room on our second day which we enjoyed also. The only slight gripe I have is that we did not find the barman who was on duty both nights during our stay, very friendly. He just did not seem to want to be there at all. Although perhaps he was having a bad couple of days. Aside from this, everything about Ballyroe Heights was great and we would definitely stay here again if we were coming to Tralee. Thank you for a lovely stay.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Jen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BallyroeHeightsHotel, General Manager at Ballyroe Heights Hotel, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Dear Jen S,

Many thanks for your kind comments from your recent stay. I have shared your comments and have addressed them immediately with our team.

I look forward to having the opportunity in welcoming you to Ballyroe Heights Hotel once again.

Best Regards,
Mark Sullivan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2013

My wife and I stayed at this hotel when we attended a wedding, and wedding reception there in June 2013. The venue is neat & clean, decoration is of a good standard, the paintings are great, the staff are very helpful, the Guinness is excellent, the rooms are of a decent stndard, and the views from the upper dining area are great, even when it is pouring with rain. The wedding breakfast was fantastic.
The only criticisms I have relate to some room details i.e. the lack of a mini-bar, trouser press, iron/ironing board, and bottled water in bedrooms.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wisdom D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BallyroeHeightsHotel, General Manager at Ballyroe Heights Hotel, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Dear Wisdom D,

We are delighted with your positive review and that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We do not provide a mini bar, trouser press or bottled water in our rooms but we do provide iron and iron boards and bottled water on request.

Best Regards,
Mark Sullivan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tralee hotels
3.1 mi away
The Rose Hotel
The Rose Hotel
#5 of 14 in Tralee
435 reviews
4.6 mi away
Ballygarry House Hotel & Spa
2.6 mi away
The Ashe Hotel
The Ashe Hotel
#2 of 14 in Tralee
530 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.8 mi away
Manor West Hotel
Manor West Hotel
#3 of 14 in Tralee
697 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Grand Hotel Tralee
The Grand Hotel Tralee
#8 of 14 in Tralee
837 reviews
2.9 mi away
Meadowlands Hotel
Meadowlands Hotel
#7 of 14 in Tralee
506 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ballyroe Heights Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ballyroe Heights Hotel

Property: Ballyroe Heights Hotel
Address: Ballyheigue Road, Tralee V92 HT91, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Tralee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Tralee
#2 Romantic Hotel in Tralee
#2 Family Hotel in Tralee
#5 Business Hotel in Tralee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ballyroe Heights Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ballyroe Heights Hotel exceeds customer expectations in the delivery of service and standards while offering the warm traditional welcome of a family owned property. This award winning Kerry Hotel is a modern, luxurious Hotel is set in six and a half acres of sloping gardens with spectacular views of the Sliabh Mish Mountains and Tralee Bay. The coastal route for the Wild Atlantic Way is at the door of this Tralee hotel located a mere four kilometres from Tralee town centre. This hotel, at the Gateway to the Dingle Peninsula is your best choice if you are looking for your base in Kerry. From its elevated location the hotel reception with its floor to ceiling windows captures uninterrupted panoramic views. This Kerry Hotel provides a great selection of hotel deals in Tralee including Activity Breaks, Seasonal Special Offers and Family Breaks. With great value accommodation, great views and a warm welcome from our team we are at your service to ensure you have a relaxing stay and a memorable Ballyroe Heights Hotel experience. The hotel also offers the following: Complimentary internet in reception High Speed Wi-Fi Complimentary newspapers for guests Free secure on-site parking Wheelchair accessible rooms, family rooms and cots available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, Hotel.de and Priceline so you can book your Ballyroe Heights Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ballyroe Heights Tralee

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing