We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ballyroe Heights Hotel
Ranked #6 of 14 Hotels in Tralee
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fabulous hotel”
Reviewed March 17, 2013

My husband and I stayed here at the weekend for a friends wedding. It is a fabulous hotel for a wedding with fantastic views of tralee bay and surrounding mountains. Function room is beautiful. Our bedroom was clean, quiet, warm and beds were really comfortable. We had a minor maintenance issue the next morning but within minutes of phoning reception, a staff member was at our room and the problem was rectified immediately. Staff were very friendly, helpful and courteous. The food was also excellent so top marks for everything.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank roansy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

810 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    561
    184
    51
    9
    5
See reviews for
265
257
16
41
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Eire
Level Contributor
76 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2013

We recently spent a night at Ballyroe and have to say we were delighted. The staff were brilliant and very helpful. The hotel itself was spotless and the food was great. All in all great value for money and can't recommend it highly enough.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank iccna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarkSullivan, General Manager at Ballyroe Heights Hotel, responded to this review, May 23, 2014
Dear lbyrne1234,

Many thanks for taking the time to write your review. I am delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and that our staff looked after you well on the evening you arrived.

Looking forward to seeing you again.

Best Regards,
Mark Sullivan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed March 10, 2013

We recently held a family get together for my father's 80th birthday. We travelled from Dublin. We considered several venues last September but the initial contact with the manager together with the beautiful view from the Summit Restaurant won us over to Ballyroe. From the outset the hotel staff gave us great confidence that everything would go smoothly on the day and were very flexible to our needs.

The day turned out excellently. The food, service and staff were great and it made for a very memorable day. The weather obliged too which only made the view even more spectacular.

Accommodation was comfortable and surpassed what we were expecting from a hotel with a three star rating. We had booked in for three nights but we extended our stay due to the hospitality in the hotel and the weather - a winning combination.

A special thank you to Mike for being so professional and going the extra mile.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eamonn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
42 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2013

Stayed here for a wedding with my husband. Had heard very nice coments about this hotel beforehand and it definitely lived up to the standards I expected. For a 3 stat hotel it is just lovely, in an elevated position with great views from the breakfast room. The breakfast was very nice and you had plenty of food. Our bedroom was on the 4th floor a great big twin room with a decent size bathroom, comfortable bed, 24" mounted tv, desk, 2 chairs and side table with a view of green fields. Temperature was perfect but people did complain on level 2 that rooms were cold. Ours wasnt at all. Some people on level 4 had a balcony. The reception area is nice, and check-in & out was a breeze. Inside the hotel, the furnishings make the hotel feel more like a manor house with nice colouful chairs and couches. We would definitely stay here again if in Tralee. Only negative is a 11am check-out. 12 noon would be better.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ScientistIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here recently for two nights, when we arrived our room was freezing even the corridor to the room was cold we said this to the lovely lady at reception. We went for dinner to the bar I had the prawn starter with salad there was only three small prawns on it and my partner had the ribs they were overcooked, starters were disappointing but mains were lovely and good value. Went back to our room after dinner, it had heated up a bit but during the night we were frozen. Had room service on the first morning it was lovely, had it again the second morning it was missing half the full Irish and it was cold which was disappointing as it was so nice the morning before. Our shower took over 20 mins to heat up. We attended a dinner there on the saturday night and it was lovely and staff were helpful. What ruined our stay was having to ask a few times each day while we were there to turn on the heating because the room was so cold.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PinkLady8727
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarkSullivan, General Manager at Ballyroe Heights Hotel, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Dear Pink Lady8727,

I am very sorry to hear that you had some issues with your stay and wish to sincerely apologise on behalf of myself and my team.

We are currently refurbishing our bedrooms and reception area and this caused some disruption to our heating system on that weekend. This was brought to my attention on the 1st morning of your stay and was resolved that day.

We normally get very positive feedback in relation to our food so I have brought your comments regarding breakfast and dinner to the attention of my heads of departments where a follow up will be made.

I am disappointed that I did not get the opportunity to resolved these issues while you were staying with us as I will always do my best to resolve any complaints when raised.

I am glad to hear that you found our staff lovely and helpful and I appreciate all of your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limerick, Ireland
Level Contributor
37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2013 via mobile

Stayed over for a wedding food excellent large fuction room for large wedding
Band easy setup . Rooms queut far away and the one I had a gravel yard view
But otherwise staff helpfully and polite
Would stay again

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jerryd501
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Myself and my partner stayed at the Ballyroe Heights Hotel New Years Eve for three nights.the hotel is in a beautiful location with wonderful views.
The staff are the friendliest we have met and we have stayed in a lot of hotels both Uk and Ireland.
The food is excellent with a full Irish breakfast to start the day and the variety on lunch and dinner menu is amazing and the same goes for the quality of food served.
We would definitely recommend this hotel to stay if you want to relax with great food and great staff.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ferries123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tralee hotels
3.1 mi away
The Rose Hotel
The Rose Hotel
#5 of 14 in Tralee
432 reviews
4.6 mi away
Ballygarry House Hotel & Spa
2.6 mi away
The Ashe Hotel
The Ashe Hotel
#2 of 14 in Tralee
521 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.8 mi away
Manor West Hotel
Manor West Hotel
#3 of 14 in Tralee
697 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Grand Hotel Tralee
The Grand Hotel Tralee
#8 of 14 in Tralee
836 reviews
2.9 mi away
Meadowlands Hotel
Meadowlands Hotel
#7 of 14 in Tralee
506 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ballyroe Heights Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ballyroe Heights Hotel

Property: Ballyroe Heights Hotel
Address: Ballyheigue Road, Tralee V92 HT91, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Tralee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Tralee
#2 Family Hotel in Tralee
#2 Romantic Hotel in Tralee
#5 Business Hotel in Tralee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ballyroe Heights Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ballyroe Heights Hotel exceeds customer expectations in the delivery of service and standards while offering the warm traditional welcome of a family owned property. This award winning Kerry Hotel is a modern, luxurious Hotel is set in six and a half acres of sloping gardens with spectacular views of the Sliabh Mish Mountains and Tralee Bay. The coastal route for the Wild Atlantic Way is at the door of this Tralee hotel located a mere four kilometres from Tralee town centre. This hotel, at the Gateway to the Dingle Peninsula is your best choice if you are looking for your base in Kerry. From its elevated location the hotel reception with its floor to ceiling windows captures uninterrupted panoramic views. This Kerry Hotel provides a great selection of hotel deals in Tralee including Activity Breaks, Seasonal Special Offers and Family Breaks. With great value accommodation, great views and a warm welcome from our team we are at your service to ensure you have a relaxing stay and a memorable Ballyroe Heights Hotel experience. The hotel also offers the following: Complimentary internet in reception High Speed Wi-Fi Complimentary newspapers for guests Free secure on-site parking Wheelchair accessible rooms, family rooms and cots available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Hotel.de and Priceline so you can book your Ballyroe Heights Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ballyroe Heights Tralee

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing