We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Anything but luxurious”
Review of Manor West Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Manor West Hotel
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in Tralee
Certificate of Excellence
ireland
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Anything but luxurious”
Reviewed September 23, 2009

Stayed here on a Supervalu break so at least it was inexpensive. The hotel lacks comfort. The magnolia coloured walls everywhere convey bleakness not cosiness. The room was a good size but the bed was so hard that it was like trying to sleep on stone. And the room was so hot! Yes, there is air conditioning but it has only one setting which was loud and very cold. It was like going from the frying pan into the freezer.!

The bar is big and bare. The food in the dining room is just plain bad. The veg served with the dinner were inedible. I wondered if I was in a different hotel from that described by previous reviewers or were we just plain unlucky.

That said, the staff is very nice and very pleasant. And the leisure centre is very good. But no way would I ever want to stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank IrelandMod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

755 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    504
    184
    44
    19
    4
See reviews for
232
190
47
152
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
dublin
1 review
Reviewed August 29, 2009

I stayed recently in the Manor West Hotel. First of all the rates were quite reasonable enough considering it was the Rose Of Tralee week. Rooms are very luxurious. Reception & Waiting Staff are very friendly. There was also a taxi service from the hotel to the Dome where the Rose Of Tralee final was held which was also reasonable. I would consider staying in the hotel again if I was in the area.

Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank frodotravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2009

3rd time staying in this fabulous hotel. Clean, friendly staff, good food, quiet surrounding, beautiful views, roomy the best pool facilities ever.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank avanaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midwest
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2009

Another excellent stay at Manor West. Spent a wonderful week last year (2008) and only had time for a long weekend stay this year (2009). Both stays were greatly enjoyed. Rooms are top-notch. Food in the restaurant and pub was great. Swimming pool area and changing rooms were large and well kept up. Entire staff was outstanding and always helpful (especially Pauline, Mr. O'Connor and the lady that headed up housekeeping). This was a very comfortable all-round facility that is convenient to main roads and adjacent to a pleasant shopping mall.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MidwestKeno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Co. Cork
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2009

This was our third stay in the Manor West Hotel, it was extremely busy, the hotel appeared full. The dining room staff did leave the place down though. On our second stay we tried out the dining room and waited over 45mins for a starter and then 45mins later was given the dessert menu, no main course served in between!! When paying I mentioned this and got a 10% discount from my bill, fair enough. However, on the third visit we again used the dining room for dinner and the wait for food was just as long and half way through our main course we had to ask, for the third time, to have our wine served. Overall though, the hotel is clean, and have some good value break offers. The Spa was lovely too, wonderful facial and massage. The teens made great use out of the pool and could walk to a shopping centre and bowling.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CandyflossCork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublink
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2009

This hotel is a hidden gem. The rooms are great with the most comfortable beds ever. The food in the hotel is well worth a visit for. We had lunch in the bar on the first day, food was fresh, tasty and excellent value- it seemed to have a very busy lunch trade. The bar is very food orientated and not very comfortable at night but a great place for lunch.
The restaurant was the biggest surprise for us. Hotel restaurants get a bad rap but this restaurant has reason to get the AA rosette it has rightly achieved. The food was in par with some of the best restaurants I have tried. Try the Sea Trout, it was excellent. Overall it is very keenly priced. If visiting Tralee I would definitely recommend it.
The so called 'spa' is the only issue we had with the hotel- its not a spa!!! its located upstairs on what seems to be a bedroom corridor and is really just a couple of treatment rooms which where an after thought. The hotel should take the 'Spa' out of their name and meerly offer the facilities as treatments available- it is not a spa in any stretch of the imagination. In saying that the Leisure facilities down stairs are very good.
Over all go here for very comfortable room, great location for shopping, and especially for the food- you will find it hard to beat this restaurant.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dublink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dublin
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2009

just back from a 3 night stay at this hotel and don't have too many complaints about it. we got a complimentary upgrade to a suite as we were celebrating our recent engagement. the room was very spacious with everything we needed, great views from a private balcony. suites are located on the same floor as beauty spa. only a short distance to town centre and is a good base for explorin kerry. we ate in the bar and i found the food ok but well over-priced for bar food. service was excellent throughout, would definitely go back!!!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bigdude09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tralee
1.0 mi away
The Rose Hotel
The Rose Hotel
#5 of 14 in Tralee
553 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Ashe Hotel
The Ashe Hotel
#2 of 14 in Tralee
606 reviews
0.8 mi away
Ballygarry House Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
The Grand Hotel Tralee
The Grand Hotel Tralee
#8 of 14 in Tralee
861 reviews
1.1 mi away
Meadowlands Hotel
Meadowlands Hotel
#7 of 14 in Tralee
520 reviews
17.3 mi away
Lake Hotel
Lake Hotel
#10 of 38 in Killarney
2,217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Manor West Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manor West Hotel

Property: Manor West Hotel
Address: N21 | Located next to Manor West Retail Park, Tralee, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Tralee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Tralee
#2 Luxury Hotel in Tralee
#3 Romantic Hotel in Tralee
#3 Family Hotel in Tralee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Manor West Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 4 star luxury combination of modern design and sumptuous decor. An award winning restaurant, a relaxed bar and bistro complimented by luxurious contemporary surroundings, with original works from acclaimed modern Irish artists, makes the Manor West Hotel an obvious choice for business or pleasure breaks. Situated just 20 mins from Kerry airport and on the site of Kerry's largest retail park the hotel is a perfect base from which to explore the kingdom. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Manor West Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Manor West Hotel Leisure

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing