We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Couldnt be better!!”
Review of Finnegan's Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Finnegan's Hostel
Ranked #13 of 16 Specialty Lodging in Tralee
Reviewed May 29, 2011

Two tired travellers slipped into Finnegans to look for somewhere to stay for the night. Our bus westbound for Dingle had already gone for the day by the time we arrived to Tralee with the train.

Despite us not being very sociable as exhausted as we were, we were welcomed with open arms. It didnt take long to find that smile on our lips again. And still this was on a, as it seemed, very busy knight, as the hotel also have a restaurant. Finnegans seems to crawl on their knees to satisfy their customers.

If you want personal serive, to say the least, Finnegans is the place for you.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank adamloppe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (207)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

131 - 137 of 207 reviews

Reviewed March 22, 2011

My team and myself stayed here for two nights! And it was great! The food was wonderful! The beds were comfortable. We had a bit of minor problems with our shower and not having bathroom stuff but it was all resolved on our arrival. Eileen is so wonderful and so welcoming. A very enjoyable place to stay!

Stayed: March 2011, traveled on business
Thank lnicolejones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2010

it was such a terrible hostel-i just cant believe it-the romms are very impure-the bathroom was full of mould-there was no toilet paper in it-there was dust on my bed (unbelieveable)-the curtain rod was broken-there was no electicity on the socket-the rooms are badly soundprooved -and so on...we had to pay 20Euro for such a room?!!!

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank loreley78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2010

A group of us stayed in Finnegans for 5 nights over the weekend of the Rose of Tralee festival and fell in love with it instantly. The beds were really comfy, the building itself is gorgeous with a lovely kitchen and sitting room which looks out on Denny st. It was an excellent location right in the heart of everything (especially for the Rose of Tralee festival) But most importantly the staff and owners were amazing, they were so welcoming, nothing was too much trouble and we were made to feel at home from the minute we landed. Even my parents were made to feel welcome when they called around and could have a cup of tea and sit out on the front steps enjoying the view of the stalls and parades. We also had dinner in the restaurant where the food was second to none and the atmosphere was fantastic. A big big thank you to Hamish, Eileen, Damien, Marion and everyone else from Finnegans, we will all definitley recommend Finnegans to anyone going to Tralee, and none of us would want to stay anywhere else the next time we are in the area :)

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zorrogil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2010

Such a shame. We stayed here twice in the last two weeks during a walking holiday and both nights we had a terrible nights sleep. The first night was due to rowdy guests but the second night was due to the actual staff. The 'host' got incredibly drunk and proceeded to assault his friends, guests and people in the street. We were awake for 3 hours in the night listening to swearing, screaming, glass smashing, fire extinguishers being let off, music played at full volume and the 'host' running into the dormitory and calling the guests names and trying to get in their beds!!!
It's a real shame because the hostel is beautiful, in a great location and has a good kitchen and good rooms.
Good luck if you stay here!

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank aimeemuirhead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2010

My friend and I stayed there for 3 nights, with our other 2 friends joining us for 2 nights (they arrived a day later). We booked a twin room and got a small,cupboard of a room with bunkbeds and a chair....nothing else in the room! The carpet was covered in cigarette stains and none of the plugs in the room worked. Our friends arrived the next day and got a double room, beautifully done up but the windows in the room couldnt open and there was a tv in the room that didnt work. All in all we thought it was pretty good for a hostel, and for the price we got! However, I am now covered in bed bugs! My entire body is destroyed with them! Every single one of us has bedbugs because of that hostel. We havnt stayed anywhere else and came straight home. Im actually shocked and I wouldnt recommend this hostel to anyone, amazing location, but shame about the bedbugs!!

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank kellyireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2010

A brilliant hostel, clean and good value. Hamish was fantastic, making everyone welcome and feel at home right away. Yes the rooms were cramped, but for a cheap family break it was absolutely brilliant.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gill090
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tralee hotels
0.2 mi away
Tralee Townhouse
Tralee Townhouse
#12 of 14 in Tralee
91 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Rose Hotel
The Rose Hotel
#7 of 14 in Tralee
661 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Ashe Hotel
The Ashe Hotel
#2 of 14 in Tralee
693 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Ballygarry House Hotel & Spa
0.1 mi away
The Grand Hotel Tralee
The Grand Hotel Tralee
#8 of 14 in Tralee
884 reviews
0.1 mi away
Imperial Hotel
Imperial Hotel
#11 of 14 in Tralee
174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Finnegan's Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Finnegan's Hostel

Address: 17 Denny Street, Tralee, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Tralee
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 16 Specialty Lodging in Tralee
Price Range: $18 - $58 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Finnegan's Hostel, Restaurant and Mary Anne's Tea Rooms, Tralee, Co. Kerry. Built by the Denny family in 1826 from the stones of the old Tralee Town Castle. It was converted into a cute quaint hostel whilst making the most of its original features. We have a mixture of dorms and rooms with forty beds in total. All the private rooms are en-suite. We also have two big rooms with open fireplaces, perfect for those winter days! Our cellar restaurant serves fresh seafood and steak and offers great value for money. We are just five minutes walk from the train (Irish Rail) and bus (Bus Eireann) station and we are just off the Main Street of Tralee town so its perfect for visiting the sites, or heading out at night! Across the street from us is the amazing Tralee town park. We are only thirty minutes by car from Dingle, the Ring of Kerry and Killarney. The history of the famous Kerry landmark Mary Anne's Tea Rooms: Mary Anne Hickey and her husband Bartholomew came from a farm in Crinne outside Castleisland, Co. Kerry. She had ten children and fifty-four grandchildren of which I am one. She loved baking and entertaining friends & family at her home and these tearooms are dedicated to her memory. Eileen Nolan (Owner) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Finnegan's Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing