We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant!!”
Review of The Oyster Tavern

The Oyster Tavern
Ranked #17 of 110 Restaurants in Tralee
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $11 - $31
Cuisines: Irish, Bar, Seafood, European, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Kids, Special occasions, Families with children, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Bar scene, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Buffet, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The Oyster Tavern is one of Kerry's leading Seafood Restaurants, offering the very best in locally caught seafood. It is a well known bar and seafood restaurant throughout County Kerry since the 1980's. It has become well recognised for its excellent quality food and its extensive wine menu. There is a full bar on the premises and the establishment also has a private function room known as 'The Barn' available for birthday parties and any other special occasions. It is a family run business whereby the proprietors Jim and Margot McGrath have a well known work ethic of making everyone that enters feel so welcome with a good team of hard working and motivated staff behind them. The restaurant offers a full a la carte menu and an extensive bar menu to suit all tastes and budgets along with daily specials.
Tralee, Ireland
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Brilliant!!”
Reviewed May 31, 2014 via mobile

I have been going to the Oyster Tavern for a few years now and it never fails!! Excellent food, a warm welcome and great service, nothing is too much trouble. And the atmosphere in the bar is second to none, Love it!!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Nikkib1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julie M, Manager at The Oyster Tavern, responded to this review, November 29, 2014
November 29, 2014.
Dear Nichola,
Many thanks for taking the time to post such a lovely review of your positive experiences in the Oyster.
Your kind words will be passed on to the team here for them to read and appreciate.
Thank you again Nichola and we will look forward to your next visit.
Kind regards,
Julie McGrath and team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    113
    29
    10
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Tralee, Ireland
2 reviews
“fabulous restaurant!!!”
Reviewed May 30, 2014

i have been coming to the oyster for years and i must say its a lovely restaurant to eat in. i love the chicken baguette and also the pasta was amazing the last time i was here!! i love the desserts my favorite is The chocolate fondant u have to try this its fabulous!! they have a great wine selection also. Jim McGrath the owner always has a warm welcome and the staff are always very helpful. i will definitely keep eating here as the food is great!!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Louise O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julie M, Manager at The Oyster Tavern, responded to this review, November 29, 2014
November 29, 2014.
Dear Louise,
Many thanks for your kind words of praise. They will be passed on to the team here at the Oyster.
It is great to read your lovely review and on behalf of Jim and the staff I hope you get the chance to return to us again soon.
Best wishes Louise,
Julie McGrath and team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing!”
Reviewed May 30, 2014

What an amazing meal! I had the veg soup to start which was fresh and homemade! For the mains i had the scampi which is the best I've ever had! The atmosphere is very warm and welcoming, staff are lovely and very helpful! i would highly recommend it! And afterwards for had a drink at the bar and listened to the live music! Overall - i cant wait to come back! Its such a treat!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GraceMoriarty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julie M, Manager at The Oyster Tavern, responded to this review, November 29, 2014
November 29, 2014.
Dear Grace,
Many thanks for taking the time to post a review about your positive experience with us here in the Oyster.
I am delighted to read such a lovely review and that you enjoyed your meal.
We greatly appreciate your kind words.
The staff are definitely a great asset to the Oyster and I will be sure to pass on your review to them.
Looking forward to your next visit.
Best wishes,
Julie McGrath and team.,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tullamore
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great places to eat”
Reviewed May 21, 2014

This tavern is out in the country side with great views of the mountains, the place is family run and the family enjoy giving good service and a great selection of food. Take a taxi out from Tralee and enjoy a drink before your meal with some of the best mountain views in Ireland. The selection of food is excellent with a great selection from meats to fish, a group of us went for a total variety of dishes and everyone enjoyed their meal. The tavern has a good selection of house wines and the Guinness was very good. Staff and management provided an excellent service and were eager to please.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eindhoven, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
43 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Too greasy and too expensive”
Reviewed May 20, 2014 via mobile

Our soup of the day was terrible. So salty and a lot of cornstarch in it. Then the main course. Turf and surf. The meat of both was oke but the onion rings were so greasy that you could not cut them, the French fries bended over due to so much grease. We already started the main course and needed to ask for our wine because they forgot. And we were the only people dining. The welcome was kind of weird. We did not even sit at our table or the waitress told us that the sea bass and lamb rack were not available. And they were on the day menu. All and all the bill was €165 for terrible food. Don't go unless you love greasy food.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
9 Thank Anneliestrip12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Oyster Tavern also viewed

Tralee, County Kerry
 

Been to The Oyster Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing