We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Always a pleasure.....” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Meadowlands Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Meadowlands Hotel
Ranked #7 of 14 Hotels in Tralee
Certificate of Excellence
dublin
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Always a pleasure.....”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2010

Just checked out of the hotel today and as always I’m sorry we couldn't stay longer (the husband wanted to go golf in Waterville) as we have always enjoyed our stay. The hotel is in a good location within walking distance to the town. The hotel just has a warm friendly feel to it and the staff are so pleasant. I would not hesitate in recommending this hotel to any of my friends or family as for me it has the whole package, even down to the great rates.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank allyg82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

471 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    302
    122
    34
    6
    7
See reviews for
143
164
31
60
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
46 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2010

Just returned from Meadowlands. We booked a 3night package with 2 dinners and were upgraded to executive rooms when booking. Rooms are big with two queensize beds. Tv could be updated to something more modern and there were limited channels. Bathroom lovely and spacious, with fresh towels each morning and bottled water left out.

As part of our package we ate in the bar, and the food was great. We had starter, main course and dessert on the two evenings. I am glad we ate in the bar as the restaurant would have been very quiet on the evenings we were there. For breakfast we had the traditional Irish which was lovely but for those who prefer a Continental breakfast I thought the choice was limited.

Like other viewers recent comments I agree definitely with the bar decor. Very poor and very dark - it really needs a good facelift and brighter paint, this would then make it a splendid hotel. The Hotel is popular with locals so abit of atmosphere in the bar and the hotel is located in a nice residential area of Tralee. Bar staff are very friendly. Thanks to Nigel and Claire on reception for their help when booking and on check in.

Plenty of parking in the hotel. The hotel is a 10 min walk straight down road to centre of Tralee and a five min walk to the Greyhound stadium around the corner which operates Tuesday and I think Friday and Sat. evenings.

Overall an enjoyable stay and I would return again.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NIM-CAILIN-BEAG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cork
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2010

this is a lovely friendly hotel, but I was dissapointed with standards of cleanliness
especially in the bar area, alot of dusty items around the place.
You could see the joining in the carpet in the bedroom and it was frayed around the edges especially near the door. Can not understand how this hotel is four stars
its definetley only a 3 star .. Frayed carpets and dark dusty bar area did not do it for me

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Angcarm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
31 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2010

Stayed here for one night for a business trip. On arrival, needed to get online but internet connection wouldn't work in the room. I got NO assistance from reception. Eventually discovered I had been put into wrong type of room and got moved. Internet connection in new room worked eventually. Wouldn't have complained about room type otherwise as both rooms were nice.

Nice hotel, good room service, lots of parking, but internet connectivity access lets this place down. Would most likely stay elsewhere next time.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marcus B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
29 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2010

I was booked into this hotel by my company for one night. Good location and easy to find (a straight forward 2 hour drive from Shannon Airport) Great welcome. Large, well appointed and quiet bedrom with good sized bathroom. Arrived too late for dinner (thanks Aer Lingus!) but was made a very good sandwich in the bar accompanied of course by a fine pint of Guiness. Breakfast the next day was beautifully cooked and well presented. Overall a lovely property and the staff make it a delight in which to stay. I would not hesitate to recommend it and would not consider anywhere else to stay if or when I return.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank adoughty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dublin ireland
Level Contributor
176 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 208 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2010

stayed in meadowlands 5 or 6 times now......all reports were good....room clean and tidy......food excellent......location excellent.....parking very good......got a dark wood room once which i did not like.....i like bright and airy................gents toilet is located close to breaky area and could do some extra windows and ventilation asap......other than that all good ....well done evertbody concerned with this fine tralee hotel

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tomhannon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bromsgrove
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2009

Arrived early evening, cold, very tired and starving hungry. Was met in the reception by a wonderful warm glowing open fire. Pamela who greeted us at that time was very welcoming and friendly told where to park for ease of transfering our luggage and even offered some help up to our room. We booked for one night only. Had a fantastic dinner and a few of the Irish velvet to drink and off to bed. The room we had was loverly. Clean and comfy with thick duvets and plump pillows. Breakfast next morning was to die for and as much coffee as you wanted. We booked in for another 2 nights!!!!
This has to be one of the nicest Hotels we have ever stayed in. The accommodation was excellent and so was the food but the best was most definatley the staff for who we say a very big thank you, you made our little break complete, you could'nt do enough for us. THANK YOU GUY'S.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynn A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tralee hotels
1.7 mi away
Ballygarry House Hotel & Spa
0.7 mi away
The Ashe Hotel
The Ashe Hotel
#2 of 14 in Tralee
4.5 of 5 bubbles 445 reviews
1.0 mi away
Manor West Hotel
Manor West Hotel
#3 of 14 in Tralee
4.5 of 5 bubbles 641 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
The Rose Hotel
The Rose Hotel
#6 of 14 in Tralee
4.5 of 5 bubbles 280 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Grand Hotel Tralee
The Grand Hotel Tralee
#8 of 14 in Tralee
4.5 of 5 bubbles 801 reviews
3.0 mi away
Ballyroe Heights Hotel
Ballyroe Heights Hotel
#4 of 14 in Tralee
4.5 of 5 bubbles 761 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Meadowlands Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Meadowlands Hotel

Property: Meadowlands Hotel
Address: Oakpark, Tralee, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Tralee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 14 Hotels in Tralee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Meadowlands Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
WELCOME Situated on beautiful private gardens, the Meadowlands Hotel is a stylish retreat on the Wild Atlantic Way and the perfect base to explore the Kingdom of Kerry. The Gaeltacht family run hotel offers comfort, culture and a friendly welcome for business and leisure guests. STAY The Meadowlands Hotel takes pride in creating a "home away from home" experience, offering a relaxing base to unwind on holiday while incorporating modern amenities for business travellers. Guestrooms are carefully designed to ensure a restful night's sleep in complete luxury with a sense of style and individuality. LOCATION The Meadowlands Hotel is idyllically located 1 km from Tralee Town Centre and in the midst of Ireland's Top Tourist towns-Killarney and Dingle. Enjoy awe inspiring views on the Kerry section of the Wild Atlantic Way with spectacular things to see and do at every turn. Experience the culture, tours, attractions and outdoor activities that Kerry has to offer! DINE & ENTERTAIN An Móinéar Restaurant offers a warm and tranquil atmosphere with a secluded balcony for intimate dining and dinner parties. The restaurant features an outstanding menu inspired from Irish & International specialities and served in an elegant and cozy atmosphere. Menus are prepared to reflect Kerry's best locally produced ingredients with the fish and seafood sourced from the family's own fish company in the village of Dingle on a daily basis. Johnny Frank's Bar is a spacious locale which has a stunning interior that mixes the best of tradition and contemporary design to give a warm and inviting ambience. With comfort and style combined, you can relax and unwind, enjoying a choice of delicious coffees and teas, cocktails and various drinks and snacks. Superb bar food menus are offered for casual dining. The snug, fireplace, balcony, library and comfortable seating along with many music sessions ensure Caint, Ceol agus Craic! CONFERENCES & MEETINGS The Conference Centre at the Meadowlands Hotel was designed with flexibility in mind, catering for conferences, meetings, auditions and interviews. The various meeting room options accommodate numbers from 2 to 250. The Conference Centre has been equipped with superior audio-visual technology, complimentary Wi-Fi, adjustable lighting and air conditioning to create your unique atmosphere. Our highly experienced team is dedicated to ensuring that every detail of your event is run according to your plan. WEDDINGS AND CIVIL CEREMONIES Set in a tranquil corner of Tralee, the Meadowlands Hotel is a hidden gem and the ideal setting for the most memorable day of your life. With gardens offering a picture perfect photo opportunity, champagne reception, an elegant ballroom and a fairy-tale lit courtyard, the Meadowlands Hotel will be the place of dreams on your Wedding Day. SPECIAL OCCASSIONS The Meadowlands Hotel specializes in parties for all occasions and will work with you to tailor your event as you envision, catering for various events, celebrations and entertainment. There is a choice of semi-private and private function rooms available to create the perfect atmosphere for your party. Mouth-watering group menus are prepared to cater to the tastes and dining requirements of your party, including finger food, barbecue, buffet, social and gala menus. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Meadowlands Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing