We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel Restaurant - Brooks Restaurant, Ballygarry House Hotel.”
Review of Brooks Restaurant - CLOSED

Brooks Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Irish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions
Dining options: Reservations
Reviewed November 22, 2013

We recently stayed at the Ballygarry House Hotel, with an inclusive meal in our package.
The meal was excellent in all courses.
The monkfish was particularly tasty for the main course !
There was always a very good choice for all courses, and we especially enjoyed the creme brulee and the cheese board.
The setting and decor of the restaurant is very pleasing and the staff, as always in the Ballygarry, were excellent.
The breakfast menu is also very good with both the cold buffet items and the cooked breakfast, excellent.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Review collected in partnership with this restaurant
Thank AandACo_ArmaghN_I_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MrP_McGillicuddy, Manager at Brooks Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded December 9, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your fantastic review and words of praise. We are delighted we impressed you so much.

Your review will be posted up so that all the team here can read and enjoy.

Many thanks again and hoping you get the chance to return to us again in the future.

Best Wishes,

Tadhg McGillicuddy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviews (98)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

68 - 72 of 98 reviews

Reviewed November 16, 2013 via mobile

A lovely setting and good for a group. Was disappointed with crab starter, cold and lacked flavour. Had excellent steak but thought sides could be better. Dessert was yum!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Kerrycrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MrP_McGillicuddy, Manager at Brooks Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded December 9, 2013

Dear Kerrycrew,

Thank you fot taking the time to post a review of your recent experience with us here. You feedback is much appreciated and will be passed on to our Head Chef. We are currently making a few changes to our A La Carte menu, so you will have to return again soon to sample the new menu.

Thanks again,

Best Wishes,

Tadhg McGillicuddy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2013

My husband and I had a 4 course meal in Brooks and it was delicious. The staff were so attentive and really we could not fault any thing. Will definitely be returning again.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Review collected in partnership with this restaurant
Thank Shannongal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MrP_McGillicuddy, Manager at Brooks Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded December 9, 2013

Dear Shannongal,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review and for your great feedback, it really means so much to the team here in Brooks and Ballygarry House.

Looking forward to your return visit.

Tadhg McGillicuddy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2013

Our first review on Tripadvisor, was of Balygarry Hotel. We have now decided to add a review of Brook's Restaurant in this Hotel. We booked a two night stay and had decided to eat in Brook's the first night and in the bar on the second night.
Our meal in Brook's the first night was unbelievably good. For the main course we had the Dingle Bay Hake. We eat a lot of hake, which is freshly available in our coastal county, but this was definitely the nicest hake meal we ever had. We could not find fault with either the starters or desserts. They were fantastic.
As a result of our first night we decided to eat in Brook's again the second night. My wife decided to have the hake again, but I decided to have the duck. It was sublime.
The service on both nights was faultless and the staff were unbelievably friendly.
The Breakfasts on both mornings were again extremely good. There was a very good buffet and the main meal was served piping hot from the kitchen. Didn't even have toast the second morning because the brown soda bread was so delicious.
We celebrated occasions in five star hotels in neighbouring counties, but now wish we had found Ballygarry House and Brook's many years ago.
The dinners were of exceptional value. Cannot praise this restaurant enough.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Review collected in partnership with this restaurant
Thank Donal G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MrP_McGillicuddy, Manager at Brooks Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded December 9, 2013

Dear Donal,

Thank you very much for both reviews, they are a joy to read. I assure you your kind words will be passed onto all the team here for them to read. Our Head Chef will be delighted with your fantastic feedback.

It really is an all round great review, so thank you very much again.

Hoping you get the chance to return to us again in the future.

Best Regards,

Tadhg McGillicuddy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2013

We stayed in Ballygary House Hotel for 3 nights in September 2013. During our visit we ate in the Hotel's Brooks Restaurant. The first night my husband was unwell so I went in the restaurant alone and the staff particularly Kathleen was fantastic and she deserves a reward for her kindness, I am disabled and she could not have done more. The 3 course meal was lovely I choice Fish Chowder to start then sole followed by a coffee and chocolate mouse, it was really great. The next two nights my husband had recovered and we both ate in Brooks restaurant, it was our wedding anniversary and our desert came out with piped chocolate around the plate wishing us a Happy Anniversary. and a glass of champagne from the Brooks Restaurant. We were delighted and so happy, we had a delightful meal and a lovely anniversary. Thank you Brooks Restaurant in Ballygarry Hotel for making this such a memmerable time.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Review collected in partnership with this restaurant
Thank bella62cindy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MrP_McGillicuddy, Manager at Brooks Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded December 9, 2013

Dear Guest,

I am delighted you choose to celebrate your wedding anniversary with us here at Ballygarry House and i am delighted to read that you had such a memorable stay. Kathleen is indeed a treasure and is a great asset to the team in Brooks Restaurant.

Thanks again,

Looking forward to the next anniversary.

Best Wishes,

Tadhg McGillicuddy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Brooks Restaurant also viewed

Tralee, County Kerry
 
Tralee, County Kerry
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing