We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hard to say...”

Kerry County Museum
Ranked #3 of 62 things to do in Tralee
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Toronto, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
251 reviews
93 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
“Hard to say...”
Reviewed May 15, 2013 via mobile

The staff here are amazing - friendly, welcoming and passionate about the museum. But the museum itself could use a little work. I found it a bit boring at times, and some exhibits were very text-heavy or unengaging. The personal touch of photos and the video was great though. The lower level with a replication of the streets from the medieval period was well done but the smell is unbearable. I had to leave sooner then I wanted to because it was so awful. I appreciate the reasons for trying to replicate everything including the smell, but that was a bit much. I would recommend doing some research before you visit. Read up on it and what it offers and then decide if its something of interest to you. For me personally, it wasn't and I wouldn't return. But again, the staff is excellent and are very passionate about the museum.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Chantal S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

317 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    211
    89
    15
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Limerick
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Inexpensive trip through time.”
Reviewed May 15, 2013 via mobile

A very good value museum for €5.
There is a lot to see and do. I had so much fun and to be honest would be back again and again.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Bchaaaan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pembroke, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Wonderful”
Reviewed April 10, 2013

What a great musuem. A great collection to start with of old pictures depicting life as it was in CoKerry. 6 seperate areas, eg, medieval, through the ages etc. Very informative and captivating. One of the best mest musuems I have been to. Arrived late, so unfortunately ran out of time. Highly recommended. Very suitable for children. At the end we emerged into the tourist information office which was very useful. Would love to go again.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank 593MargaretG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland.
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Great way to spend a few hours in Tralee. Family friendly.”
Reviewed April 4, 2013

We visited the Museum on Easter Saturday. They had set up some tables for the kids to do colouring of Easter pictures. There was also a quiz where you had to go around the museum and look for answers. There was no charge for the Children, it was €5 per adult. The upstairs sections are full of historical information on Tralee and it's people. It was well laid out and made for an interesting wander. The kids were not blown away by this bit.

Downstairs there was an archaeological section with a mini 'dig' (sandpit) which the kids loved. The best section was the medieval times area where you got to wander through medieval Tralee with it's ancient streets and traders full of mannequins in authentic poses and dress. The 5 year old was totally freaked out but the 3 year old loved it. We could have spent quite a bit of time here if the 5 year old wasn't having a melt down.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank TracieHu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Nice museum”
Reviewed April 1, 2013

Reasonably priced and well presented but could perhaps do with a revamp after twenty years?!

The Geraldine Tralee walkabout at the end is excellent but why did they get rid of the little car that used to take you around?!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank CorkNitpicker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kerry County Museum also viewed

Tralee, County Kerry
 
Tralee, County Kerry
Tralee, County Kerry
 

Been to Kerry County Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing