We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxury B&B”
Review of Brook Manor Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Brook Manor Lodge
Ranked #1 of 53 Tralee B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Luxury B&B”
Reviewed July 23, 2011

My boyfriend and I stayed here for one night during our 1+ week trip driving around Ireland. It was advertised as a luxury B&B on a website and boy were they right. The B&B was very big, well kept, clean and spacious. We stayed in a room that had a big bed, about 6 windows, a couch and a vanity. The bathroom was nice and clean and the water pressure was good. Free wifi was provided.

We arrived and had no problem with checking in. Sandra, the host, was extremely friendly and explained everything to us. Breakfast the next morning was the BEST breakfast we had during our whole trip. A continental breakfast buffet was set up and then you could order off of a hot menu. The coffee was great! The food was delicious! The room where the dining room was located was spacious, sunny and was beautifully decorated.

The bedrooms had an old style lock/key system. Skeleton keys as some would call them. It was a bit difficult getting into and out of our room because we had to lock the door manually each time. If you didn't put the key in the lock the right way, the room would not lock. It added to the Manors unique touch though! I would highly recommend this B&B to anyone!

The only constructive criticism I have would be about how the Manor smelled. It smelled like a funeral home. Lots of calla lilies! In the U.S., that smell is associated with funeral homes and that is all I could think about every time I would step out of my room.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jetsettergal_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    145
    10
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
40
82
3
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Ferndale
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2011

Our room was big and beautiful with great views. The breakfast was great. Be sure to drive out to Fenit on the road and if you have time, the beach at Ballyheighue (20 minute dirve each) is really good. There are nice restaurants a short drive away.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Traveltechie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TORONTO
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2010

Brook Manor Lodge is slightly outside of Tralee, but offers easy access to the downtown area. As well, it is close enough to the Dingle Peninsula, the Ring of Kerry, and the Cliffs of Moher to be able to reach these areas in a day trip. Being a bit out of town, it is very quiet, with large rooms, and it offers unusual luxury and services at a reasonable price. Expect excellent breakfasts, and there are a number of good restaurants within a short driving distance for dinner. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Torontoseniors-10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunshaughlin, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2010

I recently stayed in Brook Manor Lodge for 5 nights. I was very impressed by the scenic location just west of Tralee( with mountain and sea only minutes away) and the value, cleanliness and room service provided. But above all the friendly and warm atmosphere generated by ever genial proprietor Sandra whose attention to detail is meticulous. The breakfasts were huge with a wide selection of good food.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Muiris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hasselt, Belgium
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2010

This B&B just outside Tralee is the perfect base to explore Dingle and the Ring of Kerry. The superior room we stayed in was very spacious with lovely views. Mrs. Lordan was very warm and welcoming! She is truly concerned for your wellbeing and nothing is too much trouble for her. Breakfast was really lovely and lots to choose from.
Thank you, Sandra!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gandalf62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2010

We booked 3 nights here, and found the place to be immaculate and spotless. A hidden treasure.

It is a little bit out of Tralee, but that was good for us, quiet location, but easily within reach of Tralee centre - about 5 mins by car.

The lady is a little gem and makes sure all your comforts are catered for. Free Internet access via laptop in lounge. Sky TV and DVD in rooms. We didn't borrow a DVD but there were about a hundred films to chose from.

Breakfast was exceptional with plenty of choice - infact too much choice - loads and loads to have in the buffet (cereals, breads, cheese, meats, juices, fruit yoghurts), and then a full cooked breakfast too, or choice of things off the menu - we had pancakes a few days - yummy.

You won't be dissappointed if you stay here. We moved on to Killarney for 3 days. The accommodation was horrendous, so we booked out and managed to come back to the Brook Manor for our last 2 days - I was so glad she still had one spare room - THANKYOU !

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bumble007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharon, Connecticut
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2010

Attention to detail, that's what makes the difference and that's what you get at Brook Manor Lodge. Plus a fantastic breakfast and gorgeous scenery. What more could you ask for? And its far enough from the centre of Tralee that you have forgotten the grunginess of this town which could do with a good spring clean.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ballycraigy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tralee hotels
4.0 mi away
Ballygarry House Hotel & Spa
2.0 mi away
The Grand Hotel Tralee
The Grand Hotel Tralee
#8 of 14 in Tralee
845 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Ashe Hotel
The Ashe Hotel
#2 of 14 in Tralee
573 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
The Rose Hotel
The Rose Hotel
#6 of 14 in Tralee
486 reviews
4.6 mi away
Ballyseede Castle
Ballyseede Castle
#4 of 14 in Tralee
1,116 reviews
2.4 mi away
Meadowlands Hotel
Meadowlands Hotel
#7 of 14 in Tralee
513 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brook Manor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brook Manor Lodge

Property: Brook Manor Lodge
Address: Brooklyn Lodge Fenit Road, Tralee, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Tralee
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 53 B&Bs / Inns in Tralee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Brook Manor Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury four star Guesthouse situated in breathtaking County Kerry. Standing beside a sparkling brook, amidst acres of lawns and meadowland, it is an ideal base from which to explore the magical Kingdom of Kerry. Hosts Sandra and Jerome treat their guests to the ultimate in hospitality, with complimentary tea or coffee on arrival and fresh scones beside an open fire. The ensuite spacious bedrooms are individually designed and elegantly furnished with all modern amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Brook Manor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing