We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Lovely Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Imperial Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Imperial Hotel
Ranked #11 of 14 Hotels in Tralee
Dublin
Level Contributor
95 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Lovely Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

This is a lovely hotel, situated very conveniently, in the centre of the town. It's in a very old, historic part of the town. The bedrooms are moderate in size, though fine for us : the room was an old traditional style with high ceilings and the original style sash windows.
The staff are so friendly - particularly one of the bar staff, Anthony. My wife and myself spent an hour chatting with him about everything from the Irish economy to the great places to visit in Ireland. My mother was also staying at the hotel, and he treated her like a special lady - What a great guy.
Breakfast was great also - we have family here, so will definitely come back again

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DublinKevin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
imperialhoteltralee, General Manager at Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Dear Dublinkevin

Thank you for your very kind words, we were delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us.
We take pride in ensuring all our guests have a positive experience whilst in the Imperial Hotel,and I will pass on your positive feedback to all the staff and Anthony in particular.
Once again thank you for taking time to submit your review.
I look forward to personally welcoming you back to the Imperial Hotel in the future.
Kind Regards
Olive Sheehan
Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    58
    16
    5
    9
See reviews for
32
52
8
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Navan, Ireland
Level Contributor
101 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

Stayed in this hotel over the weekend. We were visiting relations and only needed a base as we were out most of the time. Reception was very professional and friendly and the room on the third floor (we sang climb every mountain each time we tackled the stairs) was bright and airy and overlooked the street. There does not seem to be aircon so we had to leave the window open. There was little noise from the street outside and we got a good nights sleep on both nights. The night porter is very friendly and there was no problem getting a nightcap.
The hotel is very central and we paid €69 each for 2 nights room only in a twin room. Great value.

Room Tip: Try to get a room on the first floor as there is no lift.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hoops22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
50 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

We stayed in the Imperial for the long weekend and we found this hotel very clean and pleasant.

Its a very old building so there was no lift. At first we were given room 331 and told we could change the following day as this room was on the third floor. The room was very small and definitely not big enough to be called a double room.
The next morning we asked to be moved and we were given a lovely room on the second floor.
The Dining Room was beautiful and bright and the food excellent. All the staff were very friendly and helpful. ~This Hotel is in a great location and easy to walk to shops restaurants and pubs.

Room Tip: Ask not to be given room 331... !!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Deirdre C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

Brought my two young kids for dinner there...very accommodating and helpful..allowed kids to share adult course as I didnt want them to have nuggets etc..and was yummy.Definately will go back..and so close to Rose Garden.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank gercorcoran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

I stayed here with my partner at the weekend , all i can say is the staff are the most helpful , friendliest staff i have ever come across i worked in the hotel industry for a number of years and understand it can be very demanding at times and i could not say enough good things about the staff at this hotel . They went out of there way to tell us about good local beaches and sights that are not on visitor maps of the beaten track , i would recommend this hotel to everyone and ill be back for sure .Thanks for a great memorable stay !

Room Tip: Choose a room at the back as you can hear people walking past at night !
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kylenikky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

Lovely hotel, great location, reasonable prices.
I was somewhat shocked by the tiny room, but it sufficed for our purposes,
There was no bath in the bathroom which was disappointing but there was a little shower.
We went for dinner in the bar on the first night we stayed, the staff were lovely especially the extremely and helpful barman. The atmosphere was relaxed and friendly. I'd go back.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank skablacks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

We missed our train so got to spend a night in Tralee. Found the Imperial to be very reasonable with an excellent breakfast. The room had one of the few tubs on our trip plus a shower, of course. As others have said the staff was very friendly and helpful. Beds very comfortable. I agree that it was newly renovated but still reasonable.

Room Tip: We were in the back so it was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Misserino C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tralee hotels
0.1 mi away
The Ashe Hotel
The Ashe Hotel
#2 of 14 in Tralee
4.5 of 5 stars 302 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Grand Hotel Tralee
The Grand Hotel Tralee
#7 of 14 in Tralee
4.5 of 5 stars 738 reviews
0.1 mi away
Benners Hotel
Benners Hotel
#9 of 14 in Tralee
4.5 of 5 stars 124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Rose Hotel
The Rose Hotel
#8 of 14 in Tralee
4.0 of 5 stars 847 reviews
0.8 mi away
Meadowlands Hotel
Meadowlands Hotel
#6 of 14 in Tralee
4.5 of 5 stars 404 reviews
2.8 mi away
Ballyroe Heights Hotel
Ballyroe Heights Hotel
#3 of 14 in Tralee
4.5 of 5 stars 707 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Imperial Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Imperial Hotel

Property: Imperial Hotel
Address: 27 Denny Street, Tralee, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Tralee
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Tralee
#6 Business Hotel in Tralee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Imperial Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A family run hotel, the distinctive style of services goes beyond automatic courtesy. Located in Tralee town centre, the Imperial Hotel has recently been totally refurbished to a very high standard. Double, twin and family rooms are available and are equipped with TV, direct dial telephone and complementary tea/coffee. All rooms have en-suite facilites. The hotel has a fine dining room as well as a large bar area frequented by guests and locals alike. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Imperial Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Imperial Hotel Tralee

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing