We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Great breakfast” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Grand Hotel Tralee

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Grand Hotel Tralee
Ranked #7 of 14 Hotels in Tralee
Certificate of Excellence
Killarney, Ireland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great breakfast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

In Tralee foe breakfast. Having stayed in the Grand previously. Decided to have breakfast there. Excellent as before. Waitress very attentive . Probably in wrong profession . Should be in caring business. The others were nice too. . Great start to the day.

Room Tip: Just book in. Leave it in the hands of staff
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eamon1944
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

726 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    445
    185
    55
    23
    18
See reviews for
172
211
43
65
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Neyland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014 via mobile

What a gem of an hotel in the lovely town of Tralee.With an old atmosphere of elegance in the building combined with all modern conveniences including fast,reliable internet you get the best of both worlds.
The management and staff are outstanding.As with the Grand itself,you get a mix of modern efficiency and a touch of the old feeling of being personally looked after by very attentive and caring people.
When we decide where to eat while on holiday,we look for places where local people go,so look no further than the restaurant or bar restaurant of this "grand" hotel.
Many thanks for a wonderful welcome and a very comfortable stay.
P.S. Hope to see you again soon.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Malgwyn L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

I would highly recommend the Grand Hotel if you are visiting Tralee. It has the best location, friendly staff and excellent food. Local people eat there which is a great sign. Go in hungry as the portions are very generous. The Bar menu is good. There is a lovely atmosphere there, people will chat to you.

Geraldine Gaffney.

Room Tip: It is nice to look out on Denny St. The hotel is busy, but there is a nice buzz. It is very central.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Geraldine O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California
Level Contributor
71 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014 via mobile

Maybe I'm just being a spoiled American when I expect there to be an elevator in my hotel. Our room was located on the third floor up a myriad of stairs. Definitely a chore when lugging your luggage around. Compound this with the most uncomfortable pillows and beds I've experienced in recent memory and it makes for a less than ideal stay. I know this is a historic location but I would prefer at least some upgrades to the hotel!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank RAV_IN_SB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
County Meath, Ireland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

I stayed here again with my mother and father for the first time in ten years and it is still as warm and welcoming as ever. The staff are extremely helpful, going out of their way to assist us with any enquiries that we had, and they are just generally nice people. The room was more spacious than the last time which was good and the location is brilliant; right in the heart of Tralee. The only negative thing about the hotel is there's no elevator, which can be very difficult for people with walking difficulties or problems as some rooms are located up quite a lot of stairs. I will definitely be staying here again in the future!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank XDweebieX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014 via mobile

Great place to stay ,very central , food superb especially breakfast , rooms very well cleaned every day I really enjoyed the live music in bar at night and would definately recommend it to families its very close to shops ,restaurants and aquadome

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Kathleen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

Just back home in Sweden after a five night stay at the Grand Hotel in Tralee and once again left there with a wonderful experince. Attention to detail, friendliness and versatility are just three of the words I would use to describe the staff there across all the departments at the hotel. It was my third time staying there with guests from Sweden and it just seems to get better and better. Old World charm and centrally located with a great restaurant, great bar, lovely rooms. We look forward to returning to the Grand in the future!

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Rhtv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tralee hotels
0.1 mi away
The Ashe Hotel
The Ashe Hotel
#2 of 14 in Tralee
4.5 of 5 stars 271 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Rose Hotel
The Rose Hotel
#8 of 14 in Tralee
4.0 of 5 stars 817 reviews
2.0 mi away
Ballygarry House Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Meadowlands Hotel
Meadowlands Hotel
#6 of 14 in Tralee
4.5 of 5 stars 393 reviews
0.1 mi away
Benners Hotel
Benners Hotel
#9 of 14 in Tralee
4.5 of 5 stars 110 reviews
1.3 mi away
Manor West Hotel
Manor West Hotel
#5 of 14 in Tralee
4.5 of 5 stars 541 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grand Hotel Tralee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand Hotel Tralee

Property: The Grand Hotel Tralee
Address: Denny Street, Tralee, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Tralee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Tralee
#5 Romantic Hotel in Tralee
#6 Family Hotel in Tralee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Grand Hotel Tralee 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A very popular spot with both guests and locals in keeping with the ambiance of the hotel it is a traditional style pub. we offer a lively breakfast & Coffee morning our in house French pastry Chef will tempt you with his freshly baked scones Irish Brown Bread Pastries and desserts. Our bar food menu is second to none and offers a wide and extensive choice to cater all tastes. The bar is a lively place to enjoy a pint & a chat at the end of a busy day. We also have a very popular Traditional Irish Music Session every Friday night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your The Grand Hotel Tralee reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Tralee
Tralee Grand Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing