We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Grand old lady”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Grand Hotel Tralee
Ranked #8 of 14 Hotels in Tralee
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 28, 2014 via mobile

Lovely old-time hotel staffed by friendly obliging people. These were the best beds we have slept in in any hotel of late. Room was spacious with nice roomy bathroom. Unfortunately only stayed one night but quite happy to recommend and hope to return one day.
Thanks!

Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank muriwaidonna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (875)
There are newer reviews for The Grand Hotel Tralee
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

425 - 431 of 875 reviews

Reviewed May 28, 2014

You'll need a satnav to find your room in this warren of creaking, endless corridors and steps.
Once you're in, the beds are good, the bathrooms solid, and it's all clean and tidy. Decor is distinctly dated, but you're in Tralee, so that's part of the deal.
The bar is popular with locals at the weekend, and the breakfasts will last you all day.
It's still grand.... just.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Malieb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2014

We arrived, 4 very exhausted motorcyclists, to a lovely smiling greeting from the receptionist and a warm handshake from the manager. Nice rooms (some too small I am told) and a nice bar. The restaurant was just OK, but the breakfast was amazing.
Just what we needed before getting soaked on the next leg of our trip to Tipperary.
One little niggle; all the rooms are 'non-smoking', but they have ash trays. Which previous guests had obviously used... Remove the ash trays.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nevaps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2014

Stayed for one night our room was lovely we were at the front of hotel
Facing road and we heard no traffic .We had great food in the bar it was very busy for a Monday
night our breakfast was lovely and the staff were very friendly, will stay again

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank corkhanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2014

We stayed overnight at the Grand Hotel, Tralee and it had its charm but some disadvantages too. Denny Street is very attractive compared to most of Tralee and the hotel has character. Reception was most helpful and even though there is no lift, our case was taken to the room. The first room we were offered was uninviting, dark, depressing and not what we wanted. There was a double bed, a single bed and for some reason, a camp bed folded up in the corner. I went to Reception and they soon offered me an alternative room facing the street which was far better. Noise outside on a Sunday evening was minimal. The room was somewhat small and for some reason, the hotel still uses blankets rather than a duvet. The bathroom was fine and the shower powerful. There was a tea-making facility in the room but we didn't use it. There is a pleasant residents' lounge on the first floor and this was convenient. Wifi is in the room and was efficient and included in the rate.
The main bar is very attractive and full of character and the restaurant serves good food at average prices.
Breakfast was reasonable, the best part being the individually cooked options including smoked haddock.
Parking can be problematic and we had to drive around the block six or seven times before hogging the road when it looked like someone was driving out of a space. The hotel does have a parking facility a short distance away but with cases this is not too convenient.
All in all it was a pleasant stay but Tralee didn't do anything for us and we wouldn't return.

Room Tip: Be choosy before you accept a room as they vary greatly in quality.
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bob1949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2014

Service was excellent, down from very friendly manager to the wait staff. Lovely town. The food was great and plentiful and to cap it off, the plates were nice and warm. The breakfast outstanding. The room was very comfortable and the place was spotless .Thank you

Room Tip: The manager is willing to be schmoozed a little to get a better deal!
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 954aze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2014

We visit this hotel on a yearly basis and can only confirm what we have said previously. The service offered is first class from the management down. From the moment you step over the threshold you are welcomed by all staff. The management ensure the service is of the highest standard and the staff want to ensure your every need is catered for. The hotel is spotless, the rooms warm and comfortable and the food cooked and served in both the bar and the restaurant to a first class standard. The atmosphere is so homely and friendly. The hotel is well placed in the town and is ideally situated for a base if touring the Kerry area. Once again Dick and all his staff thanks for a wonderful welcome and enjoyable stay

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kenneth_hodge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tralee hotels
0.4 mi away
The Rose Hotel
The Rose Hotel
#7 of 14 in Tralee
618 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Ashe Hotel
The Ashe Hotel
#2 of 14 in Tralee
657 reviews
1.2 mi away
Manor West Hotel
Manor West Hotel
#3 of 14 in Tralee
774 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Meadowlands Hotel
Meadowlands Hotel
#6 of 14 in Tralee
542 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tralee Benners Hotel
Tralee Benners Hotel
#9 of 14 in Tralee
184 reviews
2.0 mi away
Ballygarry House Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grand Hotel Tralee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand Hotel Tralee

Address: Denny Street, Tralee, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Tralee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Tralee
#5 Romantic Hotel in Tralee
#6 Family Hotel in Tralee
Price Range: $105 - $191 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Grand Hotel Tralee 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of Tralee, we are the ideal location for exploring the majestic South West of Ireland. Centred between Killarney & The Dingle Peninsula, we are the perfect spot for those who wish to see it all. A renovated Victorian house which honours its rich history with added modern décor & luxuries. The Grand Hotel stands on the site of The Great Castle of Tralee. The Grand hotel occupies the liveliest kitchen in Tralee. Recognised amongst locals and visitors for its superb service & delicious display of culinary art. We offer extensive menus in The Pikeman Bar and Samuel's Restaurant. We serve from the crack of dawn (7.30am) until the faint dusk (9.30pm.): Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner & everything in between! Our live music weekends are hosted Friday & Saturday with various performers. Our traditional Irish music sessions deem extremely popular. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your The Grand Hotel Tralee reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Tralee
Tralee Grand Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing