We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Home from Home”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Grand Hotel Tralee
Ranked #8 of 14 Hotels in Tralee
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
“Home from Home”
Reviewed February 19, 2014

I have stayed in The Grand Hotel on a number of occasions over the past 3 years and I always look forward to coming back to this excellent Hotel. The staff & facilities are all excellent. I am a business traveler and this Hotel ticks all the boxes and exceeds my expectations every time I visit. The Broadband is excellent, the Quality of food is extremely high and the bedrooms are all very modern & clean. When I arrived tonight for my meal I was met by Ger in the Bar who always makes me feel welcome and has great local knowledge of the local area and then hands me today's paper to read while awaiting my meal which was excellent quality & great value.

Room Tip: All the rooms I have stayed in over the past 3 years have been to a very high standard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Declan O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

817 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    506
    209
    59
    25
    18
See reviews for
191
246
45
74
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lampeter, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed February 19, 2014

A welcoming open fire and a spotlessly clean reception area makes for a great welcome to the Grand Hotel. My reservation was dealt with efficiently from a very friendly receptionist. My room was spotlessly clean and very comfortable, I stayed for five nights and can only praise the standard of service and quality of the management and staff. The food in both the restaurant and the bar was excellent and the bar service has to be seen to be believed, excellent quality food served all day. A most enjoyable stay and already looking forward to a return visit. Irish hospitality at its best.

Room Tip: Always had a comfortable room each time that I have stayed at The Grand
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lampeter, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed February 16, 2014 via mobile

Once again,Dick and the staff have excelled with yet another great stay at the Grand.Everyone makes you feel so welcome and cant do enough for you from the smiling Ann behind the bar to Eileen who manages and makes sure everything is running like a well oiled machine.Quality of food is excellent for any time of day i,m already looking forward to the next visit having been going there for over 20 years

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank John J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, NJ
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2014

We arrived here when the weather was on the cold side... which was evident outside the hotel as well as inside our room! The staff was very responsive, turning our heat up and eventually bringing us a space heater. We were on the third floor (there are no elevators- so be weary if you are with elderly or handicapped travelers), so maybe lower floors fared better. Sadly, the bed was not very comfortable. We ended up with a full size bed (and another bed in the room too), although I thought I had reserved a king size. I'm sure it was my own mistake. The room was spacious though, as was the bathroom. Very clean. The employees were very nice and the location was perfect. Right in the center of the city. We ate at the pub for a late lunch (good food/good value) and had the breakfast in the morning which was included in our package. Decent buffet followed by a hot meal. Again, good food, nothing too fancy. The waitress, restaurant mgr., desk clerk, bellman were all very professional and kind.

Room Tip: As there is no elevator, older travelers may need to specifically request a lower floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed February 10, 2014

The Grand hotel is ideally located in The centre of Tralee
Being welcomed by the warm open fire on a cold February evening and the equally welcoming manager on duty Eileen
I headed straight in to the lovely
Hotel bar to enjoy a pre dinner drink
Dinner in the hotel restaurant was excellent
We had lovely local Kerry beef with a lovely Malbec from Argentina
The hotel room was spotless and comfortable
All hotel staff were great
Looking forward to getting back again soon

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Glenflesk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
84 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2014

I booked this hotel because of tripadvisor comments and was a little disappointed. Some parts of the hotel are quite old, although our room was modern inside. There is no lift and we were on the third floor. Fantastic location close to the city center, helpful staff. Breakfast was really poor for the price we paid. Poor WIFI in our room. For less of that money you would get a nice B&B.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pepitopulpito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed January 28, 2014

Such comfort that can only be found at home, is in the heart of Tralee.Fantastic 2 nights and most welcomed by the staff. The atmosphere welcoming and the service was second to none. The staff were very helpful. The restaurant was clean and the food beautiful.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LyndaAM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tralee hotels
0.1 mi away
The Ashe Hotel
The Ashe Hotel
#2 of 14 in Tralee
475 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Rose Hotel
The Rose Hotel
#6 of 14 in Tralee
337 reviews
2.0 mi away
Ballygarry House Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.4 mi away
Manor West Hotel
Manor West Hotel
#3 of 14 in Tralee
663 reviews
0.8 mi away
Meadowlands Hotel
Meadowlands Hotel
#7 of 14 in Tralee
480 reviews
0.1 mi away
Benners Hotel
Benners Hotel
#9 of 14 in Tralee
161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grand Hotel Tralee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand Hotel Tralee

Property: The Grand Hotel Tralee
Address: Denny Street, Tralee, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Tralee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Tralee
#5 Romantic Hotel in Tralee
#6 Family Hotel in Tralee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Grand Hotel Tralee 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A very popular spot with both guests and locals in keeping with the ambiance of the hotel it is a traditional style pub. we offer a lively breakfast & Coffee morning our in house French pastry Chef will tempt you with his freshly baked scones Irish Brown Bread Pastries and desserts. Our bar food menu is second to none and offers a wide and extensive choice to cater all tastes. The bar is a lively place to enjoy a pint & a chat at the end of a busy day. We also have a very popular Traditional Irish Music Session every Friday night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Grand Hotel Tralee reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Tralee
Tralee Grand Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing