We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“John D. Great stay at the Grand Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Grand Hotel Tralee
Ranked #8 of 14 Hotels in Tralee
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 19, 2014

A welcoming open fire and a spotlessly clean reception area makes for a great welcome to the Grand Hotel. My reservation was dealt with efficiently from a very friendly receptionist. My room was spotlessly clean and very comfortable, I stayed for five nights and can only praise the standard of service and quality of the management and staff. The food in both the restaurant and the bar was excellent and the bar service has to be seen to be believed, excellent quality food served all day. A most enjoyable stay and already looking forward to a return visit. Irish hospitality at its best.

Room Tip: Always had a comfortable room each time that I have stayed at The Grand
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (912)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

495 - 501 of 912 reviews

Reviewed February 16, 2014

Once again,Dick and the staff have excelled with yet another great stay at the Grand.Everyone makes you feel so welcome and cant do enough for you from the smiling Ann behind the bar to Eileen who manages and makes sure everything is running like a well oiled machine.Quality of food is excellent for any time of day i,m already looking forward to the next visit having been going there for over 20 years

Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
Thank John J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2014

We arrived here when the weather was on the cold side... which was evident outside the hotel as well as inside our room! The staff was very responsive, turning our heat up and eventually bringing us a space heater. We were on the third floor (there are no elevators- so be weary if you are with elderly or handicapped travelers), so maybe lower floors fared better. Sadly, the bed was not very comfortable. We ended up with a full size bed (and another bed in the room too), although I thought I had reserved a king size. I'm sure it was my own mistake. The room was spacious though, as was the bathroom. Very clean. The employees were very nice and the location was perfect. Right in the center of the city. We ate at the pub for a late lunch (good food/good value) and had the breakfast in the morning which was included in our package. Decent buffet followed by a hot meal. Again, good food, nothing too fancy. The waitress, restaurant mgr., desk clerk, bellman were all very professional and kind.

Room Tip: As there is no elevator, older travelers may need to specifically request a lower floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2014

The Grand hotel is ideally located in The centre of Tralee
Being welcomed by the warm open fire on a cold February evening and the equally welcoming manager on duty Eileen
I headed straight in to the lovely
Hotel bar to enjoy a pre dinner drink
Dinner in the hotel restaurant was excellent
We had lovely local Kerry beef with a lovely Malbec from Argentina
The hotel room was spotless and comfortable
All hotel staff were great
Looking forward to getting back again soon

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Glenflesk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2014

I booked this hotel because of tripadvisor comments and was a little disappointed. Some parts of the hotel are quite old, although our room was modern inside. There is no lift and we were on the third floor. Fantastic location close to the city center, helpful staff. Breakfast was really poor for the price we paid. Poor WIFI in our room. For less of that money you would get a nice B&B.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pepitopulpito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2014

Such comfort that can only be found at home, is in the heart of Tralee.Fantastic 2 nights and most welcomed by the staff. The atmosphere welcoming and the service was second to none. The staff were very helpful. The restaurant was clean and the food beautiful.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LyndaAM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2014

This is third time i stayed in this hotel as i travel to Tralee at least once a year for business. This hotels is like one hard punch with power of excellent location (it seems like downtown was established around this hotel), cosy bar, always smiling staff with impeccable service and clean rooms. what else you need!!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank drvijaybhardwaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tralee hotels
0.1 mi away
The Ashe Hotel
The Ashe Hotel
#2 of 14 in Tralee
760 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Rose Hotel
The Rose Hotel
#6 of 14 in Tralee
785 reviews
2 mi away
Ballygarry House Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Tralee Benners Hotel
Tralee Benners Hotel
#9 of 14 in Tralee
202 reviews
0.8 mi away
Meadowlands Hotel
Meadowlands Hotel
#7 of 14 in Tralee
577 reviews
9.7 mi away
Manor West Hotel
Manor West Hotel
#4 of 14 in Tralee
836 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grand Hotel Tralee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand Hotel Tralee

Address: Denny Street, Tralee, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Tralee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Tralee
#4 Business Hotel in Tralee
#5 Romantic Hotel in Tralee
Price Range: $106 - $247 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Grand Hotel Tralee 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of Tralee, we are the ideal location for exploring the majestic South West of Ireland. Centred between Killarney & The Dingle Peninsula, we are the perfect spot for those who wish to see it all. A renovated Victorian house which honours its rich history with added modern décor & luxuries. The Grand Hotel stands on the site of The Great Castle of Tralee. The Grand hotel occupies the liveliest kitchen in Tralee. Recognised amongst locals and visitors for its superb service & delicious display of culinary art. We offer extensive menus in The Pikeman Bar and Samuel's Restaurant. We serve from the crack of dawn (7.30am) until the faint dusk (9.30pm.): Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner & everything in between! Our live music weekends are hosted Friday & Saturday with various performers. Our traditional Irish music sessions deem extremely popular. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Grand Hotel Tralee reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Tralee
Tralee Grand Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing