We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Interesting Stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Grand Hotel Tralee
Ranked #8 of 14 Hotels in Tralee
Certificate of Excellence
Chesterfield, NJ
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“An Interesting Stay!”
Reviewed February 11, 2014

We arrived here when the weather was on the cold side... which was evident outside the hotel as well as inside our room! The staff was very responsive, turning our heat up and eventually bringing us a space heater. We were on the third floor (there are no elevators- so be weary if you are with elderly or handicapped travelers), so maybe lower floors fared better. Sadly, the bed was not very comfortable. We ended up with a full size bed (and another bed in the room too), although I thought I had reserved a king size. I'm sure it was my own mistake. The room was spacious though, as was the bathroom. Very clean. The employees were very nice and the location was perfect. Right in the center of the city. We ate at the pub for a late lunch (good food/good value) and had the breakfast in the morning which was included in our package. Decent buffet followed by a hot meal. Again, good food, nothing too fancy. The waitress, restaurant mgr., desk clerk, bellman were all very professional and kind.

Room Tip: As there is no elevator, older travelers may need to specifically request a lower floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

861 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    530
    222
    64
    27
    18
See reviews for
200
261
49
75
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cork, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed February 10, 2014

The Grand hotel is ideally located in The centre of Tralee
Being welcomed by the warm open fire on a cold February evening and the equally welcoming manager on duty Eileen
I headed straight in to the lovely
Hotel bar to enjoy a pre dinner drink
Dinner in the hotel restaurant was excellent
We had lovely local Kerry beef with a lovely Malbec from Argentina
The hotel room was spotless and comfortable
All hotel staff were great
Looking forward to getting back again soon

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Glenflesk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2014

I booked this hotel because of tripadvisor comments and was a little disappointed. Some parts of the hotel are quite old, although our room was modern inside. There is no lift and we were on the third floor. Fantastic location close to the city center, helpful staff. Breakfast was really poor for the price we paid. Poor WIFI in our room. For less of that money you would get a nice B&B.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pepitopulpito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed January 28, 2014

Such comfort that can only be found at home, is in the heart of Tralee.Fantastic 2 nights and most welcomed by the staff. The atmosphere welcoming and the service was second to none. The staff were very helpful. The restaurant was clean and the food beautiful.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LyndaAM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
noida
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2014

This is third time i stayed in this hotel as i travel to Tralee at least once a year for business. This hotels is like one hard punch with power of excellent location (it seems like downtown was established around this hotel), cosy bar, always smiling staff with impeccable service and clean rooms. what else you need!!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank drvijaybhardwaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lima, Peru
1 review
Reviewed January 26, 2014

We were driving south just 12 hours ahead of the storms and floods (2 January) - arrived in Tralee tired at 8PM and found the Grand Hotel by chance (I need to read Trip Advisor in future! - it would take some of the pressure of arriving in a new town and having to look for a place to stay). What a wonderful place/experience - owners and staff are so friendly and helpful. We ate at the bar - just very good and simple food - we did not look for anything else in town - you could barely stand up with the wind. There were many other customers - surely a good sign?

I am extremely fussy, I travel continuously around the world. All I can say is that if you want a comfortable hotel, with the personal touch, you will not do much better. It is also wonderful that we can still enjoy these grand and elegant hotels - the Marriott is fine but you don't go there for the charm. Thank you so much - I hope that there is room for me the next time I come to Tralee!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank john_is_in_lima
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2014

Myself and my fiancé had a 2 night stay in this hotel for a wedding we were attending and we had a very nice time. The room was very nice – while basic – it was clean, tidy, comfortable and good value for what we got so I really wouldn’t complain. The staff were the nicest part of the stay. They really were very helpful in our dealings with them. From the young girl who served us our meal and drinks in the bar on Friday night to the ladies behind the reception desk who answered all our questions ad were very helpful.
I would certainly stay here again if I was in the area as it is a very nice hotel without being pretentious. Also we had a nice breakfast the next day.. although it may have been nicer if I hadn’t had a million pints of the back stuff the day before at the wedding!! But that is my fault! 

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wesst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tralee hotels
0.1 mi away
The Ashe Hotel
The Ashe Hotel
#2 of 14 in Tralee
606 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Rose Hotel
The Rose Hotel
#5 of 14 in Tralee
552 reviews
1.2 mi away
Manor West Hotel
Manor West Hotel
#3 of 14 in Tralee
755 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Meadowlands Hotel
Meadowlands Hotel
#7 of 14 in Tralee
519 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tralee Benners Hotel
Tralee Benners Hotel
#9 of 14 in Tralee
178 reviews
2.0 mi away
Ballygarry House Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grand Hotel Tralee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand Hotel Tralee

Property: The Grand Hotel Tralee
Address: Denny Street, Tralee, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Tralee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Tralee
#5 Romantic Hotel in Tralee
#6 Family Hotel in Tralee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Grand Hotel Tralee 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of Tralee, we are the ideal location for exploring the majestic South West of Ireland. Centred between Killarney & The Dingle Peninsula, we are the perfect spot for those who wish to see it all. A renovated Victorian house which honours its rich history with added modern décor & luxuries. The Grand Hotel stands on the site of The Great Castle of Tralee. The Grand hotel occupies the liveliest kitchen in Tralee. Recognised amongst locals and visitors for its superb service & delicious display of culinary art. We offer extensive menus in The Pikeman Bar and Samuel's Restaurant. We serve from the crack of dawn (7.30am) until the faint dusk (9.30pm.): Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner & everything in between! Our live music weekends are hosted Friday & Saturday with various performers. Our traditional Irish music sessions deem extremely popular. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda and Hotwire so you can book your The Grand Hotel Tralee reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Tralee
Tralee Grand Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing