We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Service” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Grand Hotel Tralee

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Grand Hotel Tralee
Ranked #7 of 14 Hotels in Tralee
Certificate of Excellence
Invermere, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2013

We spent a couple of nights here and recommend this establishment because the rooms are spaciouse, beds comfortable, linen clean & of good quality. The staff were always helpful & friendly. The location is perfect for visiting the sights of Tralee. The complimentary breakfast was yummy and filling, set us up for a wonderful day of seeing the sights. The bar/restaurant service was quick & friendly and the food was very good. We highly recommend The Grand Hotel Tralee.
Rachel King & Bob Garies of Invermere, BC Canada

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are quieter but the front ones have a fun view of Denny Street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachel K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandHotelTralee, General Manager at The Grand Hotel Tralee, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
Hi, we were delighted to read your recent review on Trip Advisor. Your comments have been well received by the Head Chef and his kitchen staff. Hope to see you again sometime soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

765 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    469
    196
    58
    24
    18
See reviews for
183
228
43
66
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2013

Our group just can't stop talking about our extremely pleasant experience at The Grand Hotel in Tralee. Mr. Dick Boyle and his superior staff go far out of their way to ensure everyone is completely satisfied while enjoying the comforts of this fine hotel. The dining, rooms and service are outstanding and you will definitely look forward to your return. We highly recommend the warm, friendly casual experience of Pikeman Bar. This Pub features some delicious dishes especially the feature burgers along with a pint of your choice it's a can't miss. if you get the opportunity don't miss out on this gem and if you want to play golf at a super club in the area, Tralee Golf Club is your spot- one of the best in all of Ireland. Enjoy! Parker Parsons, MD

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Parker P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandHotelTralee, General Manager at The Grand Hotel Tralee, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
Hi Parker, delighted to read your review on Trip Advisor. The management and staff in The Grand work as a team and it is a great source of satisfaction to them when they read a review such as yours. The “featured burgers” are our biggest seller, I think you have just mentioned why. Many visitors to Tralee Golf Club overnight at this Hotel and the feedback from them is that Tralee Golf Club is the number 1 Golf Club in Kerry.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork,Ire
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2013

My wife, daughter and I stayed here for 1 night and I was sorry that I didnt book a few extra nights....The manager,Dick Boyle,went above and beyond the call of duty to look after us and the other staff were just as helpful too.I couldnt find car parking near the hotel and Dick sacrificed his own space just so we could park there.....!!Dinner there was very good also and always a friendly face to make sure you were ok.The hotel itself is a throwback to the splendour of a different age when hotels were built to last and has a lovely 'feel' about it.I can honestly say that the breakfast was the best I have ever had in all my years travelling and is worth a trip for that alone.Looking forward to my next trip to Tralee and buying Dick a beer....thanks all.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gerard O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandHotelTralee, General Manager at The Grand Hotel Tralee, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
Hi, thank you so much for your wonderful review on Trip Advisor. The management and staff are delighted to hear that your stay was a positive experience. We put a lot of emphasis on the quality of our breakfast which is proving to be a big hit with our visitors. We have resolved our car parking issue. Hope to see you again sometime soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here a few nights. It was walking distance from the train, and centrally located in pretty Tralee. The pub was nice, filled with locals and had 'Trad Irish Music' one night. The front desk was very helpful, the room comfortable and rather spacious, and clean. The dining room was good, full of middle aged convivial travelers. The price was reasonable. No complaints.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank dsjadams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandHotelTralee, General Manager at The Grand Hotel Tralee, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
Delighted to hear that you were pleased with your recent stay at the Hotel. Our town centre location is very convenient for both locals and visitors. We would be delighted to welcome you back on your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2013

I always call in when in Tralee,either for the Rose or just visiting family. The food is good,the cafe is great for a bite and a cup of tea and the hotel itself is beautiful. The staff are always friendly and helpful and the manager,Dick,is always rushing around helping people. Stop off in Tralee if you're heading out to Dingle or if you're on a tour of the west. Enjoy the rose garden and the museum as well as the windmill at Blennerville.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandHotelTralee, General Manager at The Grand Hotel Tralee, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
Delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay. The reputation of The Grand Hotel is based on great location, great quality, service and the friendliness of its staff. A lot of our visitors enjoy the Rose Garden which is just beside the Hotel. Hope to see you sometime soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tralee, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2013

Staff in the bar only ok!!! I didnt even finished my lunch when there was a waitress with an old lady waiting for me to leave!!! You get better service and respect for costumers in any fast food in Tralee, plus the location of tables in the bar makes you feel like everyone sitting on top of each other. I must say food was lovely, but service.....pay your bill and dont even think to stay there a minute longer-thats their attitude,very disappointed.

Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Marry590
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ithaca, New York
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2013

A very nice 'old' style hotel. Check in service was great. No elevators, but they took our bags up.
Rooms were comfortable and clean. Our window opened up to the alley and there was a bit of smell of garbage. Great location in the town of Tralee, but the hotel itself took us awhile to find due to one way streets. We ate at the hotel and had a good meal. Breakfast was also good/

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lacburns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tralee hotels
0.1 mi away
The Ashe Hotel
The Ashe Hotel
#2 of 14 in Tralee
4.5 of 5 bubbles 377 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Rose Hotel
The Rose Hotel
#8 of 14 in Tralee
4.0 of 5 bubbles 881 reviews
2.0 mi away
Ballygarry House Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Benners Hotel
Benners Hotel
#9 of 14 in Tralee
4.5 of 5 bubbles 144 reviews
0.8 mi away
Meadowlands Hotel
Meadowlands Hotel
#6 of 14 in Tralee
4.5 of 5 bubbles 435 reviews
2.6 mi away
Ballyseede Castle
Ballyseede Castle
#5 of 14 in Tralee
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,037 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grand Hotel Tralee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand Hotel Tralee

Property: The Grand Hotel Tralee
Address: Denny Street, Tralee, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Tralee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Tralee
#5 Romantic Hotel in Tralee
#6 Family Hotel in Tralee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Grand Hotel Tralee 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A very popular spot with both guests and locals in keeping with the ambiance of the hotel it is a traditional style pub. we offer a lively breakfast & Coffee morning our in house French pastry Chef will tempt you with his freshly baked scones Irish Brown Bread Pastries and desserts. Our bar food menu is second to none and offers a wide and extensive choice to cater all tastes. The bar is a lively place to enjoy a pint & a chat at the end of a busy day. We also have a very popular Traditional Irish Music Session every Friday night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your The Grand Hotel Tralee reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Tralee
Tralee Grand Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing