We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very clean, modernised with old world charm” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Grand Hotel Tralee

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Grand Hotel Tralee to your Saves list
The Grand Hotel Tralee
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Denny Street, Tralee, Ireland   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 14 Hotels in Tralee
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Very clean, modernised with old world charm”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013 via mobile

Stayed on business. Situated in centre of town, proper Irish bar and good restaurant. Modern rooms with large bed and large ensuite. Excellent free wifi. Very comfortable, very friendly. Will definitely be returning.

Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank PaulFG247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grandTralee, General Manager at The Grand Hotel Tralee, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Thank you Paul for your kind comments on Trip Advisor.
Delighted to read that you found our Wifi to your satisfaction as we have only recently updated our system.
We hope to meet you again sometime soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

707 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    436
    180
    52
    22
    17
See reviews for
158
207
42
64
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
St. John's, Newfoundland, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

My friend and I recently accompanied my daughter who was the Newfoundland Rose of Tralee representative at the 2013 festival in August 2013. We stayed at the Grand Hotel and the name suited in perfectly GRAND!! We were at the heart of this beautiful town, with the hospitality of wonderful staff! Dick, the owner actually remembers your name and made us feel like we were regulars in his bar!!! I'll be back!!!

Room Tip: Overlooking Denny St.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Erica H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grandTralee, General Manager at The Grand Hotel Tralee, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor.
I remember these two ladies very well and am delighted to read that they enjoyed their stay at the Grand Hotel. You state in your review that you will be back, do let us know when as we would be delighted to meet you again, hopefully sometime soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cavan
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

Stayed in Grand Hotel in Tralee for 1 night while on short break ,it was so welcoming and had such a great selection of food we decided to stay a second night . The staff are lovely, friendly, helpful and polite. The breakfast was the nicest we have had anywhere,and their scramble sunrise was the best ever.Excellent value for money would have no hesitation in recommending this place to anyone .

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ElizabethCavan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grandTralee, General Manager at The Grand Hotel Tralee, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Delighted to read your review on Trip Advisor. Great to read that your Scrambled Sunrise satisfied your taste buds. Hopefully we shall get the opportunity to meet again sometime soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

I stayed in the Grand Hotel when Kerry were playing in the run up to the All Ireland, so there was a great buzz in the hotel. The rooms were clean and spacious. The food and the service in the bar was first class. Most importantly for me was the courtesy shown at the reception desk by the staff . Nothing was too much trouble and they went out of their way to facilitate my requests. I definitely will be back to stay in this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Margaret29065458
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grandTralee, General Manager at The Grand Hotel Tralee, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Thank you for your comments on Trip Advisor which was received by the staff especially reception staff. We have recently analyses previous comments on ‘Trip Advisor’ and it’s very pleasant to see that the girls on reception have received a lot of positive feedback. Hopefully we shall get the opportunity to meet again sometime soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danbury, Connecticut
Level Contributor
52 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We stayed here for one night while passing through. The hotel is beautiful and the room was spacious and nicely decorated. The bathroom was very new and beautiful. The only drawback was that our room was in the front of the hotel on the main street above the restaurant which had outdoor seating and it was very noisy late into the night. There is also no elevator but they will help you up with your luggage. We did eat in the restaurant and it was very good. Also the included breakfast was great.

Room Tip: Ask for one away from the front of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sharo13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grandTralee, General Manager at The Grand Hotel Tralee, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Thank you for your kind words on Trip Advisor.
We have noted your comments regarding the noise emanating from the street and this issue has been dealt with. Thank you for bringing this to our attention and hopefully we shall meet again sometime soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork
Level Contributor
27 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

Booked that day online for 79 euro for a double room on a Thursday night, lovely early Victorian hotel with original features, friendly and helpful staff. Lots of character, stairs and rooms going off everywhere. There is no lift/ elevator as it is an old building but I believe ground floor rooms are available. Parking is 2 minutes walk away, you get a permit from the hotel for a 20 euro deposit which you get back upon returning the permit. The room was spacious and had a double, a single and a fold up bed also, nice old style furniture, very clean, tea and coffee in room as well as tv. We were at the back of the hotel without a view which was no problem as the room was airy and quiet. The Pikeman restaurant at the hotel was busy and popular, reasonably priced with good bar food fare. Breakfast was included, there were cereals, breads, yoghurt, fruit and juice available at the buffet and tea/coffee and hot food are served at your table including the full Irish, mini grill, eggs cooked however you want and a vegetarian breakfast was available as well. Overall, a gem of a hotel right in the centre of Tralee town and close to all amenities, good service and good value. I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kellsbellscork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grandTralee, General Manager at The Grand Hotel Tralee, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Thank you for your kind words on Trip advisor.
It’s good to read that your experience was a pleasant one. Our location and parking arrangements are well received by all our guests and you are correct in saying that the Hotel is very popular to local customers and our food is very popular with both visiting and local trade. Thank you once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tipperary, Ireland
Level Contributor
53 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

The hotel is old and quaint with nice furniture and gorgeous antiques. The staff are pleasant. The decor in the bedroom was mismatched and dated. Our room was quite small. The bathroom toilet squeaked non-stop when it was in use but the shower was fantastic! The street was quiet during the day and very noisy at night until almost 5am. I was woken up with the noise outside and the noise inside. If people passed the bedroom door you could hear them and their conversations. I was also awoken by the people on the floor above us. There seemed to be no sound proofing between the floors and when the occupants crossed their floor it sounded like a stampede. The wifi was awful and cut in and out constantly. We had dinner in the front bar and the food was very good but not fantastic. I was more impressed by the breakfast we had the next morning. There was a great selection of food and the staff serving us were exceptional hosts. There was no elevator however the receptionist offered help with bringing our bags to our rooms. I would return if I got a quieter room.

Room Tip: Try to get a quiet room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tiptopski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grandTralee, General Manager at The Grand Hotel Tralee, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Thank you for your comments on Trip Advisor.
One of the issues with being a town centre hotel is the level of noise from passing traffic and the people on the street, which can impact the quality of sleep that customers at the front of the hotel can experience. Hopefully if you choose to return, please state that you would like a quite room.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tralee hotels
0.1 mi away
The Ashe Hotel
The Ashe Hotel
#2 of 14 in Tralee
4.5 of 5 stars 235 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Rose Hotel
The Rose Hotel
#8 of 14 in Tralee
4.0 of 5 stars 784 reviews
2.0 mi away
Ballygarry House Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Manor West Hotel
Manor West Hotel
#6 of 14 in Tralee
4.5 of 5 stars 518 reviews
0.8 mi away
Meadowlands Hotel
Meadowlands Hotel
#4 of 14 in Tralee
4.5 of 5 stars 370 reviews
0.1 mi away
Benners Hotel
Benners Hotel
#9 of 14 in Tralee
4.5 of 5 stars 89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grand Hotel Tralee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand Hotel Tralee

Property: The Grand Hotel Tralee
Address: Denny Street, Tralee, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Tralee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Tralee
#5 Romantic Hotel in Tralee
#6 Family Hotel in Tralee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Grand Hotel Tralee 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A very popular spot with both guests and locals in keeping with the ambiance of the hotel it is a traditional style pub. we offer a lively breakfast & Coffee morning our in house French pastry Chef will tempt you with his freshly baked scones Irish Brown Bread Pastries and desserts. Our bar food menu is second to none and offers a wide and extensive choice to cater all tastes. The bar is a lively place to enjoy a pint & a chat at the end of a busy day. We also have a very popular Traditional Irish Music Session every Friday night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your The Grand Hotel Tralee reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Tralee
Tralee Grand Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing