We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Grand Hotel Tralee
Ranked #8 of 14 Hotels in Tralee
Certificate of Excellence
Clearwater, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
162 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 542 helpful votes
“Nice place”
Reviewed November 7, 2012

The staff was very accommodating and friendly. Special kudos to Tina. The room was clean. The pillows were kinda hard but I noticed at the front desk that they do have alternative pillow selections available. Had to untuck the tightly tucked sheets before I got into bed. Towel issue resolved quickly. I was in room 106, which was small but adequate for one person. Desk level electric outlets available (but you had to unplug other things in order to use.) The bathroom had a nice size vanity to spread out all my stuff, but the lighting was not effective for good makeup application. No lift/elevator, but luggage was carried to room at check-in. Well-used restaurant/bar. Occasional traditional music in late evening. The food I had was really good. Good location in town center. 10 minute walk from bus station. Lovely "Roses of Tralee" park a short walk away. Classic small hotel. Please see my photos for more information. I would stay here again. If you found my review helpful, please click on "yes." Thanks.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kitchenchemist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandHotelTralee, General Manager at The Grand Hotel Tralee, responded to this review, January 27, 2013
Thank you for taking time out to post comments on Trip Advisor. The few issues that you have raised are very easily overcomed but we are very grateful to you for bringing them to our attention.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

861 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    530
    222
    64
    27
    18
See reviews for
200
261
49
75
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Limerick, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2012

I travel around the country alot for work however being from limerick and living a mere two hours away from Tralee I had planned to return home that evening, unfortunately I got held up much later then anticipated. Having been up since 6 that morning I was shattered and decided to at least look into booking a hotel for the night if it wasnt too expensive! I had eaten in 'The Grand' earlier that day and enjoyed my meal so it was the first place I tried. The girl on the phone was friendly and helpful she booked me into a double room on the first floor for a great price. I arrived less then 30mins after making my booking and the same girl at the front desk gave me advice as to where to pick up any essentials I would need for the night as I had not packed anything. All in all my stay in the grand hotel was a flying visit however the next time I'm in Tralee again it will be my first port of call, the room was clean ,staff were friendly and the food downstairs was great.( I had the fajitas,delicious!!!!)

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sarah744
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandHotelTralee, General Manager at The Grand Hotel Tralee, responded to this review, January 27, 2013
Lovely to hear your comments on Trip Advisor. The next time your passing through Tralee, call in and make yourself know to management. We would only be too glad to welcome you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
christchurch
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2012

recently spent a few days at the Grand Hotel whilst playing golf at Tralee Golf Club. Excellent hotel with brilliant staff. Rooms very comfortable and value for money. The adjoining bar couldnt have accomodated us any better and the food is 5 star. Many thanks to all the staff who helped make our trip all the more enjoyable. We will be back.

Room Tip: all the rooms I same were great
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank xchdave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandHotelTralee, General Manager at The Grand Hotel Tralee, responded to this review, January 27, 2013
Thank you for your comments on Trip Advisor. The Hotel is indeed very popular with visitors to Tralee Golf Club, they often comment on the convenience of a town centre location. The Head Chef is delighted with your “food is 5 stars” comment. We hope he doesn’t get a swelled head. Hope to welcome you back sometime soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limerick,Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Stayed in early november,great location and free parking. Decor is a bit dated in the lobby and common areas but the rooms are more up to date. Cooked breakfast was just ok but staff are very friendly and the pub is lively

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kilteely
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandHotelTralee, General Manager at The Grand Hotel Tralee, responded to this review, January 27, 2013
Very grateful to you for posting your comments on Trip Advisor. Glad to hear that you were able to avail of our “new parking arrangements”. Hope to see you again sometime soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
236 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 216 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2012

I never stayed in the Grand Hotel but did pop in for a quick lunch last month. Always a fan of sea food I ordered their seafood chowder, It might have been the best I have ever tasted, and the portion was enough to feed me for the day. If you are fussy about your sea food, visit the Grand the next time you are in Tralee. You will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank corkdave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandHotelTralee, General Manager at The Grand Hotel Tralee, responded to this review, November 25, 2012
Delighted to hear that you were pleased with our seafood chowder. Our Head Chef Pat was thrilled with your comments and has passed on your remarks to the rest of his team. Hope to see you again sometime soon.

Dick Boyle
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cork
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed October 28, 2012

We re-visited the Grand Hotel Tralee recently during a very busy week-end. After having a fine freshly cooked breakfast we were set up for the day. We always returned to the Pikeman Bar for our evening meal. The serving time here is so fast and the food and always freshly prepared. The staff always makes time for a smile and a chat. Live music at weekends by local musicians we felt relaxed and well looked after.
Joan /Anne

Room Tip: first floor is best
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anne o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandHotelTralee, General Manager at The Grand Hotel Tralee, responded to this review, November 25, 2012
Thank you ladies for your very positive feedback on Trip Advisor. Our live music on Friday & Saturday is proving to be a big success. Hope to welcome you back again sometime soon.

Dick Boyle
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dublin
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2012

Stayed here for a night in September, very central hotel but a bit dated, no elevator and very narrow corridors. staff were helpful and breakfast was very good. ate in the bar on the evening of our arrival, very nice steak sandwich...

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fran3632
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandHotelTralee, General Manager at The Grand Hotel Tralee, responded to this review, November 25, 2012
Thank you for your comments on Trip Advisor. Delighted to hear that you were pleased with your food at the Hotel both for breakfast and dinner. Unfortunately we are unable to find a suitable location in the Hotel for a lift due to the fact that we are a listed building of immense historical importance. We are in negotiation with the town planners and hope to resolve this matter shortly.

Dick Boyle
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tralee hotels
0.1 mi away
The Ashe Hotel
The Ashe Hotel
#2 of 14 in Tralee
606 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Rose Hotel
The Rose Hotel
#5 of 14 in Tralee
553 reviews
1.2 mi away
Manor West Hotel
Manor West Hotel
#3 of 14 in Tralee
755 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Meadowlands Hotel
Meadowlands Hotel
#7 of 14 in Tralee
520 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tralee Benners Hotel
Tralee Benners Hotel
#9 of 14 in Tralee
178 reviews
2.0 mi away
Ballygarry House Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grand Hotel Tralee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand Hotel Tralee

Property: The Grand Hotel Tralee
Address: Denny Street, Tralee, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Tralee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Tralee
#5 Romantic Hotel in Tralee
#6 Family Hotel in Tralee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Grand Hotel Tralee 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of Tralee, we are the ideal location for exploring the majestic South West of Ireland. Centred between Killarney & The Dingle Peninsula, we are the perfect spot for those who wish to see it all. A renovated Victorian house which honours its rich history with added modern décor & luxuries. The Grand Hotel stands on the site of The Great Castle of Tralee. The Grand hotel occupies the liveliest kitchen in Tralee. Recognised amongst locals and visitors for its superb service & delicious display of culinary art. We offer extensive menus in The Pikeman Bar and Samuel's Restaurant. We serve from the crack of dawn (7.30am) until the faint dusk (9.30pm.): Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner & everything in between! Our live music weekends are hosted Friday & Saturday with various performers. Our traditional Irish music sessions deem extremely popular. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Grand Hotel Tralee reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Tralee
Tralee Grand Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing