We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“In the Middle of it all” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Grand Hotel Tralee

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Grand Hotel Tralee
Ranked #8 of 14 Hotels in Tralee
Certificate of Excellence
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
902 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 584 helpful votes
“In the Middle of it all”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2012

We stopped by on a Thursday for a one night stay.
Finding this property in the center of Tralee wasn't difficult, finding a parking spot at eight in the evening was.
It seemed as if everybody in town was patronizing the Grand Hotel. I was meeting my son there
and he had already checked in.
I was traveling with my two nephews. Everyone here was friendly and welcoming, specially Michelle at the front desk.
We decided to have dinner at their nifty old-school Irish bar. There was some serious craic there.
Our barmen and waitresses were excellent, very friendly and efficient.
The food was delicious.
The rooms are typical Irish country Inn style. You are take back to another era when service was important.
As an added bonus we received a special price for green fees at the fine Dooks golf Course.
The Grand hotel was.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bobemac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandHotelTralee, General Manager at The Grand Hotel Tralee, responded to this review, September 24, 2012
Bob, thank you for your kind words on Trip Advisor. The staff were especially delighted to hear your favourable comments on both service and food quality. Seeing that you mentioned the parking it is worth stating that we have come to an arrangement where our customers can park free of charge in a parking lot very convenient to the Hotel. The procedure is, there is a 20 minute drop zone outside the Hotel and after you check in you can bring your car to this parking lot which is a 2-3 minutes walk from the Hotel.
Thank you once again for your kind words.

Dick Boyle
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

799 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    494
    204
    59
    24
    18
See reviews for
189
237
45
72
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
ireland
Level Contributor
146 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2012

The Grand Hotel, is a long established family run hotel in Tralee Town Centre. It has an excellent reputation due to the careful management of the Boyle family. I regularly recommend it to business travellers and they have never been let down. The location in Tralee town centre is unequalled and while the hotel does not have the facilities available for larger sub urban hotels. I would recommend to any traveller for any purpose.

Room Tip: Ask for the best room available
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank johnmfenit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandHotelTralee, General Manager at The Grand Hotel Tralee, responded to this review, September 24, 2012
John, delighted to read your review on Trip Advisor. As you quiet rightly mentioned we do get a lot of business travellers. This business has grown significantly since we upgraded our Wi-Fi. Our location in Tralee Town Centre is ideal for buses, trains, the airport etc.
Thank you once again.

Dick Boyle
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterford, Waterford, Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2012

I recently stayed in the Grand hotel for 3 weeks. I was delivering a course in the hotel and staying there so I got an excellent overview of the hotel.

Although I travel around the country delivering courses this is the first time that I felt compelled to review.
The standard of service that I received in the hotel was excellent - unlike most hotels I stay in the staff all want to be there and are genuinely interested in making you stay as comfortable as possible. On a number of occasions I worked late in the evenings and when staff saw this they insisted on giving me complementary coffee etc. Also, unlike most modern day hotels there always seems to be plenty of staff on hand.

The food in the Grand is also excellent and is a reason in itself to stay there - from breakfast through to evening meals. I also noticed that the bar and restaurant are heavily frequented by locals - always a good sign and good for atmosphere.

Rooms were of a very high standard and cleaned with fresh towels / sheets daily.
The hotel is located right in the heart of Tralee.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandHotelTralee, General Manager at The Grand Hotel Tralee, responded to this review, September 24, 2012
Thank you John for your wonderful review on Trip Advisor. We do cater for a lot of conferences and the Hotel is placing a lot of emphasis on this area, hence the provision of free parking. We passed your comments onto each member of staff and to say that they were delighted is an understatement. Hope to see you again sometime soon.
Kind Regards.

Dick Boyle
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dundalk ireland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2012

Just stayed four nights in The Grand Hotel, Tralee for the festival. This is a gem of a hotel,
Eileen the Duty Manager really looks after guests requesting meals in the dining room. This was
a very busy weekend but the hotel had plenty of staff on duty. The food in this hotel is top-class, our breakfast served perfectly, and we ate all our evening meals in this hotel, the food and
presentation of same to a very good standard.
I can honestly say, this hotel is lovely and clean with a good buzz around it.
Would recommend this hotel.
Margaret from Co.Louth.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank margaret850
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandHotelTralee, General Manager at The Grand Hotel Tralee, responded to this review, September 24, 2012
Thank you Margaret for your recent comments on Trip Advisor. Delighted to hear that you enjoyed The Grand Hotel and Rose of Tralee festivities. Our Town Centre Location is ideal for enjoying the festival activities. Great to hear that you enjoyed the food. Our Head Chef was delighted to hear your comments.
Hope to see you again sometime soon.

Dick Boyle
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2012

Was at Grand Hotel on Monday 20th August for an evening meal with two others. Our starters
were quite nice. For two of the party the main course was extremely disappointing, Ordered
roast beef, well done, and when it arrived it was grey in colour, tasteless and tough. I reckon
it was heated in the mircrowave and gravy poured over it to cover it up..The veg were so hard
we could not put either a knife or fork into the cauliflower and the Yorkshire pudding was a
complete solid lump of batter. Also, one of the waitresses who served our table had chipped
nail varnish on both hands. So much for hygiene !!!! On paying for our meal we were asked
how it was and when we replied " only ok" this comments was not even picked up on. But the
worst was to come. We visited the ladies on the ground floor to discover it was "OUT OF ORDER" and a notice directed us to toilets on the first floor. On arrival we found the toilets
filthy, the floors filthy and there was not toilet roll. We returned to reception to inform them
and also we got was a smile!!! I could not believe this. This is one of the busiest weeks of the
year in Tralee and this was what was on offer. Of all the places in Talee that we could have
chosen. So "never again" is my motto when it comes to The Grand Hotel in Tralee.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Phyl K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandHotelTralee, General Manager at The Grand Hotel Tralee, responded to this review, September 6, 2012
We were disappointed to read on Tripadvisor that you had an unpleasant experience at this hotel during the Rose Festival.

If the Duty Manager was made aware on the night that you did not enjoy your meal and if you had expressed your concerns to her there and then, she would not have charged you for your meal, more especially if you hadn’t eaten it.

As a genuine user of Tripadvisor, I am sure you have read previous and up to date reviews on this Hotel and specifically the comments that relate to our food and service. We are pleased to say that we consistently receive very positive feedback on our food and our business very much depends on repeat customers.

Your comment in relation to the ladies toilets is well made but we feel that it is important that you are made aware that the town of Tralee as a whole experienced severe water shortage during Festival week and the solution to the problem was somewhat out of our control. You would be doing this Hotel and the people of Tralee a great service if you made your comments known to Tralee UDC.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
phillystravels
Level Contributor
126 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2012

Went here saturday night for dinner during the height of the Rose of Tralee festival We had eaten here last year and were totally disappointed with both the food and service at a much quieter time of the year We had vowed at the time never to return but decided to give it another try as we could not get anywhere else last minute We were pleased with both food and service this time round I had the lamb chops which was served with a very good rosemary jus washed down with a nice bottle of wine with homemade baked alaska to follow Worth a try

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank phillystravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2012

The Grand Hotel was a great stop in the center of Tralee. I was on a golfing vacation with my two sons and we came late on the Bank Holiday weekend. The hotel was nearly full, but Edel was able to squeeze us in for the night. This was fortunate, as all the other hotels in the area were fully booked. The hotel itself is very nice, with large rooms and comfortable beds. However I found that the internet signal was very solid, to the point where I could access our slingbox from home and watch our baseball team (albeit at 1AM). We had a great time there and subsequently returned for another 2 night stay. Everyone was extremely friendly, including Eileen and Dick. I would highly recommend the Grand to anyone coming to Tralee.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank daniel m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandHotelTralee, General Manager at The Grand Hotel Tralee, responded to this review, August 18, 2012
Hi David,

Thank you for your great review on Trip Advisor. We remember you and your two golfers well. We were pleased to hear that you are a repeat visitor. Its good to hear that you were pleased with the internet signal as we have only recently updated our WiFi. The feedback from our customers has been good.

Hopefully we will see you sometime soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tralee hotels
0.1 mi away
The Ashe Hotel
The Ashe Hotel
#2 of 14 in Tralee
4.5 of 5 bubbles 445 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Rose Hotel
The Rose Hotel
#6 of 14 in Tralee
4.5 of 5 bubbles 278 reviews
2.0 mi away
Ballygarry House Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Meadowlands Hotel
Meadowlands Hotel
#7 of 14 in Tralee
4.5 of 5 bubbles 471 reviews
0.1 mi away
Benners Hotel
Benners Hotel
#9 of 14 in Tralee
4.5 of 5 bubbles 151 reviews
1.2 mi away
Manor West Hotel
Manor West Hotel
#3 of 14 in Tralee
4.5 of 5 bubbles 641 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grand Hotel Tralee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand Hotel Tralee

Property: The Grand Hotel Tralee
Address: Denny Street, Tralee, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Tralee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Tralee
#5 Romantic Hotel in Tralee
#6 Family Hotel in Tralee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Grand Hotel Tralee 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A very popular spot with both guests and locals in keeping with the ambiance of the hotel it is a traditional style pub. we offer a lively breakfast & Coffee morning our in house French pastry Chef will tempt you with his freshly baked scones Irish Brown Bread Pastries and desserts. Our bar food menu is second to none and offers a wide and extensive choice to cater all tastes. The bar is a lively place to enjoy a pint & a chat at the end of a busy day. We also have a very popular Traditional Irish Music Session every Friday night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your The Grand Hotel Tralee reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Tralee
Tralee Grand Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing