We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel. The best”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Grand Hotel Tralee
Ranked #8 of 14 Hotels in Tralee
Certificate of Excellence
Portland, Oregon
1 review
“Great hotel. The best”
Reviewed March 27, 2011

Walked right in and got a great room, great service and I shook the hand of the prime miniver end a kjinny,, I left my leather coat in the room and they sent it to me n.c all the way to Oregon. And. I will be back , I work for. Trale . Com. So I had to visit.. Dan

Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank DanofLayered
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

836 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    518
    214
    61
    25
    18
See reviews for
194
252
47
74
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (145)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2011

My boyfriend and I went to Ireland to work on our small historical building in a nearby village in Dec. Due to the unbelievably cold weather we could not stay at the building so we checked into The Grand Hotel. Even though it was freezing cold in Ireland, we had the most wonderful time. The owner, Dick Boyle, welcomed us as if we were part of his family. Each morning we had the most amazing breakfast in the beautiful dining room. The cost of the breakfast was included in the rate of the hotel. Incredibly fair! We learned that the eggs actually came from owner Dick's own chickens - wow so delicious. The fireplaces were always a glow and we truly felt we had an Irish experience. We loved all the staff including manager Eileen, Claire, Betty et al. Go to the Grand. You will not be disappointed!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hannahhempstead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandHotelTralee, Manager at The Grand Hotel Tralee, responded to this review, February 24, 2011
We were all delighted to read your kind words. The hotel offers a family friendly, hands on management style and is very proud to receive so many comments that compliment the friendly nature of the hospitality that is offered to all guests that visit The Grand Hotel.
Our Breakfast is cooked to order every morning and is very well received.
We look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina
2 reviews
Reviewed January 31, 2011

The service at the hotel was great, food was fantastic. The rooms were well maintained and clean. Finding the hotel was easy, leaving and getting onto the motorway was a little confusing. The staff and the owner, Dick Boyle made us feel part of there family. I would recommend staying in the Grand Hotel.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sail136
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2011

A very pleasant, old-fashioned, centrally-located hotel in Tralee. Spotless rooms, friendly and very helpful staff, and good rates. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BOS33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandHotelTralee, Owner at The Grand Hotel Tralee, responded to this review, January 30, 2011
Thank you for your kind review. I have passed on your comments to all the staff. Delighted to hear you were pleased with your bed room as we have only recently re-furbished them,

Hope to see you again.

Dick Boyle
Owner/ Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed January 10, 2011

We took a football team to Kerry for a training weekend and found this hotel to be one of the most suitable we've ever stayed in. It is centrally located with many GAA facilities available nearby and Banna beach a short drive away. The staff and management couldn't have been more helpful. Meal times were adjustable to suit our programme and we were consulted on any dietary requirements of the panel. Food was of the highest quality. A conference room was provided throughout our stay with video and data projector facilities- ideal for team meetings and video analysis. We will definitely be back to this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AMoyCCRi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandHotelTralee, Owner at The Grand Hotel Tralee, responded to this review, January 30, 2011
Thank you Aidan for your kind words. Everybody at the hotel is delighted to read your review. We are always delighted to welcome large visitor groups as the hotel is ideally suited for those who wish to see what Tralee has to offer.

Dick Boyle.
Owner / Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hastings, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed January 4, 2011

We stayed at the Grand Hotel in December and could not have wished for a more warm and welcoming atmosphere. It is a beautiful georgian building with impressive interior, yet still cosy. The hotel bar is everything you would imagine an Irish bar to be, friendly, great food, helpful and attentive staff even though it gets very busy serving everyone from suited businessmen to families with small children. It is our first port of call when visiting Ireland, which is often!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lily14101066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandHotelTralee, Owner at The Grand Hotel Tralee, responded to this review, January 30, 2011
Thank you for your kind words, it was very thoughtfulof you. Glad to her that you were pleased with the bar and the food on offer. All our food is sourced locally and cooked fresh every day as you can see it is very popular with the locals and visitors. Our food keeps people coming back to the hotel time after time, The two open fires in the bar are very welcoming and attract a lot of attention from our customers.

Thank you again.

Dick Boyle.
Owner / Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
117 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2011

Staying for one night we found our double room small but comfortable. Very clean, beds and pillows slightly hard. The bathroom extractor fan still not working, and a good climb up 2 flights of stairs with luggage! The highlight was breakfast and dinner: excellent value, fresh, hot, warm plates. Generally service was pretty good. Tralee itself was pretty forgettable, would not stay again but would recommend this hotel
for a stopover. Nice Irish bar with a good buzz, great looking bar food..Guinness not as smooth as it could have been.

  • Stayed December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DINKYBoyandGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tralee hotels
0.1 mi away
The Ashe Hotel
The Ashe Hotel
#2 of 14 in Tralee
521 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Rose Hotel
The Rose Hotel
#5 of 14 in Tralee
432 reviews
2.0 mi away
Ballygarry House Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Meadowlands Hotel
Meadowlands Hotel
#7 of 14 in Tralee
506 reviews
10.4 mi away
Manor West Hotel
Manor West Hotel
#3 of 14 in Tralee
697 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tralee Benners Hotel
Tralee Benners Hotel
#9 of 14 in Tralee
167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grand Hotel Tralee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand Hotel Tralee

Property: The Grand Hotel Tralee
Address: Denny Street, Tralee, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Tralee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Tralee
#5 Romantic Hotel in Tralee
#6 Family Hotel in Tralee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Grand Hotel Tralee 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of Tralee, we are the ideal location for exploring the majestic South West of Ireland. Centred between Killarney & The Dingle Peninsula, we are the perfect spot for those who wish to see it all. A renovated Victorian house which honours its rich history with added modern décor & luxuries. The Grand Hotel stands on the site of The Great Castle of Tralee. The Grand hotel occupies the liveliest kitchen in Tralee. Recognised amongst locals and visitors for its superb service & delicious display of culinary art. We offer extensive menus in The Pikeman Bar and Samuel's Restaurant. We serve from the crack of dawn (7.30am) until the faint dusk (9.30pm.): Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner & everything in between! Our live music weekends are hosted Friday & Saturday with various performers. Our traditional Irish music sessions deem extremely popular. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your The Grand Hotel Tralee reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Tralee
Tralee Grand Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing