We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant value in a lovely hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ballygarry House Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Tralee
Certificate of Excellence
County Kerry, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
92 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Brilliant value in a lovely hotel”
Reviewed November 5, 2009

Stayed recently with my best friend for a spa day/night. Paid E150 for 1 night Bed, Breakfast & Dinner plus a 45 minute treatment in the spa and full use of the spa facilities to include outdoor hot tub. Fantastic value. Food was just gorgeous, ate both in the bar and restaurant. Service was great but staff in the lovely restaurant were just rushing about the whole time so not very relaxing and not enough time between courses. There was a wedding there the day we booked in so it was hectic at reception with only one poor frazzled receptionist on duty so we couldn't check in when we arrived but were quite happy to go into the bar for lunch as our treatment wasn't booked until 3. Our room was lovely, very big with a very spacious bathroom and robes and slippers for the spa. The staff in the spa were just lovely, in particular Bridget, and the treatment rooms were very relaxing and dimly lit. The relaxation room was really nice but would have been so much better is that was also dimly lit as a big glass window overlooked a garden where people could walk past. After my teatment I got offered the usual herbal teas but also I was offered a smoothie or a cup of tea or coffee which was nice with a few chocolate mints on the side of my cup! Situation wise its ideal if you don't want to move outside the hotel but if you want to go shopping in Tralee you'll have to drive as its alittle distance away from the town but much closer to Manor Shopping Park. Overall a lovely stay and wouldn't hesitate to go back.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bonniegirl08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,342 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,058
    210
    49
    16
    9
See reviews for
334
527
34
122
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (223)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tipperary
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed October 28, 2009

This hotel is top class and deserves it's 4 star rating. It's spotlessly clean and very comfortable. The rooms are a very generous size and very well decorated and kept. The double rooms have 6ft beds!! The bathroom is very spacious and very clean with bath, seperate shower and twin sinks. Our room overlooked the garden and was a lovey quiet location. The food was fabulous in both the restaurant and the bar. The staff are very and welcoming. Breakfast was lovely every day and you had a great choice in the buffet and the hot food menu.

The spa is heavenly and very relaxing. I used the steam room, sauna, outdoor hot tub and the relaxation room. Top class facilities.

The only negatives if any, it's not a hotel for children as there is no pool or kids club, I would recommend it as an adults escape from the kids!!!. It is slightly outside the town of Tralee so you would need a car.

For relaxation, good food, to get away from it all and touring Kerry it's an ideal hotel. I can't praise it enough.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MunsterFanTipperary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, CA
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2009

Ballygarry House was the best hotel we stayed in during our two weeks in Ireland. Most of the hotels seemed to be overrated by a star, but Ballygarry deserved its 4 stars. Big room and bathroom (two sinks!), the only place we got luxury towels rather than thin small ones. We wished we'd arrived earlier to be able to take advantage of the spa facilities or stayed more than one night. Dinner in the restaurant was also the best we had on the trip.

It's a country house; so, it's not walking distance to anyplace, but the gardens are pretty. Although it's right off a highway, traffic noise was not a problem.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bertram-Ernest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
floral park NY
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2009

For a little more than I had been paying for bed & breakfasts across Ireland I stayed at this beautiful hotel in Tralee. Will Definitely stay here again when I return to Tralee.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rfd2112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2009

We stayed here for a wedding. Got a great deal on the internet of €100.00 for the room. The room was spacious and above average in decor, but nothing fancy. The bathroom was quite ordinary. The hotel itself is cosy, with lots of little seating areas scattered throughout the building, which are very inviting. The breakfast was average - buffet cooked breakfast, rather than freshly cooked, decaf coffee was instant rather than filter...

My main complaint is the noise during the night from the wedding - the DJ played until late and it effectively sounded like he was in my room. I didn't feel in a position to complain, as I was a wedding guest myself. However, had I not been involved in the wedding, I would have been extremely annoyed. So if you are booking in the hotel, make sure that there isn't an event on the same night, or, if there is, make sure you get a room well away from the banqueting areas of the hotel.

Otherwise, the hotel makes for a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank holly_gl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dublin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2009

I have mixed feelings about our stay here. we stayed for 3 nights earlier this week. Our room was lovely, the restaurant was lovely...we had dinner there the first night and breakfast the three mornings which were really nice. The spa is beautiful with a lovely outdoor hot tub. The staff in the spa were so friendly and welcoming. The only major issue we had was the first night there was a very loud random beeping noise which kept us awake from around 3 - 7a.m. I contacted reception re: same and was basically told there was no beeping by the night porter. The next morning i spoke to the girl on reception about it who made me feel quite stupid about it. There was no explanation or apology made. Also on the thursday night myself and my partner were having a drink in the residents bar and the barstaff blew out the candle on everyones tables, took them away and closed the door...it was only 23:45 and we were in the residents bar! There were a number of people in the bar who seemed to also feel a little unwelcome.

Would recommend a meal in finnegans in tralee, the restaurant is very romantic and the food gorgeous!!!!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chrissyDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2009

We could not believe when we drove up to this hotel that it would be our home for four days, wow. The hotel is gorgeous and having access to their amazing spa was not only a treat but a romantic break for Mom and Dad. Sitting in a hot tub, outside with the Irish landscape in view was a highlight of our trip and unexpected. Our room and bath (with separate tub) was HUGE and they quickly accomodated our need for a larger bed for our 6'1" teenage son. The front desk staff was the best we had in Ireland and the breakfast was a treat. We ate in the Pub twice, great atmosphere and service. We could not believe the value. The only drawback was that you had to be in your car to get off the grounds. It is right on the highway and there is really nothing to walk to, but they have a beautiful garden out back.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank billmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tralee
1.8 mi away
The Rose Hotel
The Rose Hotel
#6 of 14 in Tralee
486 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Ashe Hotel
The Ashe Hotel
#2 of 14 in Tralee
573 reviews
0.8 mi away
Manor West Hotel
Manor West Hotel
#3 of 14 in Tralee
715 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Ballyseede Castle
Ballyseede Castle
#4 of 14 in Tralee
1,116 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Grand Hotel Tralee
The Grand Hotel Tralee
#8 of 14 in Tralee
845 reviews
16.8 mi away
Lake Hotel
Lake Hotel
#8 of 38 in Killarney
2,161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ballygarry House Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ballygarry House Hotel & Spa

Property: Ballygarry House Hotel & Spa
Address: Leebrook, Tralee V92 W279, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Tralee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Tralee
#1 Luxury Hotel in Tralee
#1 Family Hotel in Tralee
#2 Business Hotel in Tralee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ballygarry House Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Named in the top 10 of hotels in Ireland on TripAdvisor, the 4 star Ballygarry House Hotel in Tralee Co. Kerry has been in the same family for over 50 years & owner Padraig McGillicuddy knows how to make you feel at home. The hotel's warm interior offers plenty of corners to hide away with a good book to indulge in afternoon tea, and Brooks restaurant serves modern Irish cuisine using the best of local Kerry produce. The Brasserie at Ballygarry House offers casual dining daily from 12.30. This Kerry Hotel provides visitors with the perfect base to explore Kerry and The Wild Atlantic Way with plenty of attractions and activities nearby. No visit to Ballygarry Hotel Tralee is complete without a visit to Nadur Spa which offers traditional Irish Seaweed Soaks as well as hot tub, thermal suite & rejuvenating mud wraps. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Ballygarry House Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ballygarry House Hotel Tralee
Ballygarry House Hotel And Spa
Ballygarry Hotel Tralee

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing