We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb Service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ballygarry House Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Tralee
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 18, 2014

I got married in Ballygarry in September 2013. All the staff from Management right down along are the most friendliest and helpful I have ever dealt with. They left no stone un turned in helping to make our day so special. The service and the food are just outstanding. We have attended many other weddings in Ballygarry and have eaten in the restuarant and could not fault a thing. Delicious food at great prices. The rooms are lovely, clean and spacious too. The warm friendly atmosphere of Ballygarry makes it a must for anyone to visit. Myself and Kieran would like to thank each and every member of staff for all their hard work and for making our day unforgettable and one to cherish.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CurlyIrishGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MrP_McGillicuddy, Owner at Ballygarry House Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 19, 2014

Dear Elaine

I trust married life is bliss & thanks for taking the time to review your wedding experience. As you well know we take great pride in what we do & we love the hospitality aspect of running the hotel. Our Head chef, John thrives on great feedback so I will ensure he & his team are well informed of your positive experiences.

With every best wish for the future
Padraig & all the team at BGH

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,532)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,061 - 1,067 of 1,532 reviews

Reviewed January 14, 2014

Excellent friendly hotel. We stayed for 2 nights, the staff were so friendly and nothing was too much trouble. Breakfast had everything we needed and wanted. The wedding we attended was one of the best we have every been too, with amazing service and food. The hot tub, spa and relaxation room topped off out great stay. Shame we had to come home. Only negative was Internet access could only be gained when we were in reception.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
1  Thank Gemerald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MrP_McGillicuddy, Owner at Ballygarry House Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 19, 2014

Dear Gemma

Your comments are refreshing & thank you for taking the time to share them with us. The food & staff are our highlights & its great to hear that customers consistently feel the same about both.

The hot tub & Thermal areas along with the relaxation rooms are a real Wow & we are building a gym that will be open in May. The wi-fi network is also being upgraded for better signal throughout the hotel this Winter.

Regards
Padraig McGillicuddy
Proprietor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2014

If you are in Tralee only for one day or just looking for a bite to eat; stop off in the Ballygarry House Hotel; as a local I am ashamed to say I have never eating here until recently since then I have been her twice. Staff are lovely, best you will find in Tralee and the food wow; it was delicious. So make sure you stop off for a bite.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Paddie79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MrP_McGillicuddy, Owner at Ballygarry House Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for the review. Its great that you have eventually found us & are enjoying our bar food. We love to see locals coming to enjoy our hard work so please spread the word!

We do have a lovely bunch of staff & the food is great & I will ensure to pass on these comments to all of the crew.

Regards
Padraig

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2014

Check in was quick and friendly. The room we were given was very cold but when we called reception they send someone up to us straight away and move us immediately into another room. The food in the restaurant was really good. Breakfast was nice too. The omelettes come highly recommended! Would stay here again.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back of the hotel seem to be cold.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AidanMc64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MrP_McGillicuddy, Owner at Ballygarry House Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2014

Dear Aidan

Thanks for taking time to comment on your stay. I'm glad we resolved the room issue immediately. Its the joy of trying to heat hotel rooms. Most rooms are a different size & everybody has a different temperature requirement!

I must let Rosie & David, our breakfast chefs know the omelette was enjoyable.

Regards
Padraig McGillicuddy
Proprietor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2014

Rooms were fab and so were the staff. Even though they were busy with a wedding we were still very well looked after. Rooms are lovely and so was the food. Couldn't fault it. Great location also. We will defo stay there again next time we go to Tralee

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Siobhan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MrP_McGillicuddy, Owner at Ballygarry House Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to review us. Over the past 15 years we have consciously redeveloped the hotel to keep the banqueting & wedding business completely independent from the leisure guest & thankfully it worked a treat. We look forward to welcoming you back.
Regards
Padraig McGillicuddy
Proprietor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2014

January 2014. Had a weekend stay which was A1. Room beautiful, food in both bar and restaurant excellent, attention to detail and service brilliant. Management and staff just fantastic. Nadur - a real treat. Overall a fantastic experience. Looking forward already to a return visit - hopefully soon.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bridget R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MrP_McGillicuddy, Owner at Ballygarry House Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2014

Dear Bridget

Thank you very much for your kind comments. We love to hear all comments but especially glowing ones like yours. Thank you from all the team at Ballygarry.

Padraig

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2014

We wanted a relaxing hotel stay where we wouldn't have to leave the hotel and grounds yet get the best of everything at a good price! This hotel was everything we wanted and more. The food was fantastic, the bed was so comfy, the spa was sooo relaxing, the grounds were beautiful, but most of all, the staff were the friendliest I've ever met in a hotel, restaurant or spa,it was as if they were welcoming old friends back to the hotel. We will definitely be back to this hotel, I don't know if any other 4star hotel could compare for us anymore now that we have been treated to the welcome at Ballygarry House Hotel!

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IrelandTrixie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MrP_McGillicuddy, Owner at Ballygarry House Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking a moment to share your recent experience of Ballygarry. The staff are a friendly, capable team of professionals. We are all very proud of the progress the hotel has made over the years to become a market leader. We are also a modest bunch & love to hear the glowing reviews so thank you very much!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tralee hotels
1.8 mi away
The Rose Hotel
The Rose Hotel
#5 of 14 in Tralee
778 reviews
2 mi away
The Ashe Hotel
The Ashe Hotel
#2 of 14 in Tralee
758 reviews
7.7 mi away
Manor West Hotel
Manor West Hotel
#7 of 14 in Tralee
824 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Ballyseede Castle
Ballyseede Castle
#3 of 14 in Tralee
1,172 reviews
2 mi away
The Grand Hotel Tralee
The Grand Hotel Tralee
#8 of 14 in Tralee
911 reviews
1.7 mi away
Meadowlands Hotel
Meadowlands Hotel
#6 of 14 in Tralee
576 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ballygarry House Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ballygarry House Hotel & Spa

Address: Leebrook, Tralee V92 W279, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Tralee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Tralee
#1 Romantic Hotel in Tralee
#1 Luxury Hotel in Tralee
#2 Business Hotel in Tralee
Price Range: $126 - $242 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ballygarry House Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Named in the top 10 of hotels in Ireland on TripAdvisor, the 4 star Ballygarry House Hotel in Tralee Co. Kerry has been in the same family for over 50 years & owner Padraig McGillicuddy knows how to make you feel at home. The hotel's warm interior offers plenty of corners to hide away with a good book to indulge in afternoon tea, and Brooks restaurant serves modern Irish cuisine using the best of local Kerry produce. The Brasserie at Ballygarry House offers casual dining daily from 12.30. This Kerry Hotel provides visitors with the perfect base to explore Kerry and The Wild Atlantic Way with plenty of attractions and activities nearby. No visit to Ballygarry Hotel Tralee is complete without a visit to Nadur Spa which offers traditional Irish Seaweed Soaks as well as hot tub, thermal suite & rejuvenating mud wraps. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ballygarry House Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ballygarry House Hotel And Spa
Ballygarry House Hotel Tralee
Ballygarry Hotel Tralee

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing