We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel is warm and comfortable. Their spa facilities are unreal.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ballygarry House Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Tralee
Certificate of Excellence
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Hotel is warm and comfortable. Their spa facilities are unreal.”
Reviewed October 22, 2013

I have been to this hotel on a number of occasions involving weddings, parties, stayovers and spa treatments. I have to say this place is one of my favourite hotel and spa in Ireland. Everytime I go here I feel at home and the staff are so nice and helpful. Rooms are clean and warm spa is spotless. I would highly recommend this hotel for some quaility time.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andetti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MrP_McGillicuddy, Owner at Ballygarry House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, October 26, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review, I am delighted you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again soon.

Kindest regards,
Padraig McGillicuddy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,337 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,053
    210
    49
    16
    9
See reviews for
333
523
34
122
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (221)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2013

Sadly I was only in Ballygarry House for one night on a business trip. But what a find. It's worth choosing Tralee as a place to visit just to stay here. Although the hotel is a little outside the town centre. The warmth of the staff demonstrates that genuine Irish warmth and hospitality. The hotel is wonderfully comfortable in a country house style. Really comfortable bed and a great nights sleep. Free excellent strength Wi-FI. Perfectly cooked delicious poached eggs and the nicest fruit scone I have had in my life. I booked directly with the hotel and got a great rate €69 for a single What a find.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frostyexplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MrP_McGillicuddy, Owner at Ballygarry House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, October 26, 2013
Dear Guest,

It is great to read your excellent review, and thank you very much for the glowing reference and excellent feedback.

Hopefully the next time you visit will be for pleasure and you can enjoy some of the rest of our facilities.

Best Wishes,

Padraig McGillicuddy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2013

We were in Tralee for just one night and were delighted to spend the evening at the gracious Balygarry Hotel. Lots of old world character and service by a team who really care. The facility was older but very well cared for and with updated bedrooms and bathrooms that offered all the comfort one could ask for.

Really pleasant stay.

Thanks.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mayzie1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MrP_McGillicuddy, Owner at Ballygarry House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, October 26, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your kind words, your review is a delight to read, with such great feedback.

I do hope you get the chance to return to us in the future.

Regards,

Padraig McGillicuddy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2013

My parents booked a room,dinner and breakfast package for our 21st wedding anniversary. We had access to thermal suite at the Nadur Spa. From arrival to leaving I can only describe our stay as excellent. The staff were friendly,welcoming and polite. All our needs were catered for to the highest standards. The room was superb and spotless. We ate at at The Brooks Restaurant and the food and service was excellent and in particular there was a range of gluten free options that was an added bonus. Breakfast was equally to a high standard and we had the same waitress Aine at breakfast as we had at our evening meal. Her style and interaction can only be described as excellent,she was helpful,friendly and assisted with choices on the menu that had a wide range of very tasty dishes. The staff obviously knew that it was our wedding anniversary and the added touches meant alot to us and added to our enjoyment. The ambience and atmosphere at Ballygarry Hse is superb and in my opinion requires no change as we were made to feel welcome and special during our time at the hotel. I would highly recommend this hotel for anyone visiting Kerry or wanting a break for a special occasion. Equally do visit the restaurant where the food is of the highest standard with excellent service. The thermal suite was an enjoyable experience and the booked treatment was very good. Staff at the Spa were equally friendly and helpful and again I would recommend a visit here.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gracie48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MrP_McGillicuddy, Owner at Ballygarry House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, October 26, 2013
Dear Gracie,

I am delighted to hear that your 21st Wedding anniversary was such a memorable one. We always try and go that extra bit for our guests.

All the staff and especially Aine will be delighted to read you kind words, thank you very much.

Best Wishes,

Padraig McGillicuddy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kildare, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2013

Had a very nice stay - I was there on business, many thanks to the staff! They were friendly and helpful. The food was good and the hotel itself is extremly nice, with free Wifi, I can't say anything negative. I didn't get to try the pool or Jacuzzi, which is a shame - next time!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Davercade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MrP_McGillicuddy, Owner at Ballygarry House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, October 26, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay. It is great to read that you had no negatives with your stay, and as you said hopefully the next time your stay will be for pleasure and more than an overnight stay.

Thanks again,

Padraig McGillicuddy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delmar, New York
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2013

First time in Ireland and this was a great way to recuperate from jet lag. Very comfortable room and exceptional dinner in hotel restaurant. Felt pampered by very attentive staff. The grounds and interior ambience were superb!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rose C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MrP_McGillicuddy, Owner at Ballygarry House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, October 26, 2013
Dear Rose,

It is great to read that you enjoyed your stay so much. Thank you for taking the time to post a review and i am delighted you enjoyed your experience here. Your kind words will be passed onto the team here for them to read.

We hope you get the chance to return to us again in the future.

Kind Regards,

Padraig McGillicuddy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corona del Mar, California
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the Ballygarry as a base to explore the Dingle Peninsula. The service at the hotel is very personalized, the rooms are lovely and comfortable with large bathrooms, and the restaurants offer excellent cuisine. The breakfast that is offered with the room is the best we experienced during our 3-week trip to Great Britain and Ireland. The hotel is on the outskirts of Tralee and not walkable to town, but it is located in a quiet, serene setting with free car parking.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Gayle J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MrP_McGillicuddy, Owner at Ballygarry House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, October 26, 2013
Dear Gayle,

Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay. It is great to see that you have singled out the Customer Service experience here at Ballygarry House. It is very much the essence of our Mission Statement. Most recently we have picked up an award for Best Customer Service in the Munster Region in our Brooks Restaurant.

Thanks again Gayle,

Best Regards,

Padraig McGillicuddy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tralee
1.8 mi away
The Rose Hotel
The Rose Hotel
#5 of 14 in Tralee
476 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Ashe Hotel
The Ashe Hotel
#2 of 14 in Tralee
570 reviews
0.8 mi away
Manor West Hotel
Manor West Hotel
#3 of 14 in Tralee
713 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Ballyseede Castle
Ballyseede Castle
#4 of 14 in Tralee
1,115 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Grand Hotel Tralee
The Grand Hotel Tralee
#8 of 14 in Tralee
843 reviews
16.8 mi away
Lake Hotel
Lake Hotel
#8 of 38 in Killarney
2,156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ballygarry House Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ballygarry House Hotel & Spa

Property: Ballygarry House Hotel & Spa
Address: Leebrook, Tralee V92 W279, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Tralee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Tralee
#1 Luxury Hotel in Tralee
#1 Romantic Hotel in Tralee
#2 Business Hotel in Tralee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ballygarry House Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Named in the top 10 of hotels in Ireland on TripAdvisor, the 4 star Ballygarry House Hotel in Tralee Co. Kerry has been in the same family for over 50 years & owner Padraig McGillicuddy knows how to make you feel at home. The hotel's warm interior offers plenty of corners to hide away with a good book to indulge in afternoon tea, and Brooks restaurant serves modern Irish cuisine using the best of local Kerry produce. The Brasserie at Ballygarry House offers casual dining daily from 12.30. This Kerry Hotel provides visitors with the perfect base to explore Kerry and The Wild Atlantic Way with plenty of attractions and activities nearby. No visit to Ballygarry Hotel Tralee is complete without a visit to Nadur Spa which offers traditional Irish Seaweed Soaks as well as hot tub, thermal suite & rejuvenating mud wraps. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Ballygarry House Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ballygarry House Hotel Tralee
Ballygarry House Hotel And Spa
Ballygarry Hotel Tralee

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing