We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Brilliant stay once again”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ballygarry House Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Tralee
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Brilliant stay once again”
Reviewed July 24, 2013

We yet again had another family wedding here. I have to say the staff and management really do go above and beyond all expectations. The food was wonderful, the gardens absolutely gorgeous and the service was second to none. The room was very clean and tidy, just like the rest of the hotel really. I would definitely recommend the ballygarry for anyone looking for a great venue and a stay with a smile!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank omc89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MrP_McGillicuddy, Owner at Ballygarry House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review of your recent stay with us.

We are delighted that you enjoyed the wedding that you attended and hope that you will return again.

Kind regards,
Padraig McGillicuddy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,275 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,001
    204
    47
    14
    9
See reviews for
312
497
33
115
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (216)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Beijing
Level Contributor
51 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2013

I booked this hotel after reading all of the very positive reviews on trip advisor so was really surprised when my 1st impression was not good.

I booked for 4 nights to use the hotel as a base for visiting the area, after a long drive from Kilkenny we checked in and went to the room - a room with a panoramic view from the 2nd floor of the extensive roadworks going on outside. As we were staying for 4 nights midweek I thought it reasonable to ask for a room with a view, reception advised they would find something but would take 10 minutes, no issue there. The call came to look at another room but it was almost directly below the 1st room we were given, the view was now of the car park from ground level. I queried this with reception to be told it was an upgrade as I had requested, I had asked for no such thing, the receptionist became seemed surprised I was not grateful for the upgrade, being tired I asked her to leave it. To be fair she did call 15 minutes later to offer me another room to look at but by then tea was made and cases unpacked, room 224 it was to be.

The food was excellent in the bar, breakfast was a bit variable service wise but again quality of food was superb. Those using the spa or attending a wedding on our last night loved the place and I think that is the key for this hotel, if you are going to specifically use the facilities of the hotel then it is fantastic, if you are like us and using it as a base it is just ok- by that I mean it is a good hotel with great food but on a main road, few rooms have a view and nothing is within walking distance.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank RobertFr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MrP_McGillicuddy, Owner at Ballygarry House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay.

I have spoken to Elaine our front office manager and she remembers your situation. Unfortunately I think there was a breakdown in communication with regards to your room preference and for this I apologise.

Your kind words about the quality of food will be passed on to our Head Chef.

Best Wishes,

Padraig.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2013

Recently stayed on part of a family holiday( 2 Adults and 2 Children was to be 3 but had to leave one behind) came up from Seem to stay in Ballygarry for 4 nights with 2 evening meals in Brooks restaurant. Arrival/Check in was plesant but the room wasnt ready even though it was after 3pm and check in was after 2pm but we were not kept waiting long, the bedroom was big enough for a family of five but the bathroom was a little dated and no air conditioning a little challenging espically with a heat wave i would say the room was not part of the recent hotel upgrade and should be looked at in the near future it wouldnt take much fix the issues. Accomadation were superb along with the turndown service each evening. Breakfast was buffet style for two days as it was busier and came from the kitchen on the other two both were equally good ( very good way of catering for when the hotel is busy and a little less with no effect on quality) the service staff were very attentive,efficent and not overpowering. Dinner on both nights we dined were in the Brooks Restaurant with the children both nights were enjoyed by the family on the first night there was a tour in the restaurant and this didnt effect the service of the other guests as the restaurant was adequaitly staffed on both nights the food was very good along with the service( similar to breakfast and their knowledge of the menu was very good throughout by all service staff) Dishes such as the Crab,Goats Cheese and Chowder starters were good Main Course like John Dory, Hake, Duck and Chicken were all good, Desserts Creme Brulee and Chocolate Mousse were good and also was the childrens food on both nights. The hotel is just outside Tralee next to Ballyseedy Woods great for a morning jog to burn off some of those calories from the good food in the restaurant .The hotel good to use a a base to travel to all of the tourist spots in North Kerry and it also has enough facilities to cater for a spa break etc... next time for sure as it looked absoutley faboulous and busy so it must be good also. Overall we enjoyed the visit and too many friendly and efficent staff to mention I would reccomend it to anyone, good to see that North Kerry has a gem of its own and rivals anything that Kenmare/Sneem and Killarney has to offer.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Munsterwarriors
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MrP_McGillicuddy, Owner at Ballygarry House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your recent review.

The room you stayed in is the bedroom block that is scheduled for a complete refurbishment this year.

Your kind words are greatly appreciated and will be passed on to the relevant departments here in the hotel.

We do hope to see you back again in the near future

Best regards

Padraig McGillicuddy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
124 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2013

Myself and partner stayed at Ballygarry House Hotel & Spa in early July last (2013) The hotel is conveniently located approx 3 kms from Tralee town centre. We were on an Axa package which was of reasonable value. Two nights B&B was the deal. We decided to eat in the bar on the first night as the restaurant looked a bit on the pricey side. The bar food was of a very good standard in terms of quality, presentation and taste. Not cheap mind you, we thought it was expensive for bar food. The bedroom was fine with a large bathroom and good showering facilities. The staff were friendly and obliging, which seems to be a trend in hotels and restaurants now (no harm in that) There is a lovely woodland walk (Ballydavid wood) close to the hotel...handy for walking off the cooked breakfast!!! Pity about the roadworks adjacent to the hotel but that project looks well advanced.

Room Tip: Rooms on the ground floor handy in terms of carrying luggage!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank unigis1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MrP_McGillicuddy, Owner at Ballygarry House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to post your review of your recent stay here with us.

We are delighted you enjoyed it so much and take your points on board about the pricing of our items but we feel that our prices are in line with the standard you enjoyed so much.

Kind Regards

Padraig McGillicuddy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterford, Ireland
Level Contributor
192 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2013

Stayed here for two nights in July 2013 as a couple. Check in was speedy and so friendly - little Christinas eyes just jumped out at you to make you feel at home.
The Junior Suite was huge and very comfortable.
We ate in the bar in the afternoon and the hot prawn salad i had was full of flavours and quite filling.
The dinner in the evening was very well presented and tasteful. Breakfast was also nice.
If there was a fault to the entire stay it was the restaurant staff, especially in the mornings. At night they appeared to have the laying of the tables for breakfast as a priority and at breakfast the laying of the tables for dinner appeared to be the priority. This meant that some empty dishes were not cleared at dinner and we were unsure what could be ordered from the kitchen at breakfast as non one came to us and there were no menus on the table. As it happened these menus were on the tables on the following morning! A little training and this important aspect could be so improved upon as it certainly wasn't 4 star. Although the food was very good we ate out on the second night.
The gardens are magnificent with plenty of chairs and tables for relaxation.

Room Tip: The Junior Suites are worth the extra you pay and all look out into the beautiful gardens
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GerryR18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MrP_McGillicuddy, Owner at Ballygarry House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Thank you for posting your review of your recent stay here with us.

Christina will delighted with your feedback on her.

Your small issue with the restaurant staff will be passed onto the Restaurant manager.

Thank you again and i forward to welcoming you back to stay again in the future,

Best Wishes,

Padraig McGillicuddy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
windsor uk
1 review
Reviewed July 19, 2013

I recently had the pleasure of attending a wedding reception at the fabulous Ballygarry Hotel & spa.
From the moment we arrived the scene was set for the best wedding reception I have ever had the pleasure of attending.
The gardens are stunning and the staff, service and super friendliness of everyone involved helped create a fantastic occassion.
I would certainly recommend couples, solos and families to visit and enjoy the remarkable hospitality at this venue.
Thank you Padraig and your team...
The weekend will never be forgotten and I will certainly be back when I visit Ireland again.

Best Wishes
Graham Harkess

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Graham H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MrP_McGillicuddy, Owner at Ballygarry House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and experience at the wedding you attended.

I hope you get the chance to revisit again soon.

Kind regards,

Padraig.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed July 19, 2013

Where can I start from the first day we met Cathal and booked our date it just all ran smoothly , I fell in love with every bit of this hotel from staff, service, rooms ,decor, food! Thank you to Elaine on reception who helped with all our accommodation needs:) our wedding day was outstanding I didn't have to do anything except take it all in and enjoy every moment of it from start to finish, we had our ceremony at the hotel it was just perfect, and everything I could ever dream of everyone who attended fell in love with hotel also, thank you to Cathal and everyone at ballygarry for making our wedding day so memorable 5 stars is not enough absolutely outstanding

Mr &Mrs Ronayne

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Brid R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MrP_McGillicuddy, Owner at Ballygarry House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Dear Brid,

Thank you for taking the time to write and post your review.

We were delighted that you chose Ballygarry House for your special day and Cathal and I wish to pass on our best wishes for a long and happy future together. I am delighted to read your fantastic review.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Ballygarry House again soon, do make sure to say Hello to us!

Best Regards,

Padraig McGillicuddy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tralee
2.0 mi away
The Ashe Hotel
The Ashe Hotel
#2 of 14 in Tralee
4.5 of 5 bubbles 493 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Rose Hotel
The Rose Hotel
#5 of 14 in Tralee
4.5 of 5 bubbles 394 reviews
16.3 mi away
The Brehon
The Brehon
#8 of 38 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.4 mi away
Manor West Hotel
Manor West Hotel
#4 of 14 in Tralee
4.5 of 5 bubbles 682 reviews
16.8 mi away
Lake Hotel
Lake Hotel
#7 of 38 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,061 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Grand Hotel Tralee
The Grand Hotel Tralee
#8 of 14 in Tralee
4.5 of 5 bubbles 828 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ballygarry House Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ballygarry House Hotel & Spa

Property: Ballygarry House Hotel & Spa
Address: Leebrook, Tralee V92 W279, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Tralee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Tralee
#1 Family Hotel in Tralee
#1 Luxury Hotel in Tralee
#2 Business Hotel in Tralee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ballygarry House Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Named in the top 10 of hotels in Ireland on TripAdvisor, the 4 star Ballygarry House Hotel in Tralee Co. Kerry has been in the same family for over 50 years & owner Padraig McGillicuddy knows how to make you feel at home. The hotel's warm interior offers plenty of corners to hide away with a good book to indulge in afternoon tea, and Brooks restaurant serves modern Irish cuisine using the best of local Kerry produce. The Brasserie at Ballygarry House offers casual dining daily from 12.30. This Kerry Hotel provides visitors with the perfect base to explore Kerry and The Wild Atlantic Way with plenty of attractions and activities nearby. No visit to Ballygarry Hotel Tralee is complete without a visit to Nadur Spa which offers traditional Irish Seaweed Soaks as well as hot tub, thermal suite & rejuvenating mud wraps. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and Hotel.de so you can book your Ballygarry House Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ballygarry House Hotel Tralee
Ballygarry House Hotel And Spa
Ballygarry Hotel Tralee

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing