We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A real treat”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ballygarry House Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Tralee
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“A real treat”
Reviewed February 22, 2013

I booked an overnight spa break at Ballygarry House, not having stayed there before. All the reviews were great, and both the hotel and the staff really lived up to our (by now high) expectations. I've never stayed in a hotel after a spa treatment, so it was a lifelong ambition fulfilled when I padded back to the room in my lovely robe after the amazing treatments. The spa is honestly the nicest I've ever been. The deal was amazing value and included a dinner in the hotel restaurant. It was gorgeous, and the staff were all just lovely too. Ballyseedy Woods are v near the hotel, which makes for a nice week is you feel energetic too. I would LOVE to come back, sooner rather than later.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank siuloir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MrP_McGillicuddy, Owner at Ballygarry House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Dear Siuloir,

Thank you for posting your lovely review of your stay here with us. Our Spa breaks are very popular - I am glad you finally got to experience one! I will pass this on to the Spa in particular- they are very dedicated to pampering and providing top class treatments so they will really appreciate your kind words.

I do hope to see you back again very soon,

Best wishes,
Padraig McGillicuddy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,302 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,026
    205
    48
    14
    9
See reviews for
320
511
33
119
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (217)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
84 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2013

Two of us stayed here in separate rooms for two nights on a short trip to Tralee in February.
The hotel was comfortable, the staff were welcoming and friendly and breakfast was freshly cooked and excellent.
Both rooms were clean, comfortable and well appointed. The bar did a good range of bar food at reasonable prices all in all an excellent experience. Overall Ballygarry delivered I would certainly stay here again and recommend it.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tjoe30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MrP_McGillicuddy, General Manager at Ballygarry House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Dear TJoe30,

Thank your for posting your review of your recent stay here with us.

I was delighed to read your lovely review and appreciate the recommendation to your family and friends.

I do hope you will get to return again very shortly.

Kind regards,
Padraig McGillicuddy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ennis, Ireland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2013

We stayed in this hotel for 2 nights over a weekend. We stayed in a suite which was very spacious & had lovely views of the gardens. The bathroom was huge with a separate walk in shower. The beds were so comfy, don't think I have ever slept so soundly in a hotel.
Michelle at reception checked us in and was so helpful and pleasant. The staff in the restaurant couldn't do enough for us, very professional and friendly and the food was superb. (Both breakfast and dinner)
Thermal suite is very calming with lovely views of the mountains in the relaxation room.
To be honest I felt all the staff treated the hotel as if it was there own and are very well trained.
We really enjoyed everything about this hotel couldn't fault it in any way, We will definitely be returning again. Full marks all round, 5 star service.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alfie1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MrP_McGillicuddy, Owner at Ballygarry House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Dear Alfie1986,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. It is a lovely review and I am glad to see that you enjoyed your stay so much.

I have passed this on to our staff who will appreciate your kind words- Michelle in particular will be delighted with the mention.

I do hope you will have the opportunity to revisit us again in the future.

Best wishes,
Padraig McGillicuddy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
108 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2013

I was very impressed with the hotel. The staff were very attentative and appeared to be genuinely committed to service. We stayed in a family room which was very large with ample space for 2 adults and 2 children. The bathroom was a little tired but some points are forgiving when other areas are good. The food was excellent and helpings were very generous. Free WIFI which always scores a bonus for me.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ARCHIE0410
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MrP_McGillicuddy, Owner at Ballygarry House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Dear Archie0410,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review of your stay with us. It was lovely to read your kind words and in particular with reference to our service, as this is an area that we are all very proud of.

I look forward to welcoming you back to Ballygarry House again in the future.

Best wishes,
Padraig McGillicuddy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlow, Carlow, Ireland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
Reviewed February 10, 2013

attened the Wedding of Caroline Sweeney and Tom Halpin felt like a 5 plus star Hotel. beautiful place with wonderful staff. Well Done to all at the Ballygarry House Hotel 5 stares to you all. We look foward to going back to the Ballygarry

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MrP_McGillicuddy, Owner at Ballygarry House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Dear Michelle B,

I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and Caroline and Toms special day. Thank you for your fantastic review and I do hope that you will get to return in the near future.

Best wishes,
Padraig McGillicuddy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey, Channel Islands, UK
Level Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2013

My husband and I and his brother and partner recent,y spent a few days here when visiting Ireland. My husband had spent 2 yrs in tralee 20 yrs ago in college and wanted to visit his old haunts! What a find this hotel was. Absolutely gorgeous and cosy inside with open fires and friendly staff. Soup and a pint in the bar in the afternoon, particularly fine breakfast and then for dinner which was the real surprise. Their set menu at 35 euro all in was superb. We frequently enjoy Michelin starred restaurants in France and jersey and Brooks was well up with the best. Superb duck main course that'd make me return again. I noticed their accolade of winner of best hotel restaurant in Ireland hanging on the wall which was no surprise. The room itself was well furnished and lovely and toasty with a turn down service each evening. We slept very soundly despite a wedding being held downstairs. Will definitely return some day and have recommended it to family and friends as a real find. You will need a car though its only 7/8 mins I to Tralee and the nearby shopping complex with debenhams is worth a visit.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Valdi4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MrP_McGillicuddy, Owner at Ballygarry House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Dear Valdi4,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review of your recent stay and for your recommendation.

It is lovely to read your kind words, in particular about our restaurant as we also recently acheived an AA Rosette for culinary excellence. It is very much appreciated when we hear these great reports from our guests too.

I hope that it won't be another 20 years before your husband gets to visit!

Best wishes,
Padraig McGillicuddy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 3, 2013

Just back from a lovely 24hrs at Ballygarry. From the welcome we received when we arrived to the spacious comfortable bedrooms to the fantastic food at dinner & breakfast & the peaceful relaxing spa everything was top class! Well done Ballygarry on your trip advisor award, great achievement & well deserved. Looking forward to my next trip already!!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ShellyoB1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MrP_McGillicuddy, Owner at Ballygarry House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Dear ShellyoB1,

Thank you for taking the time to post your lovely review of your stay here with us. I am delighed to read your kind words.

We are delighted to have acheived the Travellers Choice top 25 Hotel award and thank you for your good wishes! I have passed this review on to all our team.

I look forward to welcoming you back to Ballygarry House again very soon.

Best wishes,
Padraig McGillicuddy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tralee
2.0 mi away
The Ashe Hotel
The Ashe Hotel
#2 of 14 in Tralee
521 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Rose Hotel
The Rose Hotel
#5 of 14 in Tralee
432 reviews
8.4 mi away
Manor West Hotel
Manor West Hotel
#3 of 14 in Tralee
697 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Ballyseede Castle
Ballyseede Castle
#4 of 14 in Tralee
1,102 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Grand Hotel Tralee
The Grand Hotel Tralee
#8 of 14 in Tralee
836 reviews
16.8 mi away
Lake Hotel
Lake Hotel
#8 of 38 in Killarney
2,111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ballygarry House Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ballygarry House Hotel & Spa

Property: Ballygarry House Hotel & Spa
Address: Leebrook, Tralee V92 W279, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Tralee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Tralee
#1 Family Hotel in Tralee
#1 Luxury Hotel in Tralee
#2 Business Hotel in Tralee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ballygarry House Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Named in the top 10 of hotels in Ireland on TripAdvisor, the 4 star Ballygarry House Hotel in Tralee Co. Kerry has been in the same family for over 50 years & owner Padraig McGillicuddy knows how to make you feel at home. The hotel's warm interior offers plenty of corners to hide away with a good book to indulge in afternoon tea, and Brooks restaurant serves modern Irish cuisine using the best of local Kerry produce. The Brasserie at Ballygarry House offers casual dining daily from 12.30. This Kerry Hotel provides visitors with the perfect base to explore Kerry and The Wild Atlantic Way with plenty of attractions and activities nearby. No visit to Ballygarry Hotel Tralee is complete without a visit to Nadur Spa which offers traditional Irish Seaweed Soaks as well as hot tub, thermal suite & rejuvenating mud wraps. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and Hotel.de so you can book your Ballygarry House Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ballygarry House Hotel Tralee
Ballygarry House Hotel And Spa
Ballygarry Hotel Tralee

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing