We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magnificent Ballingarry House Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ballygarry House Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Tralee
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 11, 2013

Our daughter who lives in London had her wedding reception here on Jan 1st. The manager Thys was so incredibly helpful and nothing was impossible. His manner was so calming and his suggestions on improving the menus,timetables,seating,ancillary services,music and many other topics showed his huge experience in hotel management. This led to a stress free wedding day for the bride and groom and every guest. The staff are exceptional friendly and helpful which comes from being part of a family run hotel. So many of the overseas guests were staggered at the professionalism of both management and staff and the magnificent quality of food throughout the hotel. So many of the guests have already booked to come back to Ballygarry and use it as a base to see the beautiful county of Kerry during the summer. Many many thanks again to Thys---you made the experience so enjoyable...Kieran Harte

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kharte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MrP_McGillicuddy, Owner at Ballygarry House Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded February 6, 2013

Dear Kieran,

Thank you so much for your fantastic report of your daughters special day with us. Thys and I are both delighted with your kind words and we were glad to be part of such a special time for all of you.

Our staff play a vital part in each guest experience and it is great to again read such glowing reports. I will pass this review on to all involved and in particular to Thys.

Kindest regards,
Padraig McGillicuddy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,522)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,229 - 1,235 of 1,522 reviews

Reviewed January 8, 2013

We attended a wedding and stayed the 3 night break. What a treat. This hotel delivers every time, food, staf, hygiene and service. the spa staf are great kind , friendly and you dont feel bad when they cannot accomodate you. try the oudoor hottub amazing. food at the wedding was exceptional and the bar food the other nights was a very good quality and nice specials. we keep coming back here and its not that far from where we live. love it.

Room Tip: back of house every time its lovely looking over the gardens.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tuppefun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MrP_McGillicuddy, Owner at Ballygarry House Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded February 6, 2013

Dear Tuppefun,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review of your stay with us. I am delighted that you got to experience a number of our facilities on this occasion. I also appreciate your recommendation and do hope that you will get to revisit soon.

Best wishes,
Padraig McGillicuddy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2013

Had a wedding on new years day. Amazing accommodation, staff, food, service. Everything was incredible and no better way to spend New Years than here. A definite place to stay if ever in Kerry and Tralee. So impressive. I will 100% be going back

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hartec6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MrP_McGillicuddy, Owner at Ballygarry House Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded February 6, 2013

Dear Hartec6,

Thank you for posting your lovely review of your New Years Day wedding experience. I was delighed to read your glowing report and I do look forward to welcoming you back to Ballygarry House.

Best wishes,
Padraig McGillicuddy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2013

Attended a niece's wedding over new year at hotel and had a wonderful time. Everything was done to insure that the couple and guests had a perfect day. Staff friendly, food excellent and rooms spacious and comfortable. Everyone had a great time

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank seamusw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MrP_McGillicuddy, Owner at Ballygarry House Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded February 6, 2013

Dear Seamusw,

Thank you for posting your review of your experience with us here at Ballygarry House.

I am delighed that you had a great time at your niece's wedding, and thank you for the feedback.

I hope you will get to revisit us again in the future.

Kind regards,
Padraig McGillicuddy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2013

Ballygarry House is as good as any hotel anywhere in the world and far better than many so called five star establishments. It is managed to perfection and the owner Padraig is always there when needed. It is the best wedding or function location in Tralee and the food or service is never lacking. It is located about two miles from the town centre and is very well located on the Tralee Cork/Limerick road. I would recommend it for any occasion and any type of trip.

Room Tip: ask at reception , look for a south facing room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank johnmfenit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MrP_McGillicuddy, Owner at Ballygarry House Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded February 6, 2013

Dear Johnmfenit,

Thank you for posting your excellent review of your experience with us at Ballygarry House. I am delighed with your praise and will pass it on to all the team here.

I am always more than happy to assit with any plans that you may have for functions, events or stays here with us and look forward to welcoming you back.

Best wishes,
Padraig

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2012 via mobile

Thoroughly enjoyed my third stay in ballygarry. The food in the restaurant is amazing especially the seafood. The salmon is to die for. The service in the spa is excellent and the whole experience was very relaxing. All the rooms in this hotel are very spacious and modern. The staff in the hotel go out of their way to ensure all their guests are most welcome.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Louboutin123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MrP_McGillicuddy, Owner at Ballygarry House Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded February 5, 2013

Dear Louboutin 123,

Thank you for your lovely review and for your continued loyalty to Ballygarry House. I am very proud of our staff here and was delighed to read your excellent reports.

I look forward to welcoming you back to us again in the future,

Padraig McGillicuddy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2012 via mobile

Had forgotten just how good this hotel is. Hadnt been here for 3 or 4 years. Stayed on a monday night in early december. Very warm welcome at reception. Room was really comfortable. Tv in room had sky sports. Food in bar was really good. Had stopped staying in Ballygarry as its not in the town but once u get here u wont want to leave the hotel anyway.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Luhoops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MrP_McGillicuddy, Owner at Ballygarry House Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded February 5, 2013

Dear Luhoops,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review.

I am delighed to hear that you returned to Ballygarry and will return to us again in the future.

Looking forward to welcoming you back,
Padraig McGillicuddy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tralee hotels
1.8 mi away
The Rose Hotel
The Rose Hotel
#7 of 14 in Tralee
750 reviews
2 mi away
The Ashe Hotel
The Ashe Hotel
#2 of 14 in Tralee
753 reviews
7.7 mi away
Manor West Hotel
Manor West Hotel
#4 of 14 in Tralee
806 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Meadowlands Hotel
Meadowlands Hotel
#6 of 14 in Tralee
574 reviews
2 mi away
The Grand Hotel Tralee
The Grand Hotel Tralee
#8 of 14 in Tralee
907 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ballyseede Castle
Ballyseede Castle
#3 of 14 in Tralee
1,171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ballygarry House Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ballygarry House Hotel & Spa

Address: Leebrook, Tralee V92 W279, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Tralee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Tralee
#1 Romantic Hotel in Tralee
#1 Luxury Hotel in Tralee
#2 Business Hotel in Tralee
Price Range: $122 - $236 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ballygarry House Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Named in the top 10 of hotels in Ireland on TripAdvisor, the 4 star Ballygarry House Hotel in Tralee Co. Kerry has been in the same family for over 50 years & owner Padraig McGillicuddy knows how to make you feel at home. The hotel's warm interior offers plenty of corners to hide away with a good book to indulge in afternoon tea, and Brooks restaurant serves modern Irish cuisine using the best of local Kerry produce. The Brasserie at Ballygarry House offers casual dining daily from 12.30. This Kerry Hotel provides visitors with the perfect base to explore Kerry and The Wild Atlantic Way with plenty of attractions and activities nearby. No visit to Ballygarry Hotel Tralee is complete without a visit to Nadur Spa which offers traditional Irish Seaweed Soaks as well as hot tub, thermal suite & rejuvenating mud wraps. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ballygarry House Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ballygarry House Hotel Tralee
Ballygarry House Hotel And Spa
Ballygarry Hotel Tralee

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing