We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ballygarry House Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Tralee
Certificate of Excellence
Sallins,Kildare
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic Hotel”
Reviewed July 30, 2011

We just returned from a 4 night stay with 'Ballygarry House Hotel & Spa' , it was a family trip with my husband and 3 boys,(5),(3),(1), and I have to say we had a brilliant time, the hotel is beautiful and very clean, the family room was very spacious, considering we had a king size bed two singles and a travel cot, the very large bay windows overlooking the lovely gardens were a great plus and kept our boys very amused, as did the gardens to the back of the hotel which are very well maintained .

We opted for the meals included option and dined in 'Brooks', the food was always beautifully presented and tasted fantastic, the staff in the restaurant were always extremely helpful and pleasant.

The package also included free passes to both Aquadome and Toby World which the boys loved.

On the last evening of our stay I spent time in the Nadur Spa, there I got to use the outdoor jacuzzi, sauna and steam room, I also had a treatment done with Corina, who was very friendly and did a great job!

Overall we would have to say the hotel was a great experience with the Reception staff always very friendly and helpful and seem very proud of their hotel and the fact that it has a 4 star rating.

We would have no hesitation in recommending the hotel to anyone, and only wish we were still down there, but hopefully we will have the opportunity to stay again sometime soon.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank EnnisFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,304 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,028
    205
    48
    14
    9
See reviews for
321
512
33
119
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (218)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tipperary
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2011

We were part of a wedding party and our stay was fab from beginning to end.
The hotel & staff were excellent. Nothing was too much trouble. Our room was spotless and very modern. I cannot recomend this hotel highly enough! If you are looking for a staycation break this is the palce to go.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maj43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2011

A very clean hotel with very friendly staff. Very comfortable ambiance, you feel like you are in a large house. They have a nice library as well. The bed was very comfy with nice sheets. The room was a good size and the bathroom was pretty big. We did not see the town nearby, we just stayed the night while touring around the southern coast. Dinner and breakfast were included and both meals were delicious with generous portions. We didn't even know that dinner was included in our room, it was a nice surprise. We stayed here after playing Ballybunion golf course. Hot pot with instant coffee and tea complimentary in room.

Room Tip: Our room was really quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hawaiiginny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2011

We have stayed here a number of times and it is consistently great. The staff are lovely, the rooms are comfortable and the outdoor hottub is so relaxing. You can get some great packages which include dinner in the restaurant which serves lovely food. The location is also great as it's near Killarney and a 5min drive into Tralee.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CorkGalavanters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limerick, Ireland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2011

My wife and I spent two very enjoyable days at this hotel. Now the outside of the hotel isn’t particularly attractive and the landscaped gardens they make so much of aren’t exactly stunning.
However, once you go inside the hotel itself you just couldn’t fault it.
The staff were incredibly friendly throughout our stay and make a big effort to accommodate you. Really lovely people (no pretence). The lobby, bar, restaurant and other areas were attractive and very well maintained. We went to the restaurant on one of the nights and the quality of the food was excellent (with some lovely homemade brown bread). I thought our bedroom was a little small but it was in great condition and very comfortable. The hotel will bring a DVD player to your room if you wish and you can select from a library of DVDs. I found myself recommending this hotel to friends and family after our stay; a sign of a very good hotel.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tscully
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
31 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2011

Lovely hotel with great spacious rooms. The spa is exceptional, an absolute must if you stay here. The only down side was the main restaurant, we so wanted it to be amazing but the food was average at best- chewy steak, mushy overcooked vegetables etc. Even the waitresses fantastic service- I think her name was Kathleen couldn't quite make up for the food. And also when your finishing off your meal in a lovely restaurant you don't want to hear the other waitresses chatting and clinking crockery as the set out all the other tables for breakfast while people are still eating. But don't let this put you off it's a fantastic place- go but just skip the main restaurant and have a bar meal here which looked much better.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank drjohn01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PMcGillicuddyGM, General Manager at Ballygarry House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, July 27, 2011
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. I am delighted that you enjoyed your overall stay with us and that you have expressed a fair view. I have made note of your comments as every bit of advice is a help to us as we continuously strive to improve our product.

I do hope to welcome you back to Ballygarry House in the future.

Best wishes,
Padraig McGillicuddy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Ireland
Level Contributor
43 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2011

Since we made the first phone call to book a room, we've been continually impressed during every part of our stay. From the friendliness of the reception staff, the bar and restaurant service, the quality of the rooms we just couldn't fault anything. The icing on the cake was the gorgeous Nadur spa - what an indulgent bonus to enjoy at the hotel. Overall, a thoroughly relaxing and enjoyable stay and we'd definitely come back again.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheFyfes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PMcGillicuddyGM, General Manager at Ballygarry House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, July 27, 2011
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. I will pass your kind words on to our staff and especially our team in Nádur, who will appreciate your review. I do hope that you will visit us again in the future.

Best wishes,

Padraig McGillicuddy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tralee
2.0 mi away
The Ashe Hotel
The Ashe Hotel
#2 of 14 in Tralee
521 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Rose Hotel
The Rose Hotel
#5 of 14 in Tralee
432 reviews
8.4 mi away
Manor West Hotel
Manor West Hotel
#3 of 14 in Tralee
697 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Ballyseede Castle
Ballyseede Castle
#4 of 14 in Tralee
1,102 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Grand Hotel Tralee
The Grand Hotel Tralee
#8 of 14 in Tralee
836 reviews
16.8 mi away
Lake Hotel
Lake Hotel
#8 of 38 in Killarney
2,111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ballygarry House Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ballygarry House Hotel & Spa

Property: Ballygarry House Hotel & Spa
Address: Leebrook, Tralee V92 W279, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Tralee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Tralee
#1 Family Hotel in Tralee
#1 Romantic Hotel in Tralee
#2 Business Hotel in Tralee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ballygarry House Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Named in the top 10 of hotels in Ireland on TripAdvisor, the 4 star Ballygarry House Hotel in Tralee Co. Kerry has been in the same family for over 50 years & owner Padraig McGillicuddy knows how to make you feel at home. The hotel's warm interior offers plenty of corners to hide away with a good book to indulge in afternoon tea, and Brooks restaurant serves modern Irish cuisine using the best of local Kerry produce. The Brasserie at Ballygarry House offers casual dining daily from 12.30. This Kerry Hotel provides visitors with the perfect base to explore Kerry and The Wild Atlantic Way with plenty of attractions and activities nearby. No visit to Ballygarry Hotel Tralee is complete without a visit to Nadur Spa which offers traditional Irish Seaweed Soaks as well as hot tub, thermal suite & rejuvenating mud wraps. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and Hotel.de so you can book your Ballygarry House Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ballygarry House Hotel Tralee
Ballygarry House Hotel And Spa
Ballygarry Hotel Tralee

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing