We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value for money”
Review of Brandon Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Brandon Hotel
Ranked #13 of 14 Hotels in Tralee
Reviewed February 20, 2011

Staff very Friendly, ok not the fanciest hotel in the world and yes our room could have been a bit more modern but as regards service,value and location couldn't be better.

  • Stayed: February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank S1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (346)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

214 - 220 of 346 reviews

Reviewed September 17, 2010

I stayed there for three nights.
Excellent location, free parking. Within walking distance of centre of town.
Very friendly staff, Arrived at 9.00AM the first morning to see if I could drop my bag there - I was given my room straightaway.
Amazing value for money.
As mentioned the hotel could do with a little re-vamping, but other than that no real issues.
I did not have an evening meal there. I was tempted and checked out the menu on display. There was no price eveident for the set menu, and the selection on offer seemed a little dated (when I see 'Fan of melon' I get a little worried ........)

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank santiagowalking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2010

Just back from a night in Brandon Hotel, one of the biggest nights of the year in Tralee, the Rose Parade. Stayed for one night here and was very dissapponted. In its day it was the big name in Tralee but it is now tired and out dated. The double room was tiny and the furniture and bed linen needs a revamping. The breakfast was hit and miss and a word about the gents toilet in the bar----clean it please.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rocky096
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2010

Just back from weekend visit to The Brandon and have almost all positive comments to make. Booked this 2night room only stay thru the Supervalu promotions - €98 room only for the two nights. Found this great value altogether as we were also bringing our two children, 3yrs and 11 mths respectively. We were going to Tralee for a family confirmation on the Friday and the location was ideal, v central to everything. We normally stay in the 4 star Manor West Hotel which is quite swanky but a little out of town and not overly child friendly.

The only negative comment, and its more a note to management really, is that on the morning we were due to arrive I rang the hotel to see if it was possible to get a second room just to put the baby's cot in as she had been unwell the previous night, and we were worried if she woke she would disturb the 3 yr old and we were worried two small crying kids would obviously be a huge disturbance to other guests. The rather bored sounding reservations lady told me it would cost €120 for a second room and there was one available. I explained our original booking was only €98 and we simply wanted a space to put a cot.. We weren't trying to get a second room to stuff 20 undisclosed guests in... we didn't require the room to have bedding, or even beds, the toilet could be locked etc etc. However, it would still have cost €120, more than double our original rate. So we obviously declined, but think in this day and age hotels turning down extra money for v little is a bit silly. WE would have happily paid €50/€60 for the extra 6sq foot space and would have been delighted to have been accommodated ('scuse teh pun).

Anyway, upon arrival found the hotel nicer than expected. Quite modern yet traditional feel. In parts of hotel, en route to leisure centre etc, communal halls etc, you could see the age of the hotel, areas could benefit from freshening up. But the reception, bar, restaurant and rooms were lovely and modern. We were surprised at the generous proportions of our room. It easily held a double, a single and the cot. The bathroom was nice and modern and the room appeared spotless... well until we moved our son's bed so it was against a wall on one side, under the bed was fairly manky but, in fairness, we wouldn't have discovered this if not for moving things around.

The staff were all lovely, in particular a middle aged lady serving the food in the bar. And the bar man too. Made a big fuss of our little boy and gave him a bag of crisps. 80c of customer service that will go a long way! We ate in the bar the second night and the food was quite good. The menu was a little limited, i would have like a rice/pasta dish, but other than a tomato spaghetti dish, most meals were burger/steak sandwich/toastie etc served with chips. Had a toasted special in the end and it was grand (well how could you mess that up). Hubby had the burger and said it was v good. Saw the spag dish on another table and it was looked like soggy pasta swimming in a jar of Ragu. ... Prices in the bar were quite reasonable and nice relaxed atmosphere for a Saturday family evening. Service was v good, staff lovely.

Leisure centre was fine. . Bit old fashioned, no kids pool, but adequate and clean. Lovely receptionist too.

Best of the stay : The BEDS! Extremely comfortable beds, including my son's single. (can't vouch for the cot but baby had no complaints).

Worst: Fire alarm sounded at 8.15am on the Sat morn and went off for a good 5 mins. We were up already at that point of course with two smallies but would Not Have Been Impressed if having nice lie in!

All in all i'd recommend it, especiallly if you getting the great value rates that can be picked up thru supervalu etc. Good central location too, 2 mins walk to main st, across from AquaDome.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RosCork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2010

Good location as you're about 2 min walk from the town's shopping plus there's free parking out the back of the hotel.

Good enough facilities with decent gym & lovely pool area. There's a spa upstairs from the leisure centre but we didn't use it. The pub had good bar food & was really good value. Rooms were clean and roomy (had free wifi too), staff were friendly and we were made to feel welcome.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GreenRambler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2010

old now....needs to catch up with newer hotels in tralee.....rooms need make over....staff also a bit tired.....food in bar very good.....toilets in bar excellent.......lovely location.....but but but...........

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tomhannon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2010

Booked for a quick weekend away trip. Excellent price! Had a lovely time. helpful staff and nice central location.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EIRERR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tralee hotels
0.5 mi away
The Rose Hotel
The Rose Hotel
#7 of 14 in Tralee
650 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Grand Hotel Tralee
The Grand Hotel Tralee
#8 of 14 in Tralee
883 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Ashe Hotel
The Ashe Hotel
#2 of 14 in Tralee
684 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Tralee Benners Hotel
Tralee Benners Hotel
#9 of 14 in Tralee
194 reviews
1.4 mi away
Manor West Hotel
Manor West Hotel
#5 of 14 in Tralee
783 reviews
1.0 mi away
Meadowlands Hotel
Meadowlands Hotel
#4 of 14 in Tralee
549 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brandon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brandon Hotel

Address: Princes Street, Tralee, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Tralee
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 14 Hotels in Tralee
Price Range: $99 - $142 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Brandon Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 185
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whatever the occasion, the Brandon Hotel Conference & Leisure Centre Tralee offers you a warm and friendly welcome in the heart of Tralee. Only minutes walk from Tralee town centre, it is the perfect location to relax after doing a spot of shopping, taking in the sights of Kerry or sampling the nightlife in Tralee. The Brandon Hotel encapsulates timeless elegance with comfort,and the names has long since been synonymous with quality since it opened in 1966. Guests enjoy an outstanding service, a charming and friendly atmosphere and traditionally furnished surroundings, not to mention state-of-the-art leisure facilities and a purpose-built conference centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Brandon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brandon Hotel Tralee

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing