We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great location needs revamping”
Review of Brandon Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Brandon Hotel
Ranked #13 of 14 Hotels in Tralee
Reviewed May 7, 2008

Just back from a weekend in the brandon, travelled on the supervalu promotion giving us two night b&B and one eveing meal for 99 euro per person sharing. just like it says on the tin " supervalue" the hotel location is excellent and you can avoid most of the traffic by using the ring road. The rooms are dated and need redecorating but clean and we asked for tea making facilities which they supplied , the breakfast was good except for people who didnt go for the full irish , then the choice of pastries was limited, The meal included in our package was only ok, the service was shocking, with about 20 mins between courses , we sat at 6.30 and didnt get finished till almost 8.30 my starter was seafood salad it was tastless, but the others chose a filo pastry with chicken and mushrooms and they were quite pleased with it. The main meal was nice but spoiled by the amount of time we sat waiting, It was location that brought us to this hotel and the only thing that would bring us back there, until the rooms are updated and the service improved. Saying that the staff are friednly and helpful .

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank louCork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (347)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

232 - 238 of 347 reviews

Reviewed April 16, 2008

Hotel too busy but the gym and the swimming pool nice.
We were in the old part of the hotel I found our bedrrom a little bit too old (No 302), dusty carpet. Staff friendly. The breakfast could have been a little bit more continental I think.

  • Stayed: April 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank barbaraDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2008

The hotel was part of a package which we took for a junior rugby festival. Our party of 53 (including parents and kids playing) were placed on the 2nd floor.

The rugby festival was more-or-less rained off so we had plenty of time in the hotel.

Good things:
1. Location - a short stroll into Tralee;
2. Staff - handled lots of kids running around well
3. Swimming pool and jacuzzi - the kids loved it.
4. They produced an iron when requested.
5. Room was comfortable and clean.
6. Hotel bar had a good atmosphere
7. Large Residents lounge was ideal for the kids to hang out in

Bad things:
1. Ask for a room facing the back. My room faced the front and was noisy from the traffic at night and early in the morning.
2. Shower curtain (round bath) a bit cramped but plenty of hot water.

The gym looked excellent but I didn't use it. The whole pool area was pleasant and had a jacuzzi, sauna, etc.

Breakfast was OK. I stuck to the cooked stuff which was filling and warm but very definitely mass catering.

The hotel didn't really bring any strong feeling out in me either way. It did the job.

Stayed: March 2005
1  Thank drc225
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2007

My room was on the second floor. I could have been the first person to stay in the room as it was spotlessly clean. Lovely bathroom and a comfortable bed.

The breakfast was OK.
All the basics were to be had (cerials / fry / tea / toast / juice)
There could have been a bit more variety though such as a selection of cheeses / breads and cold meats.
All the fruit bowls seemed to contain tinned fruit with the exception of a bowl of banannas. Freshly prepared fruit salad would have been good.

TV and radio channels could be sorted better. I was hoping to listen to TodayFM in the morning but it wasnt available.

Staff were friendly.

  • Stayed: December 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Rince_Sporium
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2007

We booked through the Supervalu breaks, and really enjoyed the 3 night stay. The first night we had our evening meal at the restaurant which was terrible. Our Starter was spring rolls and they were soggy and oily, the steak was over cooked and chewy. However the breakfast was fab. They used the best of meats, fruits and cereals. All the staff were very attentive. The rooms are basic, but comfortable. Our room was cleaned and taken care of everyday. Overall I would stay at the Brandon again.

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank irishlasswicklow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2007

I have stayed in this hotel for three years every November and love the place. Am always greeted with friendly warm staff everytime I go there. The rooms are standard but comfortable and clean. The staff in the hotel bar and restaurant were great and very helpful towards us and dealt with complaints in a good manner. I love this hotel alot and am going back there in two weeks

  • Stayed: November 2006, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank TipperaryAmi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2007

I had heard The Brandon had been renovated over the past few years and I know it to be a very good central location for staying in Tralee Town. Booked in there for 1 night last week - I was offered a standard room for €50 @ head including breakfast, or €75 @ head includ breakfast for a superior room, I chose the superior room. Upon arrival at the reception desk, I said oh boy this doesn't bode well,,,,,,,,; The 2 receptionists gave me a glance and continued what they were doing - No Hello Welcome to our Hotel or anything along those lines. Then they checked us in, you can see they were more interested in prioritising whatever work they were doing behind the counter instead of welcoming 2 guests to the hotel - one was on her computer, one was filing around - We were the only guests at check in at the time. Actually a delivery man came in and was greeted with pleasantries & more attention than we were. So off we went to our superior room - It was on the new side of the hotel - the receptionists let us go off to the lift which wasn't even the correct lift for our side of the building - we found this out up at the final floor option - 4. Our Room was on floor 5, so off we went down again and found the other lift. With our cases, no offer of a porter along the way.
Our room - it was fine - it certainly wasn't a superior room. Both lampshades on the bedside lockers was hanging sideways broken. the towels were sufficient - i.e. 1 bath towel each, 2 hand towels, obviously very old towels. There was a dirty sock from possibly the previous occupants of the room, under the dresser. Nothing 'superior' in the room as would be standard for a superior room; i.e. robes/ slippers/ not a bottle of water. The bed was comfortable, the main bed linen was clean, the covers are obviously re-used in my opinion, so I didn't dwell on that, being there for only one night.... the sock was enough for me to get over.
The Bar; staff were very friendly, service was excellent. Food was very good casual bar food.
The Spa; very very good, treatments quality, staffs attention to detail excellent & lovely surrounds.
Breakfast - oh lord - last call as such is 10:30 - we arrived at 10:32 being honest - they were wrapping up shop like there was a function due in on top of them - when all they were doing was prepping it up again for the next morning. no need for all the clattering, rushing about, making everyone feel like we better get a spoon to mouth fast before its taken away from us. The room breakfast is served in, is quite simply old, fading shabby decor.

I deal with hotels around ireland regularly on a corporate level - I certainly wont be paying the brandon hotel another visit. There is no need to stay at a hotel of this caliber in this day and age when there are so many better options, I would say even guest houses would top the brandon. I was disappointed to say the least.

Stayed: October 2007
5  Thank JP1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tralee hotels
0.5 mi away
The Rose Hotel
The Rose Hotel
#7 of 14 in Tralee
660 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Grand Hotel Tralee
The Grand Hotel Tralee
#8 of 14 in Tralee
884 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Ashe Hotel
The Ashe Hotel
#2 of 14 in Tralee
693 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Tralee Benners Hotel
Tralee Benners Hotel
#9 of 14 in Tralee
194 reviews
1.4 mi away
Manor West Hotel
Manor West Hotel
#4 of 14 in Tralee
785 reviews
1.0 mi away
Meadowlands Hotel
Meadowlands Hotel
#5 of 14 in Tralee
549 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brandon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brandon Hotel

Address: Princes Street, Tralee, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Tralee
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 14 Hotels in Tralee
Price Range: $99 - $141 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Brandon Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 185
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whatever the occasion, the Brandon Hotel Conference & Leisure Centre Tralee offers you a warm and friendly welcome in the heart of Tralee. Only minutes walk from Tralee town centre, it is the perfect location to relax after doing a spot of shopping, taking in the sights of Kerry or sampling the nightlife in Tralee. The Brandon Hotel encapsulates timeless elegance with comfort,and the names has long since been synonymous with quality since it opened in 1966. Guests enjoy an outstanding service, a charming and friendly atmosphere and traditionally furnished surroundings, not to mention state-of-the-art leisure facilities and a purpose-built conference centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Brandon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brandon Hotel Tralee

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing