We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“expected better”
Review of Brandon Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Brandon Hotel
Ranked #13 of 14 Hotels in Tralee
Reviewed July 31, 2012

We have just returned from a 2night stay in The brandon in tralee. . I was expecting it to be better than it was. . on arrival they gave us a room at back of the hotel which was overlooking a dirty yard with rubbish thrown around and a view of gas bottles. . i immediatly went down to reception and requested to be moved which i was with out any problem . . this double room was very small and with no air conditioning it was that warm we had to ask for a fan to cool the room. .,The staff were excellent and couldnt do enough for us. . on our check out morning our room was entered by cleaning staff at 8.25am.This should be adressed as our check out time was not till 11am. I did say it at reception on leaving which the receptionist did say was wrong and she would check it out. .

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank martinatynanconroy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (349)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

176 - 182 of 349 reviews

Reviewed July 15, 2012

Firstly I would like to say thank you to Mr Stepen Quinn manager,Noreen,Sean,Aldo in catering and all of the staff at the Brandon and I do mean all of the staff.We found this hotel to be the most friendly and generious,clean,food was delicious and varied.No pressure at meal times,rooms spotless and tidy.We would recommend this hotel to all ages.

Room Tip: ask for high floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank thackabr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2012

This Hotel is a gem. Old but not aged, and a cosy place to stay. The Brandon offers a warm welcome to all who arrive. Room was ready and spotless as was the bathroom.
Breakfast was top class and on white linen too. Free parking, wifi, and staff are wonderful.
This hotel is not what some posts report as I was surprised to find and would recommend this Tralee hotel tp all.

Room Tip: Good very well run hotel you are made to feel welcom in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Thomas C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2012

Firstly let me start buy saying that the staff here are fantastic and are as accommodating as can be. Unfortunately, the hotel itself is in dire need of a make over. We stayed in a family room for a short break and the 1st room we were assigned was totally unacceptable. The door did not lock and the heating did not work and as it was October it was very cold in the room. They moved us to another room, which was better but was also freezing. They did provide us with a roll away heater for the room which warmed it up nicely. The corridors are very dark and very dated looking. It's a shame they don't take better care of the hotel as it is in a very convenient location and the staff are wonderful. I think the building itself is need of some TLC.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cathy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2012

Just back from a short break at The Brandon, had a great stay, very relaxing, had bar food one evening, great food, good value & atmosphere, staff very good, very professional Manager (think his name was david) sorted out a small problem asap, didnt have time to visit the lesiure centre, maybe next tie, well done all!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Irene H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2012

Went to Tralee with one my friends for a child-free, care free weekend this June Weekend to let off some steam. We got a bargain online, and no preconceptions about what to expect.

The staff bent over backwards to look after us, and were extremely friendly and efficient. I work in the service industry, in a quite successful business so my standards are high regarding service. I could not fault the service and welcome we got. Ian who works in the bar does indeed make a fine Irish coffee, one of the best I have had in a while.

The only fault I would really report is the dated decor, it does need updating, the bedcovers were stained and I didn't really like the two beds pushed together to make a double scenario. I would imagine the bathroom had recently been updated as this was up to the standard I would expect.

All in all we had a great weekend, and both of us said we would go back, either our respective families in tow or on another girlie break.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Birdie086
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2012

I stayed here with my partner as we were attending a wedding nearby and got a fantastic rate on the room for the night. The staff on reception were very friendly and helpful, had no problem arranging taxis for us back and forth and even rang our room when the taxis were outside. Room was nice and clean and most importantly quiet. We fell in love with the power shower in the room. And the bed was very very comfortable. Breakfast was lovely and hot, we had the full Irish but there were cereals and fruits available too. We had free parking as residents which was very handy especially as it's right in the center of town. Unfortunately we didn't get a chance to use the pool but maybe next time.
The only downside was that the room could use a lick of paint but it must be impossible to keep the paintwork intact with people constantly bringing in and out luggage so this didn't bother me. The view was of the back of the hotel but again it didn't bother us as we were just using the room to sleep in and it was very quiet. Would definitely return especially due to the staff.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Catherine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tralee hotels
0.5 mi away
The Rose Hotel
The Rose Hotel
#7 of 14 in Tralee
689 reviews
9.9 mi away
Manor West Hotel
Manor West Hotel
#3 of 14 in Tralee
793 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Ashe Hotel
The Ashe Hotel
#2 of 14 in Tralee
722 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Grand Hotel Tralee
The Grand Hotel Tralee
#8 of 14 in Tralee
894 reviews
0.3 mi away
Tralee Benners Hotel
Tralee Benners Hotel
#9 of 14 in Tralee
196 reviews
1.0 mi away
Meadowlands Hotel
Meadowlands Hotel
#6 of 14 in Tralee
562 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brandon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brandon Hotel

Address: Princes Street, Tralee, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Tralee
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 14 Hotels in Tralee
Price Range: $92 - $140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Brandon Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 185
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whatever the occasion, the Brandon Hotel Conference & Leisure Centre Tralee offers you a warm and friendly welcome in the heart of Tralee. Only minutes walk from Tralee town centre, it is the perfect location to relax after doing a spot of shopping, taking in the sights of Kerry or sampling the nightlife in Tralee. The Brandon Hotel encapsulates timeless elegance with comfort,and the names has long since been synonymous with quality since it opened in 1966. Guests enjoy an outstanding service, a charming and friendly atmosphere and traditionally furnished surroundings, not to mention state-of-the-art leisure facilities and a purpose-built conference centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your Brandon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brandon Hotel Tralee

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing