We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A dated property in serious need of renovation”
Review of Brandon Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Brandon Hotel
Ranked #12 of 14 Hotels in Tralee
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
36 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A dated property in serious need of renovation”
Reviewed October 7, 2011

The Brandon Hotel has the feel of a place that was probably chic in the mid-1980s and has not been updated since. The carpets are worn and the entire property looks old and franly dated. The rooms are old-fashioned and the colour schemes reflect what one might imagine to find in a hospital or even a reformatory.

The bathroom was nice and looked like it had recently been renovated. The television in my room didn't work but that wasn't a major issue. I was surprised, however, that the broken television was not noted by the staff before I arrived.

Leisure facilities were fine but overall the Brandon needs a bit of money spent and a lick of paint.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dubsthcentralboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

311 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    93
    88
    42
    28
See reviews for
58
103
19
43
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Whitegate, Ireland
Level Contributor
66 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2011

We arrived at the Brandon on Saturday evening and were greeted by a lovely lady called Eileen. I had booked the hotel the previous week for 3 nights as it was our Silver Wedding Anniversary, we got a lovely room on the 5th floor and it was absolutely shining. Perfectly located directly across from the lift! Room was very comfortable and a fine sized en suite. We ordered breakfast in bed on sunday morning and this was delivered at 10.00am, piping hot and very tasty. Just one small problem in the mornings, when on holidays we are not early risers and on sunday morning we had the cleaners knocking on the door to clean the room at approx 10.30 and again on Monday morning we were awoken at 9.30 to have the room cleaned. This might be something that managment might like to take into account! Other than that we had a lovely stay in the Brandon and would have no problem recommending it to friends. Great value and great location

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank joannoel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
99 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2011

Stayed overnight in September 2011. Hotel is very clean and comfortable. Breakfast was fine with a good selection of fruit, cereals and the usual Irish fry.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank brendywell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 10, 2011

Hotel was too expensive for what you get. Its def not value for money room could do with a major facelift ! Furniture was old fashioned. Stains on some of the bed linen. The scrambled egg for breakfast was awful, very basic hotel. Def wont stay again..

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Elizabeth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Tralee hotels

Drogheda, Ireland
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2011

I stayed at the Brandon for the first time on a business trip. The Hotel is situated virtually in the centre of Tralee with free Hotel parking avaialble at the rear for Hotel guests. I found the staff in all areas very polite, helpful and ultra efficient in their various duties from reception, to bar & retaturant.Breakfast was good, plentiful with the hot breakfast buffet regularly replenished. I stayed on the fifth floor and had a large room with two seater couch, loads of storage, tea/coffee facility and spotless bathroom. Perhaps these were superior rooms, but I would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel for a visit to Tralee. Free Wifi was extreemly handy and a nice touch.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chico_Drogheda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limerick, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 17, 2011

We stayed at the Brandon in August this year..we had a great trip..check in was very efficient and very helpful with the children, Anne was the lady in Reception and she took time to tell us where to go and what to do..Bridie & Nora in the restaurant were great..the food was lovely..the rooms were lovely and the staff are very welcoming..definitely go back there..Tralee is very central

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shelly186621
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meath
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2011

My husband & I stayed at The Brandon for 2 nights last wk along with my sister & her husband.
Staff at reception were lovely & very welcoming. Bedrooms were spotless & had a very modern bathroom. We ate in the restaurant on the 1st night & had the bar food on the 2nd both very tasty.
The hotel is in the center of the town & about 2 min walk from all the good bars.
We really enjoyed our stay here & will definitely stay again. What really makes this hotel stand out from the other more modern hotels we stayed in was the amazing staff, they were so happy, friendly & welcoming & could not do enough for you.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MeathMac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tralee hotels
0.4 mi away
The Ashe Hotel
The Ashe Hotel
#2 of 14 in Tralee
521 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Rose Hotel
The Rose Hotel
#5 of 14 in Tralee
432 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Grand Hotel Tralee
The Grand Hotel Tralee
#8 of 14 in Tralee
836 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.5 mi away
Manor West Hotel
Manor West Hotel
#3 of 14 in Tralee
697 reviews
1.1 mi away
Meadowlands Hotel
Meadowlands Hotel
#7 of 14 in Tralee
506 reviews
2.2 mi away
Ballygarry House Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brandon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brandon Hotel

Property: Brandon Hotel
Address: Princes Street, Tralee, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Tralee
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 14 Hotels in Tralee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Brandon Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 185
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whatever the occasion, the Brandon Hotel Conference & Leisure Centre Tralee offers you a warm and friendly welcome in the heart of Tralee. Only minutes walk from Tralee town centre, it is the perfect location to relax after doing a spot of shopping, taking in the sights of Kerry or sampling the nightlife in Tralee. The Brandon Hotel encapsulates timeless elegance with comfort,and the names has long since been synonymous with quality since it opened in 1966. Guests enjoy an outstanding service, a charming and friendly atmosphere and traditionally furnished surroundings, not to mention state-of-the-art leisure facilities and a purpose-built conference centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Priceline so you can book your Brandon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brandon Hotel Tralee

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing