We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Earl of Desmond Hotel
Nearby Hotels
$135
$123
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$125
$93
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$203
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tralee Benners Hotel(Tralee)(Great Value!)
$125
$120
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$140
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$149
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$117
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Tralee Townhouse(Tralee)(Great Value!)
$82
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
The Willows(Tralee)
$86
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Glenduff Manor(Tralee)(Great Value!)
$94
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (379)
Filter reviews
379 results
Traveler rating
142
106
67
33
31
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
142
106
67
33
31
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscoach tripnational holidayscaledonian travelgb toursnational coachshower screencourse evening mealcoach partyentertainment every nightdining roomthe ground floorfresh towelsbusy roadpiping hotlovely hotelring of kerrylovely grounds
Filter
Updating list...
303 - 308 of 379 reviews
Reviewed May 30, 2009

First of all, the decor was from the 1970s. The bed was horrible and the sideboard was chipped everywhere. The breakfast consisted of really cheap meat, with rashers that were so salty, they were inedible. Nasty breakfast all round.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Colm_Br
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2008

I stayed in the Earl of Desmond recently for one night. My room looked liked something from the 1970s, no way is this hotel worthy of 3 stars. It took me about 35mins to check in as a bus tour had arrived at the same time. A wedding was on in the hotel that night which ensured I didn't get to sleep until 7:30am. Following that I didn't want to check out at 11am as I hadn't slept the previous night but the housekeeping manager actually arrived into my hotel room shouting to leave the hotel, this was 11:10am and check out is 11:00am. She spoke in the coarsest fashion. I have never experienced such treatment in a hotel. I will not be returning.................

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Rua331
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2008

booked for st. patricks day with national holidays,stayed four nights, room toasty warm when we arrived, clean & spacious. food lovely and plenty of. staff excellent the resturant runs like clockwork and the staff are around several times with tea & coffee. entertainment was for the ballroom dancers only. would recomend to anybody. HAVE A GREAT HOLIDAY!

  • Stayed: March 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank flying123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2008

arrived sunday .monday mid afternoon no water due to burst water main on hotel property . tuesday pm still no water . could not wash or toilet or personal hygeine .confronted management 24 hours after it went off reply was from managment was what do you want me to do about it after a few heated words the only solution he gave was to give me 2 small bottles of water .meanwhile toilets full faceaces water came on 8pm .absolutly disgusted with attitude from senior staff .mr white please note there is traininig for staff ie customer care and public relations which he would have failed, mrs m ord marjorieord@hotmail.co.uk

Stayed: March 2008
4  Thank marjorieord
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2007

We stayed here for 3 nights whilst on tour. The rooms are pleasant and quite roomy. The food was OK. The furniture and carpets are cheap and scruffy. We felt quite trapped, as the hotel is a couple of miles from anywhere, on a busy main road, so you can't walk into town. We found the road noise quite wearing, but city dwellers might not notice it!
The bed linen was scratchy and synthetic, and the pillows are the sort you buy for a couple of pounds in the market - really uncomfortable.
Our biggest complaint is that in the guest rooms is a notice saying the tap water must be boiled before drinking! This is simply unacceptable when you are being charged 200 euros for a double room! Come on, Ireland isn't the third world!

  • Stayed: October 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DevonGrockle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews