We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Our Wedding”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Earl of Desmond Hotel
Ranked #10 of 14 Hotels in Tralee
Cavan, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Our Wedding”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2014

We had our wedding on the 28th June 2014, Ourselves and most of our guests stayed for the weekend, We were greeted by smiling and very friendly staff, This continued throughout the hotel, Our rooms the food and the staff were fantastic and nothing was to much trouble, Our wedding day was a fantastic day thanks to all the staff and their efficiency, I would like to thank them all and would strongly recommend The Earl Of Desmond for a weekend away or a wedding or just an overnight stay, I would also say a special thank you to Norella and Mark see you all again soon, There are lovely grounds to the hotel for photographs or just to have a relaxing stroll through.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NorellaMansfield, Manager at The Earl of Desmond Hotel, responded to this review, August 1, 2014
Dear David & Rebecca,

We hope you are both well, and enjoying married life!

Thank you both for your recent, wonderful review. We are delighted that ye were both so happy with your wedding day, and it was our absolute pleasure to look after you both and your guests.

We look forward to seeing you both again very soon and we wish ye a lifetime of happiness!

Kind Regards,
Norella Mansfield.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

327 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    121
    94
    55
    29
    28
See reviews for
57
115
13
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
114 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2014

We chose a visit to Southern Ireland on a holiday encompassing our Golden Wedding day with GB Travel. The driver, Mark ,was cheerful and had a knowledge of all places of interest on the journey.
After a long coach and sea journey we arrived at about 9.45 pm and the hotel had a hot meal ready for us. Most welcome after a long journey.
The staff in all areas were most friendly and attentive. One of the receptionists, Louise, had been contacted previously by my daughter and had arranged for a beautiful bouquet of flowers, a box of chocolates and a card to be delivered to our room on the actual day,
The meals were excellent with a good choice of starters, main courses and sweets.
The arrangements for the meal times depended on the timing of coaches arriving or leaving as there were several coaches to be considered, usually about six.
The head waitress, serving and kitchen staff were all extremely helpful if you asked for any variation to your meal.
Outside the dining room is a beautiful garden and extensive grounds if you like to walk.
There was entertainment each evening in the bar area
The room was really good having recently been refurbished complete with a carpet that was very similar to the one we have in our lounge.
The Hotel is a little way out from Tralee and not really within walking distance but the taxis are quite reasonable if there are four of you travelling. .

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are away from the road, which is a fair distance away anyway, but I think would be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank johnjoan47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NorellaMansfield, Manager at The Earl of Desmond Hotel, responded to this review, August 1, 2014
Dear joanjohn47,

Many thanks for your recent review.

We are delighted that your Golden Wedding Anniversary was such a memorable one, and that we could be of assistance in organising a gift from your daughter!

We have passed your kind comments onto all the team here, we are very lucky to have a dedicated, hardworking team of staff with us, who will constantly strive to ensure every need of all our guests is catered for, and also to our maintenance team, who look after our gardens so well.

We hope to see you back here again very soon, and Congratulations on your Golden Anniversary!
Kind Regards,
Norella Mansfield.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2014

Caledonian Travel Coach Trip - excellent value for money, the hotel, the food and the staff was all fantastic, the restaurant being overseen by an extremely competent head waitress, who despite having to deal with several coaches at a time did so with great precision and her waiting staff were all extremely helpful
A wee word of thanks also to our driver Jake who was very kind and helpful to all on our trip.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 186534Phil19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NorellaMansfield, Manager at The Earl of Desmond Hotel, responded to this review, August 1, 2014
Dear 186534Phil19,

Many thanks for your recent review.

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We have passed your comments onto Irene, our Restaurant Manager, who does such a great job of overseeing service nightly and also to the rest of the team.

We hope to welcome you back to the Earl of Desmond Hotel very soon,
Kind Regards,
Norella Mansfield.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glasgow
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2014

Just back from a great holiday with Caledonian Tours, lovely hotel great food the service from the staff were second to none, a great choice of food, and the gardens were absolutely beautiful, there was entertainment in the evenings, it was just a short distance from Tralee, would certainly recommend this Hotel.

Room Tip: My friend and I were on the ground floor, my other friends were on the second floor we could honestl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank issaybon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NorellaMansfield, Manager at The Earl of Desmond Hotel, responded to this review, August 1, 2014
Dear issaybon,

Many thanks for your recent review.

We are delighted to hear that you would recommend us, and that you enjoyed your stay with us so much.

We constantly strive to ensure the highest standards of customer service are reached, and will pass your kind comments onto all the team here.

We hope to see you back here again very soon,

Kind Regards,
Norella Mansfield.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerry
Level Contributor
60 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2014 via mobile

My husband,my 9 year old & I ate in the bar in this hotel last Sunday. We really enjoyed our meal, we all had a starter,main course & a dessert, all for a very affordable €39.00. The staff were really friendly and helpful. The bar was very comfortable,it was very busy while we were there.We will definetly be back for lunch again.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kerryholidaymaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
triplover51, General Manager at The Earl of Desmond Hotel, responded to this review, August 2, 2014
We thank you for your kind words, and are delighted that you had a great Sunday Lunch. Our €30 menu is now running for 2 Adults and up to 2 Children for Mains and Desert. We look forward to seeing You and the Family again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East yorkshire england
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2014

Just back from a five day holiday with National Holidays,so pleased with this Hotel the choice and quality of the meals and service were first class,the Hotel provided entertainment every night ,you could get a taxi into Tralee about 10 euro if you wanted to try a traditional irish pub,we had our irish coffee and tried a Guinness on our lunch time stop during our day trips,the Hotel rooms were large with tea coffee and hairdryer flat screen tv ,large bathroom and clean towels every day,also the gardens were lovely you could sit outside with a drink in the sun

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marjorie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NorellaMansfield, Manager at The Earl of Desmond Hotel, responded to this review, August 2, 2014
Dear Marjorie B,

Many thanks for your recent, wonderful review of the Earl of Desmond.

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your beak with us so much, and have passed all your compliments onto the team here.

We hope to see you back again soon,

Kindest Regards,
Norella Mansfield.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clydebank, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2014

I went to this hotel on a Caledonian travel holiday and can honestly say it was one of the best hotels .I have ever holidayed in.The staff are all so friendly .There is a great choice of meals on the menu and nothing is too much bother for the staff.Very quick service.The rooms are very nice and my bed was so clean and comfortable The bathroom had a bath with shower and was very clean.Towels changed every day.There is entertainment every evening,,,,A couple of night tradional Irish singing and dancing and the other nights very good singers..I really cannot find anything wrong in this hotel.

Room Tip: I had a room facing the back and it was lovely and roomy,,,,not cramped like some I have stayed in o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mags1045
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NorellaMansfield, Manager at The Earl of Desmond Hotel, responded to this review, August 2, 2014
Dear mags1045,

Many thanks for your recent wonderful review of the hotel.

We have passed your kind words onto the team here, who always strive to make sure our guests are well looked after and leave the hotel happy and relaxed!

We hope to welcome you back again in the future,

Kindest Regards,
Norella Mansfield.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tralee hotels
3.1 mi away
The Ashe Hotel
The Ashe Hotel
#2 of 14 in Tralee
4.5 of 5 bubbles 478 reviews
7.3 mi away
Manor West Hotel
Manor West Hotel
#3 of 14 in Tralee
4.5 of 5 bubbles 669 reviews
1.1 mi away
Ballygarry House Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
The Rose Hotel
The Rose Hotel
#6 of 14 in Tralee
4.5 of 5 bubbles 354 reviews
3.1 mi away
The Grand Hotel Tralee
The Grand Hotel Tralee
#8 of 14 in Tralee
4.5 of 5 bubbles 820 reviews
2.8 mi away
Meadowlands Hotel
Meadowlands Hotel
#7 of 14 in Tralee
4.5 of 5 bubbles 483 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Earl of Desmond Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Earl of Desmond Hotel

Property: The Earl of Desmond Hotel
Address: N21 | Ballyseedy, Tralee, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Tralee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Tralee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Earl of Desmond Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 155
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Earl of Desmond Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Earl Desmond Hotel Tralee
Earl Of Desmond Tralee
Earl Of Desmond Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing