We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“One of the best 3* I've stayed in” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Earl of Desmond Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Earl of Desmond Hotel
Ranked #10 of 14 Hotels in Tralee
Cork
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“One of the best 3* I've stayed in”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2013

Let me start off by saying some comments below about how bad this hotel is, are misleading.
I got a great deal for a night with Breakfast so my expectations weren't very high going in.

As I mentioned, I wasn't expecting much but was I shocked when I got to my room. I was on the ground floor. There was a massive bed in the room, loads of space and the bathroom was like a 5*(IMO). There was no bath but I wasn't too worried about that. It had clearly being recently renovated and a great job was done. The decor in the room is out of date but it's not an expensive hotel to be fair so you shouldn't be expected the latest decor etc etc.
It was very clean also so I was happy with that and indeed, the whole hotel was spotless.

The staff are nothing short of excellent! Very nice and friendly. The next morning I went down for Breakfast close to the finishing up time for breakfast. The whole room had already been transformed for the bus tours expected later in the day but I was seen to straight away and a full Irish was got.(One of the best Full Irish's I've had to date in a hotel) I was trying to eat quick as I didn't want to be holding them up because I was late for b/fast but there was no problem. They even got more toast and tea for me and to stay an extra hour if I wanted because they were working till that time so didn't mind.

My only flaws with the hotel are as mentioned in other reviews, is the Location, it is a bit out of town so not walking distance but a short taxi drive. I also like to have a fridge in my room as I usually bring my own Milk(Can't stand that UHT stuff!) but there was none. Only a minor thing, I wouldn't knock the hotel for not having one.

Overall, I only stayed one night but would have stayed another and intend to stay there in future if I am down that way again.

Excellent hotel.(Just those 2 small things bring down the rating slightly)

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Ciaran O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

319 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    116
    92
    54
    29
    28
See reviews for
56
112
12
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cumbernauld, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2013

We booked a coach holiday in early August with the "Ryan air" of coach holidays, Caledonian Coaches. This hotel is not within easy reach of Tralee other than by taxi. It is situated on a main road with the a rather off putting sign on the opposite side of the road informing you of the number of deaths on this road!

Having said this the hotel itself was tremendous. The rooms were spacious,the food was fantastic and plentiful. But it was the staff who were the real stars of this hotel always friendly, smiling and no request was too much trouble. They will really make your stay in this hotel memorable.

So if you are happy to stay exclusively at his hotel and enjoy their entertainment at night and go on all the trips that the coach runs then you will enjoy yourself. The real entertainment will have to be provided by yourself as the old boy we had for two nights needed winding up, he was so slow singing! We had an Irish girl staying at the same time and she went on the mike after this old boy on an unofficial basis and she was brilliant! The other lad who entertained us was actually good but he was only on for one day and the Irish crowd had gone on a trip so unfortunately for him the audience was rather subdued. He deserved better!

This holiday is definitely for the serious coach holiday set and if this is you then I can highly recommend this trip. Our driver was both informative and funny and was an asset to his company.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lynchj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2013 via mobile

This hotel was very pleasant after reading reviews had a few doubts, but we found the staff very friendly had a room on the ground floor very clean towels changed every day, food was ok breakfast selection cereals porridge and hot food juice yogurt only thing is the toast was always cold but the waitresses would get you some more if you asked. The evening meal was hot and three choices of starter main and two deserts tea and coffee. Entertainment two nights one singing Irish songs another folk songs didn't like that one and youngsters performing music and Irish dancing.only downside the room faced the main road and noise of traffic.overall I would recommend this hotel.

Stayed September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Maureen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northumberland
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2013

We had a lovely stay here recently and found the staff friendly and efficient.
I describe it as an hotel with two appearances because the ground floor is absolutely lovely 4 or 5 star really. (see photos) The bedrooms on this floor are beautiful too with walk in showers and fully re-fitted.
I am sure the hotel is slowly being updated and that does take time...floor by floor really.
We stayed on the first floor and I have to say I must give the room 10 out of 10 for cleanliness. Clean bedding and towels every day too. We were given a good hospitality tray, hair drier, T.V etc.
I would just like to say that some guests may say that the decor is a little tired....but DO NOT let that put you off. Although it is not as modern as the ground floor it is very comfortable indeed.
I thought the evening meals were O.K ( I am a fussy eater) but my husband really enjoyed them. The staff were very efficient as they had so many hungry guests to feed. The breakfasts were great with lots to choose from.
I am sure you would have a great stay here.

Room Tip: The ground floor rooms are the up dated ones.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LynRogers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool Uk
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2013

A large hotel set in its own grounds about 5 km, from Tralee with no shops or pubs within walking distance. Good rooms and excellent helpful staff especially the restaurent staff who in spite of serving many coach parties at the same time are super efficient and helpful.Evening entertainment was an irish night put on by the local youngsters.

Room Tip: ask for ground floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank captain001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
east yorkshire
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2013

my friend and i went to the earl of Desmond hotel ,just outside Tralee , the hotel was spacious with glass lifts and the room was very comfortable the twin rooms had a double bed and a single the grounds were big and well maintained very nice the food was lovely and always served piping hot the serving staff were brilliant how they coped with so many people was beyond me there was lots of coaches in from England, Germany and France the night entertainment was typically Irish and very lively and in the ballroom were irish dancers excellent our stay was made even better by having an excellent driver Jim and a coach load of very nice friendly people i would recommend this holiday to anyone the places we went to the, ring of Kerry. killarney the Dingle Penisula but the most beautiful place was inch the scenery was to die for i will certainly go again

Room Tip: i dont think it mattered really what room you chose because there were lifts to all floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mammagee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2013

I really tried to like this hotel. I got a great deal on a voucher website but the deal proves you get what you pay for. Very dated interiors. Food and staff are nothing to cheer about. Bed was not comfortable. Seems popular with an older crowd. On a plus it allowed me to explore the ring of Kerry the next day and that was totally amazing

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tralee hotels
1.1 mi away
Ballygarry House Hotel & Spa
2.8 mi away
The Rose Hotel
The Rose Hotel
#8 of 14 in Tralee
4.0 of 5 bubbles 881 reviews
3.1 mi away
The Ashe Hotel
The Ashe Hotel
#2 of 14 in Tralee
4.5 of 5 bubbles 378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Manor West Hotel
Manor West Hotel
#3 of 14 in Tralee
4.5 of 5 bubbles 601 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ballyseede Castle
Ballyseede Castle
#5 of 14 in Tralee
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,037 reviews
2.8 mi away
Meadowlands Hotel
Meadowlands Hotel
#6 of 14 in Tralee
4.5 of 5 bubbles 435 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Earl of Desmond Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Earl of Desmond Hotel

Property: The Earl of Desmond Hotel
Address: N21 | Ballyseedy, Tralee, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Tralee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Tralee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Earl of Desmond Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 155
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Earl of Desmond Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Earl Desmond Hotel Tralee
Earl Of Desmond Tralee
Earl Of Desmond Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing