We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't stay here if you plan to have a drink after midnight!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Earl of Desmond Hotel
Ranked #10 of 14 Hotels in Tralee
Certificate of Excellence
Charleville, Cork, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Don't stay here if you plan to have a drink after midnight!”
Reviewed April 9, 2012

I stayed here at the hotel for a Ball last November. The room was beautifully decorated and modern, also lovely and clean. Staff were friendly, food was lovely. All in all a very pleasant stay.
I only have one complaint - even though we were there for a Ball, they shut the bar at 11.45pm!! Not only that, but they also closed the Residents Bar!! We could not believe our eyes, we all rushed up to the bar and bought a stock of drinks to keep us going for a couple of hours. We weren't planning on staying up all night, but would have at least expected the bar to stay open until 2am! We were cleared out of the function room, so took our drinks to the Reception area. One of our party members is a professional piano player, but the staff locked the piano in reception and wouldn't give out the key. Then 2 members of our party went to their rooms to get a guitar and keyboard - the staff wouldn't let them bring them back down to reception! While we may sound like drunken larger louts who didn't know when to go to bed, we were all actually very sober, and it was the majority of the people who attended the ball that wanted to carry on for a little while, not just a few of us!! Ironically, if they had kept the Residents Bar open, I'm pretty sure with the volume of people that wanted to stay up, one person's wages would have been paid 3 times over in the space of a couple of hours.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Claire S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

356 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    136
    101
    58
    31
    30
See reviews for
64
127
15
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2012

Just spent four days here... Beautiful room, glorious weather and wonderful staff....

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Joan901
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2012

I have NOT stayed in this hotel and nor will I. When phoning to book a room for April at end of February we were asked to phone back on 3rd of march as the hotel was closed. When we phoned back on the 3rd of March we were told to phone back on 11th as they were still closed. I was puzzled by this as there was someone answering the phone. When I asked, the man explained that he had calls diverted to his mobile, I was interrupting him at home and he could not check availability.

He didn't tell us we could book online or offer to check online himself.

I can only assume he can afford to turn down custom.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Travellingnuts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tralee
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed December 20, 2011

Had Sunday lunch there a few days ago and as usual it was excellent and great value...Mark

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2011

We were staying overnight and had booked the room 2 months in advance . We specifcally asked for one of the newly renovated rooms and on arrival we were given a really REALLY bad room. I went to the gentleman on reception and showed him my email to the hotel . His reply was that he couldn't throw out the current guests who had decided to extend their stay.This was very maddening as there had been no wedding in the hotel , we were staying a Friday night so I would assume there no big rush on rooms on a Thursday and he said they had only 12 renovated rooms.
There was no apology . There is no point in using the website's " special request " .
The room was old fashion decor , there was a door to the next guests room and they might have well been in our room as we heard EVERYTHING. The shower rail was broken. The window frames were black with dirt and the items you would expect like a shower cap / iron were absent . The bathroom door wouldn't close properly . I will say the main lobby / dining room and bar were lovely and the breakfast was very good , but there is no room service . The reception staff are not very friendly. I would not recommend anyone to stay in this hotel . It may have been a different story if I had been in one of the renovated rooms .

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Doonan1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2011

Got to be the Best 3 *** Hotel I have ever stayed in,
From the Manager Mark down to the Room maids
you are looked after, Nothing is to much trouble.,
Food First Class, Welcome from Reception was wonderful,
even bar staff wear great.
If you stay YOU WOUNT BE DISERPONTED .

Room Tip: All Rooms First Class
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2011

Picked up from Blackpool 06:40 ,journeyed to Chester ,picked up the coach and driver for the Irish part of the holiday. Then on to Anglesey for the ferry crossing to Dublin . Straight through Dublin and a straight forward drive to the Hotel arriving around 2100 hrs and a 3 course meal.
Hotel was very good, clean and pleasant set in countryside grounds, Entertainment in the evenings , wi fi in the bar and reception lounge , woke up to birds singing in the mornings .
Food , always a holiday issue was very good . Usual choice breakfast, the difference being i had not tasted the bacon , black pudding and suasages like that for a long time , it tasted excellent possibly because it was locally sourced. Evening meals consisted of 3 courses each with 3 choices of menu and if that was not enough the staff at mealtimes did their best to accomodate so you recieved your preference.
The holiday was five days, made up with 3 days of touring and visiting in the coach . They were The ring of Kerry , the Dingle Penninsula and Killarney.That made up our itinery and was more than enought to see that part of western Ireland. The views were spectacular , the people were warm and friendly,
A special mention for our coach driver Alan, who for me made the holiday ,with his knowledge of the places we visited , where we were, the local history and sheer entertainment . Thanks Alan . If you decide on this holiday with National Coach Holidays then i hope that Alan is your driver.
One thing i have discovered apart from Ireland is that the coach holiday had left me with no stress at the end of it , no travel to the airport , no squashed sardine enviroment for nearly six hours on board a aircraft which i can hardly sit down in, no transfer to the hotel , all hassle .!
I would recommend this holiday and the hotel .

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
21 Thank theleveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tralee hotels
1.1 mi away
Ballygarry House Hotel & Spa
2.8 mi away
The Rose Hotel
The Rose Hotel
#5 of 14 in Tralee
482 reviews
3.1 mi away
The Grand Hotel Tralee
The Grand Hotel Tralee
#8 of 14 in Tralee
843 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
The Ashe Hotel
The Ashe Hotel
#2 of 14 in Tralee
573 reviews
1.9 mi away
Manor West Hotel
Manor West Hotel
#3 of 14 in Tralee
714 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ballyseede Castle
Ballyseede Castle
#4 of 14 in Tralee
1,116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Earl of Desmond Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Earl of Desmond Hotel

Property: The Earl of Desmond Hotel
Address: N21 | Ballyseedy, Tralee, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Tralee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Tralee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Earl of Desmond Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 155
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Priceline so you can book your The Earl of Desmond Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Earl Desmond Hotel Tralee
Earl Of Desmond Tralee
Earl Of Desmond Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing