We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Experience”
Review of Ballyseede Castle

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ballyseede Castle
Ranked #5 of 14 Hotels in Tralee
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 24, 2014

We stayed one night in a two bed room that was very spacious with huge windows. The bathroom was large, but not huge. Everything was very clean. The staff was very friendly. The Castle was decorated according to how one would think it should look. it was old elegance at it's best. The entry had two stone lions that made for great photos. We enjoyed a very tasty dinner. This Castle is small so we noticed some of the staff were pulling different jobs to make sure we had a quality stay. After dinner we were given a tour and they told us ghost stories. The wolfhound baying at the moon later was, i'm sure unplanned, but it was a wonderful touch. It was a great experience and I would certainly recommend it.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank 123456789customer10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,143)
There are newer reviews for Ballyseede Castle
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

613 - 619 of 1,144 reviews

Reviewed July 22, 2014 via mobile

I went for lunch with my mother, sister, brother and niece today. Firstly, it was such a lovely quiet atmosphere with nice music in the background. We went to pull seats together to sit at an available table in the bar when our waitress whose name was Esther showed us to another dining area which was far more suitable - perfect.

Esther was so nice and attentive. My three hear old niece got special attention the whole time and was thrilled. The food we ordered was fabulous, no complaints from any of us.

Overall, our afternoon was gorgeous. We gave a little walk around the lovely lawns afterwards to wrap up our lunch trip. I can only imagine how amazing staying in the hotel would be. Well done all. Gorgeous hotel!

Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
Thank Adele M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2014

We stayed in the Crosby room. This is the real deal castle. The rooms are huge. The bath have been re-done maybe 20 years ago. Its time for a re work but they are functional. The expansive red carpet in the room needed to be re stretched (big wrinkle- trip hazard)
It does give you the feel of living in a castle/mansion. They have several public rooms to sit in,. read, use Wifi.
The staff was super kind. I could not get my plane boarding pass before we left and they let me use the front desk computer to print it.

The breakfast (free) was served in what I think might have been a man's room.
Think stone, medieval. You order off a menu. Good selection. Buffet for fruit and cereal too.

You can eat dinner but we took a cab to the city (ride was E13.00 from city to castle)

Expensive but worth a once in a lifetime experience.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kid-In-Tow98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2014

We stayed overnight in this beautiful old castle. The exterior of the castle shows its age but the interior is quite stunning. The rooms are spacious and the bathrooms modern. Our room overlooked the gardens. There is a lovely garden area and it borders on a national park. There is a common lounge room but if there is a wedding on, it's difficult to enjoy any quiet time. Irish people certainly know how to party - in our case until 6 am, so we didn't get much sleep. The service is great and the restaurant is really something special for dinner. Our waiter, Eddie was fantastic keeping us amused with tales of ghosts. The breakfast was scrumptious and there was good variety. Our waiter, Joe was great and looked after us well. We enjoyed our stay but wouldn't do it again on a night of wedding celebrations.

Room Tip: If you have difficulty climbing stairs, then ask for a room on the lower floors as there is no lift.
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EddiefromOz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2014

From the first emails until our arrival, Ballyseede was kind, prompt and accommodating! Our room was absolutely lovely with its four poster bed, the splendid claw foot tub and wonderful bathroom. We couldn't have been happier. The pub was wonderful with a terrific staff with excellent food and beautiful grounds. Definitely on our list to return to again!!!

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank NoRegrets2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2014

Many of the castle hotels in Ireland are large resorts and more expensive, so I was wondering if this reasonably priced castle hotel would be the 'real deal'. Rest assured, you will feel like a lord or lady staying here! It was everything we had hoped for in a castle. From the start, we were late arriving and when I called ahead to notify them, I was told that if we arrived after dinner service they would gladly make up some sandwiches for us. Nice touch! Castle was a little hard to find; we had to stop and ask a local. Luckily we arrived while the pub was still serving food and, since it was a lovely warm evening, we ate out in the garden. Quite a treat after a long days drive to be served dinner in a gorgeous castle garden setting! Tea and cookies in the parlor was another nice touch. Our room was in the 'paddy' section of rooms, which threw us off a bit at first, because the rooms were downstairs. But our room turned out to be a large, lovely family room. The windows are quite large and pretty, so you don't feel 'underground'. We were at the far end of the castle; it was quiet and peaceful (thick stone walls!), yet the wifi was still good. The tub is high, so anyone with mobility issues might consider how easy it is to get in and out. All the rooms are different, so your mileage may vary. The next morning we enjoyed a wonderful breakfast in the stone room and Ester took good care of us and gave us pointers for our trip. Love that Irish wit! All in all the staff was gracious and we truly felt pampered. The castle has lovely decor and a beautiful country manor setting. Truly a unique experience.

Room Tip: There is also a lodge, at the entrance to the drive going to the castle. If you want the full castle...
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bhampster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2014 via mobile

Friendly... One of a kind experience I will never forget. Went for a wedding and it was perfect. Food, atmosphere and staff were wonderful and helpful. Worth the drive and money to stay here, it was incredible. Also, the breakfast was amazing.

Stayed: July 2014, traveled with friends
Thank ArdiInEurope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tralee hotels
0.6 mi away
Ballygarry House Hotel & Spa
2.3 mi away
The Rose Hotel
The Rose Hotel
#7 of 14 in Tralee
618 reviews
1.4 mi away
Manor West Hotel
Manor West Hotel
#3 of 14 in Tralee
774 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
The Ashe Hotel
The Ashe Hotel
#2 of 14 in Tralee
657 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Grand Hotel Tralee
The Grand Hotel Tralee
#8 of 14 in Tralee
875 reviews
2.3 mi away
Meadowlands Hotel
Meadowlands Hotel
#6 of 14 in Tralee
542 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ballyseede Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ballyseede Castle

Address: Ballyseede, Tralee, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Tralee
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Tralee
Price Range: $126 - $275 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ballyseede Castle 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A luxury 4* Castle hotel located just outside of Tralee town on its own thirty acres of woodland. A very grand Hotel with two AA rosettes and shortlisted for Country House of the Year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Ballyseede Castle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ballyseede Castle Hotel Tralee

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing