We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“How cool is it to stay in a castle??”
Review of Ballyseede Castle

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ballyseede Castle
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Tralee
Certificate of Excellence
Chanute, Kansas
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“How cool is it to stay in a castle??”
Reviewed May 4, 2014

Everything about the Ballyseede Castle was first rate. We had great rooms with plenty of space, and wonderful décor. The bartender was awesome and the food was great. We even went on a tour and learned about the resident "ghost"

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,127 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    804
    216
    56
    22
    29
See reviews for
327
524
18
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (243)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lexington, North Carolina
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2014

We stayed there for two nights and did not want to leave. The room was lovely and spacious. The staff were very personable and helpful! Food was great and very affordable! Could not ask for a better hotel experience.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lesandscott99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers, Florida, United States
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2014

This was a very pleasant 2 night stay at a beautiful castle. Expect fabulous lobby, dining room, and various drawing rooms & grounds replete with an ornate metal gazebo and outdoor seating area which are perfect for weddings. Expect to see at least one Wedding & Reception. We saw 2 wedding parties on a 2 night stay, but this was very interesting and there was no problem with noise from the weddings from our third floor rooms. Also, the first night they set up our own private dining area in a very lovely drawing room with a fire place. Very romantic, fabulous food, and impeccable service!!! Do not expect an elevator in this 4 story building, but they do help you with your baggage. Just not sure how handicapped friendly it is. The rooms were stately and beautiful, comfortable and clean, though a bit worn and ours was a bit musty. But, room service immediately brought air freshener. Overall very good experience, and we would stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Deb P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2014

The location, accomodation, rooms, services and the most important assets - the personnel, deserve 5 stars. I have enjoyed everything there, even it was short, only 2 nights. You won't regret it if you ever considering staying at Ballyseede Castle.

Room Tip: I don't know if they have a fitness centre, but I clicked on the 5 stars and I can not revert...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ana K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandy, Utah
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2014

From the front gate, driving down the tree-lined drive, you come upon the beautiful Ballyseede Castle. Enjoy the gorgeously appointed drawing rooms and grand entryway. We stayed in The French Room and it was lovely! Spacious room with large 4 poster bed, walls a stunning shade of red, tastefully decorated with antiques. We felt like royalty (or the Crawleys from Downton!) with the suits of armor in the hallway and tasteful artwork everywhere. Breakfast in the Stone Room was lovely. Would certainly stay here again and recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rebecca M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harker Heights, Texas, United States
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2014

This place is absolutely gorgeous. The grounds, the castle itself and everything around it. One word of caution-they host about 2 weddings per week, so there are often crowds of people on site. That did not bother us at all, we actually enjoyed watching all of the stuff taking place. The rooms are well appointed and the grounds are kept in perfect condition. We had dinner in the O'Connell dining room and it was delicious. Perhaps the best part of our entire stay was the staff. Eddie is the staff member who checked us in and who truly assisted us through the entire stay. Eddie even took the time to show us around to some of the "off the grid" areas of the castle after we had dinner. It is staff members like him who make properties stand out among others. We cannot wait to go back and to hopefully have a longer stay! Thanks Eddie!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sean L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2014

We stayed at the Ballyseede Castle in Tralee, IE in May 2012 and cannot say enough about it. The grounds were amazing as well as the accommodations. We normally ate breakfast in the main dining room but had lunch, dinner or drinks in the bar, all of which we enjoyed. Of particular note, having been on holiday for about a week already we were missing our dogs from home but Ballyseede Castle had it all, including some very royal dogs. (We've since learned that one has passed away which were so sad to hear, but understand that Higgins the Irish wolfhound is well.)

Highly recommend considering a stay at Ballyseede Castle if you are in Ireland! You won't regret it!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Teresa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tralee hotels
0.6 mi away
Ballygarry House Hotel & Spa
2.7 mi away
The Ashe Hotel
The Ashe Hotel
#2 of 14 in Tralee
607 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Rose Hotel
The Rose Hotel
#7 of 14 in Tralee
553 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Manor West Hotel
Manor West Hotel
#3 of 14 in Tralee
755 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Grand Hotel Tralee
The Grand Hotel Tralee
#8 of 14 in Tralee
861 reviews
2.3 mi away
Meadowlands Hotel
Meadowlands Hotel
#6 of 14 in Tralee
521 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ballyseede Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ballyseede Castle

Property: Ballyseede Castle
Address: Ballyseede, Tralee, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Tralee
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Tralee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Ballyseede Castle 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A luxury 4* Castle hotel located just outside of Tralee town on its own thirty acres of woodland. A very grand Hotel with two AA rosettes and shortlisted for Country House of the Year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Priceline, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ballyseede Castle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ballyseede Castle Hotel Tralee

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing