We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing, as always :-)”
Review of Ballyseede Castle

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ballyseede Castle
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Tralee
Certificate of Excellence
ireland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Amazing, as always :-)”
Reviewed April 1, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I returned to ballyseede recently and as usual we had a beautiful room with a 4 poster bed. The food was fabulous only bettered by the staff. I have never had a bad experience here no matter how busy they are. We will deffinitely be back :-)

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank meemo30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,102 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    782
    216
    54
    22
    28
See reviews for
320
511
17
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (241)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Carmichaels, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2014 via mobile

This is a very nice, elegant, clean and well kept castle. It was updated beautifully. We are giving this castle a negative review cause of the way the staff was towards us. The staff at this castle and the people in the town of Tralee are very weird and generally strange... we've never felt so uncomfortable or unwanted!

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank IrishSunShine113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MCTralee, Owner at Ballyseede Castle, responded to this review, April 4, 2014
Thank you for your comments,as the owner of the Hotel we were distressed to see that you thought our staff were unwelcoming and may i apologise on behalf of all the staff if this was the case . If you wish please email directly at info@ballyseedecastle.com at the attention for Rory or marnie to give me any further information so I can ensure that no other guests get the same experience .

many thanks for taking the time to write your comments
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2014

Overall, the stay was nice. Our room was pretty comfy, a nice size, and well appointed.

Although I agree with some of the reviews...it's a bit expensive and the food in the pub is expensive as well...it's not like we HAD to eat there, either, and it the food was good. The breakfast was especially nice and the wait staff was very friendly and helpful.

What I enjoyed the most were the sitting rooms. Having tea & coffee with biscuits available all the time, along with free wi-fi, made these rooms so nice to just sit and chat in. The rooms are beautifully decorated and the overall feel of the castle was impressive. I know it's more of a manor house as opposed to a castle, but it was fun and it still had the feel of being in a special place.

I would recommend this as a great option for a castle stay in Ireland.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank srezer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2014

Stayed here for two nights in the Paddy Clancy room. The room was perfect , big 4 poster bed, large en-suite with very powerful shower. Only downside was it was a basement room so no view but that didn't worry us. Had 5 course dinner in restaurant first night which was fab, food very very rich, just room for a night cap after it. Great choice for breakfast in morning, and Esther in the breakfast room will cater for your every need and give plenty advice on places to go and see. After a trip to near by Dingle we had drinks and evening meal in the bar, which again was great with a large choice. Bar staff very friendly with plenty stories. Lots of local came in later which is nice to see. We retired to one of two very large sitting rooms and just sat and relaxed while having a hot one. All in all a lovely cozy castle ideal for a relaxing break...

Room Tip: Paddys way rooms are lovely but they are in basement so if you want the view be sure and request a h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank johnboymurchu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indian Head, Maryland
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2014

From spending 2 hours talking to the waiter while nursing a drink, to the lovely 4-poster bed and lovely tower shaped room, this was what we wanted for our nite in a castle. Of course being met by one of the castle pups helped.! Great staff, wonderful old family pictures everywhere. Grounds were impeccably kept up. Our waiter took us back to where folks can have weddings, 3 lovely rooms. What a great place to have a wedding nite! Wifi was a bit hard to find at times, but shoot we were in a castle!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maria C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed March 16, 2014 via mobile

We came from Qld, Australia for our friends wedding on 15th March, we stayed at the castle and partied all night long. The wonderful hospitality we received from Ester was outstanding, she was so helpful with tips on our further Ireland adventure and with getting our room ready for us to get ready in before the wedding. The food was sensational, couldn't fault it! Totally ate and drank like kings and queens. If my suitcase was big enough I would have taken the doona, it was so fluffy and felt like we were sleeping in the clouds. Definitely recommend it, we will be back one day hopefully.
Mel and Neil

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Mellyhead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed March 16, 2014

We were very lucky and won a two-night stay at Ballyseede Castle. We went for with our two children in March. On arrival we were greeted by Joe - the most welcoming and informative Gentleman I have met in a Hotel,after a lovely tour of the Castle, he brought us to our Massive family room (two double beds). The children were awestruck by all the Portraits, Armour and Antiques in the Halls and on the Walls! It was just fabulous and the most genuine Castle atmosphere we could imagine! Every member of Staff we came across - Sandra, Joe, Derry and Esther were so pleasant and interested in us and interesting to us! they were full of information on What to Do etc in Tralee. The Breakfasts were gorgeous and the food in the Bar was Delish!!! I would really recommend Ballyseede Castle to Families and Couples!! I only wish that I wasnt already married because I would definitely book Ballyseede for my Wedding!!!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 42sharon65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tralee hotels
0.6 mi away
Ballygarry House Hotel & Spa
2.7 mi away
The Ashe Hotel
The Ashe Hotel
#2 of 14 in Tralee
521 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Rose Hotel
The Rose Hotel
#5 of 14 in Tralee
432 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 mi away
Manor West Hotel
Manor West Hotel
#3 of 14 in Tralee
697 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Grand Hotel Tralee
The Grand Hotel Tralee
#8 of 14 in Tralee
836 reviews
2.3 mi away
Meadowlands Hotel
Meadowlands Hotel
#7 of 14 in Tralee
506 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ballyseede Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ballyseede Castle

Property: Ballyseede Castle
Address: Ballyseede, Tralee, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Tralee
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Tralee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ballyseede Castle 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A luxury 4* Castle hotel located just outside of Tralee town on its own thirty acres of woodland. A very grand Hotel with two AA rosettes and shortlisted for Country House of the Year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Travelocity, Cancelon, Priceline, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ballyseede Castle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ballyseede Castle Hotel Tralee

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing