We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for a romantic winter wedding”
Review of Ballyseede Castle

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ballyseede Castle
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in Tralee
Certificate of Excellence
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
102 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Perfect for a romantic winter wedding”
Reviewed June 19, 2013

My brother had his wedding reception here and from the minute we drive up it was magical. The decoration was warm and festive and the personal welcome (even from the dogs!) was great. The food was excellent and more original than some of the standard wedding fare you find.
The staff were friendly and accommodating. Would love to go back for a weekend.

My room was huge and comfortable, if I was to make any comment it would be that the bathrooms could do with a little refurbishment.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank blondeylocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,087 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    770
    214
    53
    22
    28
See reviews for
314
505
17
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (238)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Roswell, Georgia
Level Contributor
76 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2013

Ballyseede Castle made me feel like I was staying at Darcy's house from Pride and Prejudice (even though that was England and this is Ireland) ... you get the point. The rooms are lovely, comfortable and filled with antiques. Our view was the rear gardens of the manor home. Be sure to see the shetland ponies and two dogs who call Ballyseede home.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vmegan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 12, 2013

We were at a wedding a couple of weeks back and ballyseede is awesome. The food was very high end and the professionalism of the staff was noted by everyone. Don't be worried about the modestly sized dance floor - it meant that there was great energy on the dance floor all night long, and much better than a dance floor that is too big. I could not recommend ballyseede highly enough - a fairy-tale wedding.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thewanderer_19797
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2013

Not really like being The Lord of the Manor but more like being a favored guest of The Lord of the Manor. Common areas have been furnished with fabulous antiques which it makes it easy for you to transport yourself back in time. We felt like we were in a different era. The room (Cayce) was also brought a vision of history with current luxury convenience's. The Lord favored us with this fine accommodation.

We usually avoid hotel restaurants however we are pleased that we broke our usual pattern. The dining experience added to our historical flashback. By the way the food and service was excellent. However we highly suggest you only partake of the 3 course. More food would only be gluttony but were living in a fantasy world so feel free to splurge or the full 5 course.

Breakfast was a delightful experience because of the fabulous servers Joe and Ester ( brother and sister). Thy are wonderful ambassadors for Ireland in general and the Ballyseede in particular.

Do not miss the Guinness bread. We graded theirs as the best in Ireland. We enjoyed their bread more than anything else that we ate in all of Ireland. I would love to have the recipe so we could rekindle our Irish experience. Thanks for the fantasy experience.

Room Tip: Pay for the highest quality room available. The experience is worth the money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jimandlindav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tasmania, Australia
Level Contributor
63 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2013

Staying at Ballysede affords the privelige of being Lord of the Manor without having to pay a King's ransome. The grounds are delighful and greeting by Mr Higgins (a huge hound) is an interesting start to one's stay (although it may not be to everyone's liking). Our room was very pleasant and the Castle is set in a very quiet location. Unfortunately we were disturbed by other rowdy inconsiderate guests and it may be helpful to instal more discreet signs reminding guests to keep the noise down for the benefit of others. We dined at the hotel on two occasions and the food and drink were excellent as were the breakfasts. The breakfast room though is relatively small with minimal staff and waiting time could be an issue if breakfasting at one of the popular times with a need to get away. Overall we were quite satisfied and would stay again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gill808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2013

My family of four stayed at Ballyseede Castle for one night. We were in the Crosby room - a huge room on the top floor of the main building with big windows and a nice bathroom. Unfortunately we arrived late in the afternoon and it was raining so we didn't have a chance to enjoy the beautiful grounds. We spent some time exploring the castle - it is wonderfully restored and you really get a feel for what it used to be like when it was a home.

The castle is so full of history and the short tour was really interesting. We met the owner in the pub and he was very friendly and told us more about the castle's history. We didn't want to go out for dinner so we ate in the pub. We had a table by the fire and the food was great - very relaxing.

I loved the atmosphere at Ballyseede and wish we could have stayed another night.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NGRG123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 2, 2013

I was only able to spend one night at Ballyseede Castle recently but loved it. To the beautiful decor to the warmness of the staff to the adorable animals on premises, this was my favorite place to stay. I can't wait to go back.

My room was lovely and the view was beautiful of the lovely Shetland ponies and mules outside in the meadow and the magnificent mature trees. I also loved the garden area and the gazebo in back. The dogs were adorable too. The one liked to play fetch with rocks and the other one was an 18 month old Irish Wolfhound.

I loved the elegance of the furnishings and the fact that the castle was just the right size, not intimidating at all. The staff were very warm, friendly and accommodating. I had the Beef & Guiness Pie for supper one night in the Pub along with a pint of Guiness and it was superb. I had a little trouble trying to figure out the shower so just took a bath instead. If I ever decide to get married, this may be just the place for it as the staff were not stuffy and it was just the right size for a small event. Perfect in my book. I will definitely stay here again if I ever come back to Ireland!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dreamchaserme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tralee
0.6 mi away
Ballygarry House Hotel & Spa
2.7 mi away
The Ashe Hotel
The Ashe Hotel
#2 of 14 in Tralee
4.5 of 5 bubbles 492 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Rose Hotel
The Rose Hotel
#5 of 14 in Tralee
4.5 of 5 bubbles 391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
The Grand Hotel Tralee
The Grand Hotel Tralee
#8 of 14 in Tralee
4.5 of 5 bubbles 828 reviews
7.8 mi away
Manor West Hotel
Manor West Hotel
#4 of 14 in Tralee
4.5 of 5 bubbles 680 reviews
16.3 mi away
Lake Hotel
Lake Hotel
#7 of 38 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,060 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ballyseede Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ballyseede Castle

Property: Ballyseede Castle
Address: Ballyseede, Tralee, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Tralee
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Tralee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ballyseede Castle 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A luxury 4* Castle hotel located just outside of Tralee town on its own thirty acres of woodland. A very grand Hotel with two AA rosettes and shortlisted for Country House of the Year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ballyseede Castle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ballyseede Castle Hotel Tralee

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing