We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful experience!”
Review of Ballyseede Castle

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ballyseede Castle
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Tralee
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 27, 2013

We stayed at Ballyseede Castle in early December. The staff were very very friendly and helpful, the food was delicious, and the decor of the castle was beautiful and welcoming. Brilliant location just outside Tralee, with easy access to beautiful Kerry! A really memorable high quality experience.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bee S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,165)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

791 - 797 of 1,165 reviews

Reviewed January 23, 2013

We simply love it! The breakfast is excellent and the staff are very friendly. We loved our stayed there.
The living rooms makes it very couzy. We had dinner one night and is was very nice, super romantic.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank appost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2013

What a wonderful night's stay , just the icing on the cake for our self drive around Ireland . The rooms are so spacious and warm being winter. Lovely decor . Slept very well , the bed was so comfortable . (4 poster) The bathroom was enormous. We ate our lunch in the bar , and in the evening had a 5 course dinner as part of our package in the formal dining room . The food was excellent , unfortunately could not eat it all ! Enjoyed being in the bar playing with one of the dogs " Einstein" and just loved the other one Mr Higgens the Irish wolf hound . All in all no complaints at all .Breakfast was cooked to order and was delicious.It was a very special place to spend the night in .

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wittsNz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2013

The Castle is a beautiful modern place with that old world feel.The staff were what made the place even more special.And the lovely Irish Wolf Hound called "higgnes".Plenty to see and do in and around the area.Would Recommend this place nothing else like it .I will be back.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the bar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Robert G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2013

We loved the Castle. The rooms were spacious, with the finest of amenities and a very, very large bathroom. Breakfasts were delicious each morning, and the wonderful bar is a cozy den of a place to visit at the end of sightseeing. The grounds are lovely, with small ponies grazing on the green lawns. Sure, it's more money than a typical hotel or B&B, but the marvelous experience is worth it. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lori P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2013

I stayed here while attending a wedding in another hotel near by. The only negative thing I can say about this hotel is that I had to leave too early. It was one of the most beautiful places I have ever stayed with so much character. Our room was extremely comfortable & we were lucky enough to get a four poster bed. The staff were excellent and only added to the ambiance. I would highly recommend a trip & plan to return myself in the future when I have more time.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank J84OB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2013

My husband and I just returned from a three week visit to Ireland, and one of the absolute highlights of our entire trip was our stay in Ballyseede Castle. We arrived exhausted from an all-night flight from Chicago, and then a drive to Tralee from Dublin on almost no sleep. From the moment we walked in the door, we were treated to the best service, advice, food, and stunning castle ambiance -- so much so, that we could happily have stayed right there for the rest of our time in Ireland!

The staff was very professional, witty, and everyone treated us like family. They offered terrific (and much needed) advice about day trips from the castle, and areas of Ireland that we should see while visiting and after leaving Tralee. They also rescued us when one of our subsequent reservations in Killarney fell through, and helped us book a new (and better) reservation at another castle in Gallway.

The food was... absolutely sensational! I am a celiac (I cannot eat gluten,) and I was treated to the best food - for every meal - that I had eaten in years! The soups were all gluten-free, they served gluten-free bread with every meal... they even served me a chocolate desert with candles on the night of my birthday. Needless to say, it was the most memorable birthday of my life!

We stayed in the Yeats room overlooking the front grounds, and found everything to be perfect, and the bed extremely comfortable. Ballyseede, the staff, the castle itself were one of the highlights of our entire stay in Ireland.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Máire Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tralee hotels
0.6 mi away
Ballygarry House Hotel & Spa
2.3 mi away
The Rose Hotel
The Rose Hotel
#7 of 14 in Tralee
714 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Ashe Hotel
The Ashe Hotel
#2 of 14 in Tralee
736 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 mi away
Manor West Hotel
Manor West Hotel
#3 of 14 in Tralee
799 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Grand Hotel Tralee
The Grand Hotel Tralee
#8 of 14 in Tralee
898 reviews
2.3 mi away
Meadowlands Hotel
Meadowlands Hotel
#6 of 14 in Tralee
566 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ballyseede Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ballyseede Castle

Address: Ballyseede, Tralee, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Tralee
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Tralee
Price Range: $115 - $314 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ballyseede Castle 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A luxury 4* Castle hotel located just outside of Tralee town on its own thirty acres of woodland. A very grand Hotel with two AA rosettes and shortlisted for Country House of the Year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Agoda so you can book your Ballyseede Castle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ballyseede Castle Hotel Tralee

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing