We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Real Castle on its own large Grounds.”
Review of Ballyseede Castle

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ballyseede Castle
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Tralee
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
35 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“A Real Castle on its own large Grounds.”
Reviewed January 17, 2013

The Castle is a beautiful modern place with that old world feel.The staff were what made the place even more special.And the lovely Irish Wolf Hound called "higgnes".Plenty to see and do in and around the area.Would Recommend this place nothing else like it .I will be back.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the bar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Robert G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,102 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    782
    216
    54
    22
    28
See reviews for
320
511
17
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (241)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Petersburg, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
169 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2013

We loved the Castle. The rooms were spacious, with the finest of amenities and a very, very large bathroom. Breakfasts were delicious each morning, and the wonderful bar is a cozy den of a place to visit at the end of sightseeing. The grounds are lovely, with small ponies grazing on the green lawns. Sure, it's more money than a typical hotel or B&B, but the marvelous experience is worth it. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lori P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2013

I stayed here while attending a wedding in another hotel near by. The only negative thing I can say about this hotel is that I had to leave too early. It was one of the most beautiful places I have ever stayed with so much character. Our room was extremely comfortable & we were lucky enough to get a four poster bed. The staff were excellent and only added to the ambiance. I would highly recommend a trip & plan to return myself in the future when I have more time.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank J84OB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomington, Indiana, United States
Level Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2013

My husband and I just returned from a three week visit to Ireland, and one of the absolute highlights of our entire trip was our stay in Ballyseede Castle. We arrived exhausted from an all-night flight from Chicago, and then a drive to Tralee from Dublin on almost no sleep. From the moment we walked in the door, we were treated to the best service, advice, food, and stunning castle ambiance -- so much so, that we could happily have stayed right there for the rest of our time in Ireland!

The staff was very professional, witty, and everyone treated us like family. They offered terrific (and much needed) advice about day trips from the castle, and areas of Ireland that we should see while visiting and after leaving Tralee. They also rescued us when one of our subsequent reservations in Killarney fell through, and helped us book a new (and better) reservation at another castle in Gallway.

The food was... absolutely sensational! I am a celiac (I cannot eat gluten,) and I was treated to the best food - for every meal - that I had eaten in years! The soups were all gluten-free, they served gluten-free bread with every meal... they even served me a chocolate desert with candles on the night of my birthday. Needless to say, it was the most memorable birthday of my life!

We stayed in the Yeats room overlooking the front grounds, and found everything to be perfect, and the bed extremely comfortable. Ballyseede, the staff, the castle itself were one of the highlights of our entire stay in Ireland.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Máire Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
whiteville, nc
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2012

My family spent two nights at Ballyseede Castle this past week. I cannot say enough about this remarkable place. The owners and staff make you feel at home. The rooms and common areas are beautiful and the service is without comparison. We ate in both the bar and restaurant and were treated to delicious food with perfect service and presentation. As if the surroundings aren't enough, you have the added bonus of the true hosts: Einstein and Mr. Higgins. What remarkable and precious pups they are! We had a complicated dry-cleaning situation that needed to be handled, and the folks at Ballyseede took care of it with skill and quality. Additionally, Paul makes the best Irish coffee in the world. I have stayed at Dromoland, Ashford, Adare, and Waterford. This is the best castle hotel in all of Ireland. We will be back one day!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank zarbock1228
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
107 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed December 23, 2012

My husband and I spent a week in Ireland for our honeymoon and we spent 1 night at Ballyseede Castle. We had a wonderful time! The grounds and the hotel were gorgeous, our room was spacious and comfortable, and the breakfast they served was delicious. The staff was especially friendly and helpful in the morning, they gave us great directions for our day's activities plus a restaurant recommendation for dinner that evening. They do offer dinner service at the castle but it is a little pricey, so we passed. Overall, however, we really enjoyed our time at the hotel and would highly recommend it to anyone staying in Tralee!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MissSarahJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amman, Jordan
Level Contributor
56 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed December 21, 2012

Stayed for 2 nights as part of a wedding group.. Rooms are beautiful. Food was excellent. The entire house/castle was awesome. Only grumble was the attitude of a couple of the bar staff who were miserable and just didn't appear to want to be there. Waiting staff were great, particularly joe and maura.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kthorny123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tralee hotels
0.6 mi away
Ballygarry House Hotel & Spa
2.7 mi away
The Ashe Hotel
The Ashe Hotel
#2 of 14 in Tralee
521 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Rose Hotel
The Rose Hotel
#5 of 14 in Tralee
432 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 mi away
Manor West Hotel
Manor West Hotel
#3 of 14 in Tralee
697 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Grand Hotel Tralee
The Grand Hotel Tralee
#8 of 14 in Tralee
836 reviews
2.3 mi away
Meadowlands Hotel
Meadowlands Hotel
#7 of 14 in Tralee
506 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ballyseede Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ballyseede Castle

Property: Ballyseede Castle
Address: Ballyseede, Tralee, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Tralee
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Tralee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ballyseede Castle 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A luxury 4* Castle hotel located just outside of Tralee town on its own thirty acres of woodland. A very grand Hotel with two AA rosettes and shortlisted for Country House of the Year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ballyseede Castle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ballyseede Castle Hotel Tralee

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing